McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3589 star rating
(727 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1290 star rating (262 Reviews)
Google
818 star rating (166 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
310 star rating (62 Reviews)
Angie's List
65 star rating (13 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Kyle preformed a winter check of our Ac/heating units (2). Excellent job in investigating upstairs auxiliary heater symptons !! Filters changed. . Done
Kyle S.
12/20/16
 
Zack and Derrick did a thorough job replacing our entire system. They were prompt, got started right away and stayed until everything was explained to our satisfaction. I can't think of how the process could have gone any smoother. I am very happy we used McCullough and had Zack, Derrick, Vinny and the rest of the crew do the install.
Derrick L., Zack P.
12/19/16
 
Kyle came over within 15 minutes. He diagnosed the problem, gave me a quote and fixed my heater! Hoo-ray! Kyle also recommended two other services which I declined. No pressure. I appreciated the attention to service and Kyle's friendly attitude. Due to past experience with McCullough Heating and AC and today's service, I can happily say they are fast and dependable. I recommend this company.
Kyle S.
12/15/16
 
Fast, good work and cheaper than the other place we called.
Kyle S.
12/13/16
 
Adan was professional, thorough, and straightforward. I have the annual service plan with them and he was honest with me about what needed to be repaired sooner and what could be repaired/replaced later. He didn't try to pressure me into anything. He showed me on his business phone exactly what McCullough charges for certain services -- no estimates, just hard numbers. My older house was retro-fitted with central A/C, so there were some unique configurations done. He took the time to explain some things about my 11 year old unit that no one had ever told me about before. Great work. I will keep coming back.
Adan G.
12/12/16
 
Adan came out last week and got our tired old heating unit back to full perk. The house is now comfy and ready for the holidays. When we need help, we're always glad to see Adan show up - Always on time, fully professional and he keeps us informed on exactly what's going on with our system. Great job! I highly recommend McCullough.
Adan G.
12/12/16
 
Very punctual, very professional. Helped us so we wouldn't freeze at night by providding a temporary fix until the actual part came in. Very informative.
Adan G.
12/07/16
 
Thank you Adan Gomez with McCullough Heating & Air for a professional A repair of my heating system and recommendations of additional service. Adan was knowledgeable, experienced and professional - earned my trust. Thanks again! Carl Floto
Adan G.
12/07/16
 
We have been customers of McCullough Heating & Air for over 10 years. We have purchased 3 new units over the years, and we get their semi-annual service check-up of our 4 HVAC units. Today, Josh G was the technician who completed our heater service check-up and it was his first time to our house. He was prompt, courteous, and knowledgable. He discovered that one of our units had a blown disconnect that had not only tripped the fuse but melted the nearby components. He showed me the damage, and once I approved the repair, he completed it very quickly. (The cost of the repair was covered under our parts/labor contract on our unit). We have always gotten great service and professionalism from McCullough, and Josh continued in that tradition.
Josh G.
12/02/16
 
Kyle was courteous, professional and thorough
Kyle S.
11/29/16
 
Had just moved into a new place. Matt answered all my questions about my AC and heater. As well as tips on things I should watch out for.
Matt S.
11/23/16
 
Josh was great- very professional, friendly, and honest. This is the second time he has serviced our house and he's very reliable!
Josh G.
11/23/16
 
I realized my heater didn't work when it got cold for the first time after I moved in to my house, and thought 'oh, well, this is going to be a fun Thanksgiving.' I put in a request for service with McCullough on the advice of one of my coworkers, who said they were the best company he's worked with of any type in all his years of owning homes. I have to agree that they're great. I missed the first call when they called me to let me know someone would be coming, so I called back expecting to have to reschedule for another day/week. They told me they'd call me back once the tech finished the job he'd moved on to, and he'd come by. Once Matt arrived, he was very nice and explained things to me in detail. Unfortunately, the problem initially was simply that the gas wasn't on (Whoops, first time home owner and guy who trusted the gas company). He then explained that I did have tags on there (I knew this from aforementioned gas guy) and that it'd be turned off at some point when they came back anyway, so I went ahead and paid what I considered a very reasonable price to get my heater up to code compliance. Thanks McCullough, and thanks Matt!
Matt S.
11/22/16
 
Adan G made a semi-annual visit to our residence in Austin on Nov 21, 2016. He has made similar visits and has performed other services at several other properties we own and have owned in Austin, and is always professional, knowledgeable and willing to answer questions. Always a pleasure to see him.
Adan G.
11/22/16
 
Matt the technician identified a tricky relay issue with our system and got it repaired quickly and affordably. Professional to a T. Thanks.
Matt S.
11/18/16
 
(no comment)
Josh G.
11/17/16
 
My heating/ac unit was not working at all. Even though fair weather allowed me the luxury of not requiring an immediate response to fix my heating and a/c unit, McCullough set an appointment for me the following morning. The 'fix' was a simple one, but Josh G went beyond the repair and checked out other parts of my system at no extra charge. Josh was patient with answering my questions and gave me a couple of pointers on how I could maintain the system in between checkups. He is an asset to the company, representing their brand very well. McCullough was recommended to me by three people who had used their services before and were satisfied with the results and reasonable costs. I recommend McCullough to anyone who needs reliable heating/ac service.
Josh G.
11/16/16
 
the crew was fantastic...on time, on schedule every day...cleaned house spotless after each day...very pleasant and profassional...the best experience we've had with any service organization!
Ever G., Mike d., Heidi C., Luis G., Mark L., Vinny S., Zack P.
11/16/16
 
Adan Gomez is the best, people! Nothing gets by his expert eye. When he leaves, you can be sure that all is in order---no leaks, no anomalies, and the paperwork is correct. We feel lucky to have had Adan taking care of our heating and cooling needs all these years. Thank you! Grateful Customer
Adan G.
11/09/16
 
Kyle, my service technician, did an excellent job in performing a winter inspection of my heating units. I have always been very pleased with the service provided by McCullough.
Kyle S.
11/08/16
 
The technician for McCullough who did our Fall tuneup, was Adam M. Adam is a very personable young man, very efficient in his work, communicates very well about the status of our HVAC system. He compares very favorably to the high standard of technicians we have seen from McCullough - we appreciated his high quality work very much!!
Adam M.
11/07/16
 
Thanks Adam for being on time and answering my questions.
Adam M.
11/03/16
 
Adam from McCullough Heating and air made a scheduled house call. He was prompt, very professional and very courteous. He answered all my questions in a very knowledgeable way. I'm sure he's as asset to your company.
Adan G.
11/01/16
 
Kyle was of great service and need. He was very knowledgeable about the AC unit and its service needs. Looking forward to reaching out to Mr. Kyle S. very soon for more work in maintaining my unit as long as possible. :)
Kyle S.
10/30/16
 
We have been fortunate to have this company as our service providers for the past 12 years. They installed our present unit and have come out twice a year under a service contract to maintain it. We have had only one service interruption to date and it was brief. The technicians are always knowledgeable and friendly. For the past five years or so, Adan has been the one that we have requested because he loves his work and goes well beyond the specifications of the maintenance agreement to ensure that our unit is in top condition. I highly recommend McCullough and Adan to take good care of your heating and air conditioning needs.
Adan G.
10/29/16
 
The technician was competent, polite, and all around professional in his disposition. He will prove to be an asset to the company. As to the job, it was an after hours job that was delayed by 48 hours because lack of response from another 24/7 service the previous night and lack of convenience of me being able to arrange an appointment in the daytime. I fully expected a diagnosis and completion of repairs the next day, even with an after hours fee included. I was wrong. The repair was accomplished within an hour of arrival. It was not a simple repair i.e. there were parts that were replaced and they were available in his van. Thanks again.
Josh G.
10/27/16
 
Joshua first came to my home when my upstairs AC unit suddenly stopped working one night this summer. He diagnosed the problem and repaired it very quickly. I was so impressed with Joshua that i insisted that he come back to do my annual heating inspection. He did not disappoint. He went above and beyond to ensure that both my upstairs and downstairs systems will keep my warm all winter. As long as Joshua is at McCullough, I will request him for my annual inspections
Josh G.
10/21/16
 
Adam M came and did a diagnostic test on my air conditioner to see why it wasn't working. He was friendly, helpful and discovered the problem. I bought the air conditioner from McCullough's and am very happy with their service. Adam called the office and told them the problem. They then called me and set up an appointment to fix the air conditioner (still under warranty) the next morning. Great service!
Adam M.
10/20/16
 
Sent Adam M. over to fix our A/C very promptly, they were very time efficient with the phone service and assigning someone to do the job. Adam was very friendly and kind to my three yorkies (who were not so kind and yapping their tails off because they are such good "guard dogs"). Adam went to work immediately and did the maintenance required on the A/C. Before leaving he showed me where to find the filter and how to replace it. Very fast and a job well done.
Adam M.
10/18/16
 
I had my 25-year old heating and air conditioning system replaced yesterday by the McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning Company. The installation team was lead by a technician named Zack P. The entire team, with emphasis on Zack, was amazing. They removed my old system's components from the attic and beside my house and installed a brand new system in one day. Zack was extremely diligent and kept the work flow moving ever forward to completion. The work was of high quality and my new AC is working great.
Zack P.
10/18/16
 
Adam worked professionally and quickly. Not pressured into purchasing unnecessary additional services or parts.
Adam M.
10/18/16
 
We have used McCullough Heating and Air for the past three years and have always been very pleased with their prompt service and courteous manner. The trained technicians that have come to work on our system are very knowledgeable, honest and professional. We have a three zone AC system that requires service personnel who have training in zone heating and air which McCullough Heating and Air have on staff. Today Kyle was our technician and did an excellent job. He diagnosised the problem yesterday and worked closely with Stephanie in the office to locate the part and get the repair scheduled for today. Stephanie was excellent and prompt in her follow-up to keep me posted on the status of finding the part and scheduling. We are a customer who has a service contract with them, having the servic contract they do their very best to try and work you in asap to fix the problem. Kyle who replaced our AC motor today is relatively new to the company. I was very pleased with his professionalism, knowledge and honesty and I can see that he is a tremendous asset to the organization. Great job Kyle! and Great teamwork overall to the McCullough Heating and Air team!
Kyle S.
10/12/16
 
We have used McCullough Heating and Air for the past three years and have always been very pleased with their prompt service and courteous manner. The trained technicians that have come to work on our system are very knowledgeable, honest and professional. We have a three zone AC system that requires service personnel who have training in zone heating and air which McCullough Heating and Air have on staff. Today Kyle was our technician and did an excellent job. He diagnosised the problem yesterday and worked closely with Stephanie in the office to locate the part and get the repair scheduled for today. Stephanie was excellent and prompt in her follow-up to keep me posted on the status of finding the part and scheduling. We are a customer who has a service contract with them, having the servic contract they do their very best to try and work you in asap to fix the problem. Kyle who replaced our AC motor today is relatively new to the company. I was very pleased with his professionalism, knowledge and honesty and I can see that he is a tremendous asset to the organization. Great job Kyle! and Great teamwork overall to the McCullough Heating and Air team!
Kyle S.
10/12/16
 
The AC condenser for my house had a bad capacitor so Adam came it and fixed it. He was friendly and spent time explaining what he did and what differences I should see because of it. He also gave me a few pointers on my new Nest thermostat. I will definitely use McCullough next time I have an AC issue!
Adam M.
10/11/16
 
Derrick and Sade' from McCullough Heating and Air ibstalled our new Heating And Air today and they both did a wonderful job. tested everything, cleaned up after they were done and they were both very polite and . we were very pleased with their work. Emilio and Alice Lopez
Sade R.
10/10/16
 
Adam did a great job on site. He diagnosed the problem, discussed costs, and went about the repairs quickly. The annual furnace inspection went quickly and efficiently. Great job.
Adam M.
10/09/16
 
I have had regular inspection schedules with McCullough for the last two years, for both our residence and a rental property that we own, and couldn't be any happier; they are always punctual, very cordial, and technically thorough... And, in our home, where were have an older unit installed that might be grounds for replacement (and more business for them) they have always been very conservative, commenting that the unit should last for a while.
Adam M.
10/07/16
 
Adan arrived on time, quickly assessed the situation, diagnosed the problem, and then fixed it. He was polite, explained the problem and how he fixed it. Job well done. I'll also mention Ronda, who took my call and scheduled the service call, was friendly and efficient. Great customer service all around at McCullough.
Adan G.
10/06/16
 
Adam from McCullough Heating & Air just completed our yearly furnace checkup. While I admit that thinking about running the furnace before November is optimistic, Adam gave both our units a thorough going over and a clean bill of health. That gives me confidence that my HVAC isn't going to spring any expensive surprises on me later this fall. Adam was on time, professional and super nice. I would be very happy to have him come back any time we have HVAC issues.
Adam M.
10/05/16
 
I called in for service and the response time was great. Kyle was very quick in diagnosing and repairing the problem. I have had several warranty problems with the a.c. over the last few years McCullough and there service team has been very prompt , professional and friendly. Thanks for your services.
Kyle S.
10/05/16
 
McCullough has come to my air conditioning and heating rescue numerous times over the past decade, including one Fourth of July weekend a couple of years ago when my AC broke. They have always been able to show up within a day of my call. Their service people are always courteous and efficient and able to patch things up. I'm not sure if it's because of my location, but usually it's been a wonderful specialist named Adan to whom I'm continually grateful. A few years back, I started on their twice-annual service plan, which has been great. There are discounts attached to that, and they are able to find any issues before it's roastingly hot out or pretty darned cold. McCullough did not install the units, but I am sure I will turn to them when it's time for replacements.
Adan G.
10/04/16
 
Bought a brand new system 3 weeks ago, and worked great for a couple of weeks. Has been down for 2 days now. The tech who came in the middle of the night told me that the coolant had leaked out and that he would charge it up so it would cool through the night until they could come back in the morning. Never got cooler than 78 degrees in the house, about 10 degrees hotter than it is outside. This morning the shop called and said the tech told them he disabled the unit last night, did not add coolant. Tech who came this afternoon told me there was a recalled part that was defective, and that he would charge up the unit to get through the night. It has not gotten cooler than 78 degrees again, much cooler outside. They are supposed to call me back again in the morning. They are mostly pleasant to talk to and interact with, but I sat in an 80 degree house all day and almost that same temperature for two nights now, on a 3 week old unit.
Derrick L.
10/04/16
 
Great prompt service, personable trustworthy techs, good prices. Signed up for the annual plan and feel confident that I won't have any surprises this winter after the annual heating inspection.
Kyle S.
10/03/16
 
(no comment)
Adam M.
10/01/16
 
I renew a twice yearly contract every year with McCullough - once for the a/c and once for the heating system. It's worth every penny to have their professionals come out to check my entire system. Adam M. came out this time and was thorough and efficient. McCullough in general gets high marks for hiring top-notch professionals AND providing after hours service (especially when my a/c blower died a few months ago in the middle of summer!).
Adam M.
10/01/16
 
Excellent work and customer service. Consistently! It's a pleasure to have Adon working at my home.
Adan G.
09/27/16
 
Excellent service. Adam was friendly, helpful and patient enough to answer all my questions about my AC issues. I was able to get an appointment on the same day. Will definitely recommend it and avail their services again.
Adam M.
09/21/16
 
This was my first experience with McCullough and I will definitely be a return customer. Kyle was prompt, thorough, and professional. I appreciated the attentive, mindful advice he gave.
Kyle S.
09/20/16
 
A/C was short cycling and struggling to keep the house cool. Called at midnight and Adam came out first thing in the morning as I requested. He had us back up and running in no time. He also gave us some tips on how to prevent the problem from occurring again in the future. Adam was very friendly, completely transparent on pricing, and even cleaned up after himself. Very impressed with his knowledge and professionalism. Will call on McCullough again should the need arise.
Adam M.
09/18/16
 
Had an hvac emergency - thermostat just went blank. After resetting the circuit breaker and seeing it start up just to go blank again we knew it was time to call someone. After getting the run around by other Austin hvac companies that said they were 24 hour - but not able to come out till the next day - we called McCullough and immediately got patched through to Adam. Unlike the others he said he could get to us right away. An hour later Adam arrived and instantly began checking out the system and diagnosed a clogged evap line. 20 minutes later - he'd cleared the nasty clog and our AC was back at 100%. So grateful to find these guys who came out late at night.
Adam M.
09/16/16
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.