Mister Sparky - Rhode Island
200 Highpoint Ave suite B5, Portsmouth, RI 02871
Phone: 401-293-5715
Website: mistersparkyri.com



Mister Sparky - Rhode Island - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

753 star rating
(155 Reviews)
Judy's Book
318 star rating (66 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
298 star rating (61 Reviews)
Yelp
113 star rating (23 Reviews)
Happy Call
24 star rating (5 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period Mister Sparky - Rhode Island has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


We found Ed to be a top professional. He did what we asked for and also let us know as he went along what other problems he saw. We were impressed. and look forward to have additional work done by him. He got a thumbs up from my husband. Very rare.
Edward V.
08/07/18
 
This was one of the better experiences I have had when it comes to work being done on my house. The process was extremely painless and I felt well-informed throughout the entire process. I understood that needed to be worked on before, during, and after the work was completed. I understood the cost of all of the work, and why these things cost what they did. I would highly recommend Mister Sparky to anyone who is looking into getting electrical work done on their house.
John R.
08/02/18
 
Ed did an amazing job of helping my house and taking the right steps to ensure that it was safe. He initially came in to do a simple outlet change, but was able to see a significant amount of things that needed to be fixed. He was able to give me three different options that all came in at a more than reasonable price. He was extremely professional throughout the entire process. He was well-informed and let us know what he was doing every step of the way. I would highly recommend Ed and Mister Sparky if there was any electrical work that needed to be done in your house.
Edward V.
08/02/18
 
Ed Varnum's visits to my home were very professional. He performed his services with care and was very thorough with his work. He explained what he did so that there was no misunderstanding. He was very instrumental in helping us pass the fire inspection with flying colors. We are relocating, and wish we could bring him along with us
Edward V.
07/02/18
 
Ed did a great job. He solved my problem in a friendly professional way.
Edward V.
06/28/18
 
Jay came out to do our original quote and helped us out with some questons we had from RISE and recommendations. Thanks to him we saved $400. Today he and Leo came to complete the work and I am so happy with the professionalism of both of them and Chris who stopped by to drop off a light and with the actual work done. Costs were reasonable and the work looks great! We will be using them again
Jay F.
06/13/18
 
Ed was punctuate (actually arrived earlier than scheduled), knowledgeable, paying close attention to details, and gets the job done (well). It was a pleasure.
Edward V.
05/15/18
 
Mister Sparky arrived in the form of Edward V. He was right on time. Immediately recognized the issues. Was very clear about what was involved. And very clear about the constituent parts of the job to be done and how much they would cost. I would certainly call on him again.
Edward V.
05/13/18
 
Completely satisfied with work performed. Would recommend Mister Sparky to anyone who asked. Thanks, Ed, for a job well done. Joanna
Edward V.
04/26/18
 
Ed Varnum from Mister Sparky was professional and clear. He answered my many questions and took the time that I needed without rushing me. He explained well what the problems were, and solved the problems. The customer service leading up to the time the pro came over was excellent. Communicated clearly about timing, etc.
Edward V.
03/21/18
 
I don't have a regular electrician so I went to Home Advisor online. They hooked me up with this company and so glad I hired them! Ed Varnum III was my service tech. He was prompt, very polite, courteous, knowledgeable, and honest. He was such a pleasure to speak with. After our initial introduction and conversation, he assessed my situation first, figured out my problem, which was having to replace the ballast in my fluorescent lighting unit in my laundry room area in the basement. Ed explained every step of the way as I watched him work. We even spoke about our families for a bit! That's how friendly he was. I felt like I've known him a long time! He finished within a short period of time and made sure everything was clean when his work was completed. I found the price to be reasonable and worth every penny. I will be calling him again should the need arise! Great personal service is hard to find..keep up the good work!!
Edward V.
02/19/18
 
I needed a job done because the last electrician did sloppy work. Ed Varivum III, came and did an "Superb" repair. Thanks to his expertise I'm very satisfied that my family is now safe. I definitely will call him again and refer him to anyone in need of electrical services.
Edward V.
01/22/18
 
Edward Varnum of Mister Sparky Rhode Island helped us after a water pipe leak flooded our kitchen. He was incredibly professional and systematic at diagnosing the problem, fixing what was possible to fix, and making sure all broken parts of the kitchen were removed off the grid safely. Most of all, I was impressed by how much time he took to explain what he was doing (and why) and providing helpful tips for potential problems in the future. At all times, Edward was very transparent about what he was doing and about the costs we needed to expect from these procedures, always providing multiple options for my consideration. Edward is an outstanding professional, and we will certainly hire Mister Sparky again.
Edward V.
01/08/18
 
I had a great first experience with Mister Sparky. Jay called me when he had a cancellation and was able to come out even earlier. He troubleshot a tripping breaker that had many many lights associated with it, and quickly found and repaired the switch that was causing the problem. He also wrote out some unrelated recommendations for improved safety in my house, and I really appreciate him going the extra mile. He even worked around my work schedule and my huge dog :) Could have been cheaper, but I had an unsuccessful experience with someone who offered to do it for less anyway. All in all, very professional, and will definitely work with them again!
Jay F.
01/03/18
 
I needed to connect a Ring video doorbell and also get estimates on additional work. Ed Varnum III was very professional and efficient. I recommend his work very highly.
Edward V.
12/26/17
 
Anthony was wonderful and very helpful thank you Mr sparky and Anthony I highly recommend them
Anthony B.
12/18/17
 
I feel like I was offered a "FREE" home safety inspection just so they could come in my house and try to run up the biggest bill they could with telling me what's wrong with my electric and smoke detectors. Then informed me now that he's documented it home insurance would not cover any electrical fire or problems unless new detectors and breaker box switches get changed. Kind of seems like a scam. They are gonna tell my insurance that I had wrong switches in box unless they fix what they saw?
Chris C.
11/22/17
 
Anyone who thinks mister sparky is a good deal or a reasonable price has not done any research on what things should cost.
Anthony B.
11/21/17
 
I used Mr. Sparky for the first time today and their service person, Anthony, came on time, called ahead of time as requested, explained the estimated cost of the work I requested, did the work promptly and efficiently and the cost was very reasonable.
Anthony B.
11/21/17
 
Nice on the phone. Clown thief in person. Smelled like an ashtray too!

10/19/17
 
Ed was hard working and took the time to explain everything about our electric needs.
Edward V.
10/07/17
 
I would definitely recommend this company to anyone needing electrical work. They showed up exactly as scheduled, with a call a half hour before to confirm that I would be ready, and did the work I needed quickly, efficiently, courteously, with no surprises or extras. They did read through an optional service plan first, which I was not interested in, but they were not at all pushy about it, and did NOT try to keep selling it after I said "Not interested". (Though, if you have an older building, that plan might well be a good deal). Even with that, still I give them two thumbs up.
Anthony B.
10/02/17
 
Jay came to my house to install a ceiling fan. He explained in detail what was needed to be done and reviewed pricing with me. He was totally professional in all ways. Cleaned up and took the old fan and box for me. I would definitely refer Jay and this company to anyone - especially Jay. I am so happy I found you guys!
Jay F.
08/29/17
 
Edward did a very good job; things are working perfectly now. My only suggestion is that he could have saved more of my time by talking less on the phone and preparing a budget for circuit breakers back in his office.
Edward V.
08/21/17
 
Edward Varnum 111, provided outstanding care, he communicates well, he explained the company policy and procedure regarding the type of work that's needed and the price, he work with you according to your budget.. Edward is very kind, caring , honest and professional. Yes we would prefer him to other family members and friends. Thank You, Barbara Boyd
Edward V.
08/04/17
 
Had an electrical fire on tuesday night, called Mister Sparky on wednesday, they got a technician out by Thursday morning and he completed the work within a few hours. Anthony, the technician, really went above and beyond and he was extremely professional and courteous.
Anthony B.
08/03/17
 
Jay was very professional. He took time to completely go over his estimate and explained how he came up with it. He completed the job quickly. Everything looks and works great. We are very happy. Thank you Jay! James Lincoln, RI
Jay F.
07/07/17
 
Ed and Mr. Sparky are one headache you WON'T get when dealing with moving, or other electrical needs. They are SO PROFESSIONAL i couldn't believe it. Called back. Re-confirmed appointment the day before. Showed up exactly on time. Made sure to cover shoes to protect rugs. Very meticulously went through the approach and associated fees for the job, and also made some suggestions (free ones) about ways to do a few things smarter. No tricks, no gimmicks, no surprises. I am so lucky I landed with this company--it was the single most professionally delivered part of a very complicated move to a new home.
Edward V.
06/23/17
 
Chris C from Mister Sparky did a fantastic job with our electrical. We have an old house and we needed to update our wiring. Chris was incredibly responsive to our request. He responded quickly to us and the price was reasonable. He was clear and articulate in all of his communications with me and my spouse. I would gladly use Mister Sparky again, and I would happily recommend Chris to others
Chris C.
05/31/17
 
Jonathan did an e xcellent job installing an outside light in a slightly different spot. He was prompt, friendly, and made the pricing clear right up front. Thanks.
Jonathan S.
05/19/17
 
Everyone, especially Ed, were true professionals and extremely knowledgeable. They always respected our home and yard. They cleaned up after themselves and were very thorough which included my total satisfaction. The wiring inspector was absolutely accepting with all the work without hesitation.
Edward V.
05/12/17
 
What great service! Six jobs in my home done in just a few hours, even a task that no one had been able to fix for decades. I'm very impress with Jay, too. He's personable and expert. A REAL PRO!
Jay F.
05/01/17
 
Mr. Edward is very professional. Provided a lot of valuable electrical knowledge and experience to me. Keep his working environment super clean and tidy. I don't know about the regular price for a oven range outlet. But I was charged $273 for it. Seem a little expensive to me, but it did take Mr. Edward one and a half hour of hard working and explanation of electrical knowledge to me. worth it.
Edward V.
04/24/17
 
Fast response to my concerns about smoke/CO detectors. Excellent explanation of service needed. Efficient replacement of my detectors.
Edward V.
04/09/17
 
Chris showed up even sooner than promised; and fixed my electrical problem immediately.
Chris C.
04/08/17
 
We have had Mister Sparky and Ed Varnum do a couple of projects around our old house and couldn't be happier. They are always on time, professional, clean and knowledgeable. The office staff are wonderful--they call you back, are great about scheduling and very nice. Ed is just great, he really takes the time to explain what the issues are, what the solutions might be and how much it will cost. He is really great too about explaining how stuff works. I know nothing about the magic of electricity but after a visit with him I feel smarter and don't just chalk it up to witchcraft anymore. We are just delighted and will continue to be loyal customers.
Edward V.
03/31/17
 
Jonathan was very informative and explained all of our options for the work we would like to have done. He was respectful while in our home and very personable. I would recommend Jonathan to anyone!!
Jonathan S.
03/29/17
 
Responsive to nighttime emergency call. On site in less than 1 hour from initial contact. Excellent workmanship and very professional. Highly recommend.
Edward V.
03/22/17
 
The service team that came to my home was outstanding. They explained what was being done to the tee and completed the job ahead of time promised. They were clean and very professional.Would recommend them to any and everyone who ask about Mister Sparky. Great Job Very Happy
Jay F.
02/25/17
 
Jay F. From Mister Sparky was awesome. He answered all my questions and handled all the needed repairs of the home I just purchased. Pricing is fair and Jay was professional, helpful and friendly. I recommend this company for any of your electrical needs.
Jay F.
02/08/17
 
After researching a few electrical services on the internet Mr. Sparky was the choice we made. I'm so glad we did. From the moment I called to schedule an appointment I knew I contacted the right company. Jay and Jonathan were the first two electricians that came out to work on our issue. Both electricians were very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. They knew exactly what the problems were, explained to us in detail how it will be fixed and quoted us a price before any work was started. The work was completed on time and with great pride my both men. Also a couple of weeks later we needed to have another issue fixed. The electrician that came out was Edward. Again another knowledgeable, friendly and courteous person and electrician Edward is. Edward knew right away what the problem was and corrected it. While he was at our house he also installed a new light fixture. I want to also comment again on all three electricians that completed the work for us. Jay, Jonathan and Edward. Mr. Sparky is very lucky to have three men such as these working for them. I can not stress how happy we are knowing that if we need any other electrical work completed in the future that we can call a reliable company Mr. Sparky. I would recommend Mr. Sparky to any of my friends and family. So if you need any electrical work completed please call Mr. Sparky you will not be disappointed.
Jay F., Jonathan S., Edward V.
02/07/17
 
Professional, courteous and honest service. The electrician (Jay Fontes) showed up on time and explained everything to me before starting the repairs. He even pointed out safety hazards in my electrical panel and corrected them as well.
Jay F.
02/07/17
 
Great guys. Problem solvers. Came up with next solution...they really didn't have to put on those booties but it was a nice gesture.
Edward V.
02/03/17
 
We were without heat in the house in a January evening due to a circuit failure. We received very prompt and efficient service from Ed Varnum.
Edward V.
01/24/17
 
Ed made wonderful job. He came in time, explained our options to us and fixed multiple problems that we had. Many thanks. Misha Salganik
Edward V.
01/24/17
 
Ed V was a pleasure, he was efficient and professional, did great work (bathroom light switch.) I will call Mister Sparky again.
Edward V.
01/20/17
 
Ed did a great job, would recommend Mister Sparky.
Edward V.
01/20/17
 
Ed did a great job, he was courteous, efficient and knows his stuff. I will call Mister Sparky again.
Edward V.
01/20/17
 
Jay's work was professional. He was courteous, friendly, extremely competent. Very satisfied with the work. Highly recommended.
Jay F.
01/17/17
 
Arrived right on time and did a professional job. Very pleased with the results.
Jonathan S.
01/02/17
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.