McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3460 star rating
(698 Reviews)
Google
746 star rating (150 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1263 star rating (255 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
285 star rating (57 Reviews)
Angie's List
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


I had my 25-year old heating and air conditioning system replaced yesterday by the McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning Company. The installation team was lead by a technician named Zack P. The entire team, with emphasis on Zack, was amazing. They removed my old system's components from the attic and beside my house and installed a brand new system in one day. Zack was extremely diligent and kept the work flow moving ever forward to completion. The work was of high quality and my new AC is working great.
Zack P.
10/18/16
 
Adam worked professionally and quickly. Not pressured into purchasing unnecessary additional services or parts.
Adam M.
10/18/16
 
We have used McCullough Heating and Air for the past three years and have always been very pleased with their prompt service and courteous manner. The trained technicians that have come to work on our system are very knowledgeable, honest and professional. We have a three zone AC system that requires service personnel who have training in zone heating and air which McCullough Heating and Air have on staff. Today Kyle was our technician and did an excellent job. He diagnosised the problem yesterday and worked closely with Stephanie in the office to locate the part and get the repair scheduled for today. Stephanie was excellent and prompt in her follow-up to keep me posted on the status of finding the part and scheduling. We are a customer who has a service contract with them, having the servic contract they do their very best to try and work you in asap to fix the problem. Kyle who replaced our AC motor today is relatively new to the company. I was very pleased with his professionalism, knowledge and honesty and I can see that he is a tremendous asset to the organization. Great job Kyle! and Great teamwork overall to the McCullough Heating and Air team!
Kyle S.
10/12/16
 
We have used McCullough Heating and Air for the past three years and have always been very pleased with their prompt service and courteous manner. The trained technicians that have come to work on our system are very knowledgeable, honest and professional. We have a three zone AC system that requires service personnel who have training in zone heating and air which McCullough Heating and Air have on staff. Today Kyle was our technician and did an excellent job. He diagnosised the problem yesterday and worked closely with Stephanie in the office to locate the part and get the repair scheduled for today. Stephanie was excellent and prompt in her follow-up to keep me posted on the status of finding the part and scheduling. We are a customer who has a service contract with them, having the servic contract they do their very best to try and work you in asap to fix the problem. Kyle who replaced our AC motor today is relatively new to the company. I was very pleased with his professionalism, knowledge and honesty and I can see that he is a tremendous asset to the organization. Great job Kyle! and Great teamwork overall to the McCullough Heating and Air team!
Kyle S.
10/12/16
 
The AC condenser for my house had a bad capacitor so Adam came it and fixed it. He was friendly and spent time explaining what he did and what differences I should see because of it. He also gave me a few pointers on my new Nest thermostat. I will definitely use McCullough next time I have an AC issue!
Adam M.
10/11/16
 
Derrick and Sade' from McCullough Heating and Air ibstalled our new Heating And Air today and they both did a wonderful job. tested everything, cleaned up after they were done and they were both very polite and . we were very pleased with their work. Emilio and Alice Lopez
Sade R.
10/10/16
 
Adam did a great job on site. He diagnosed the problem, discussed costs, and went about the repairs quickly. The annual furnace inspection went quickly and efficiently. Great job.
Adam M.
10/09/16
 
I have had regular inspection schedules with McCullough for the last two years, for both our residence and a rental property that we own, and couldn't be any happier; they are always punctual, very cordial, and technically thorough... And, in our home, where were have an older unit installed that might be grounds for replacement (and more business for them) they have always been very conservative, commenting that the unit should last for a while.
Adam M.
10/07/16
 
Adan arrived on time, quickly assessed the situation, diagnosed the problem, and then fixed it. He was polite, explained the problem and how he fixed it. Job well done. I'll also mention Ronda, who took my call and scheduled the service call, was friendly and efficient. Great customer service all around at McCullough.
Adan G.
10/06/16
 
Adam from McCullough Heating & Air just completed our yearly furnace checkup. While I admit that thinking about running the furnace before November is optimistic, Adam gave both our units a thorough going over and a clean bill of health. That gives me confidence that my HVAC isn't going to spring any expensive surprises on me later this fall. Adam was on time, professional and super nice. I would be very happy to have him come back any time we have HVAC issues.
Adam M.
10/05/16
 
I called in for service and the response time was great. Kyle was very quick in diagnosing and repairing the problem. I have had several warranty problems with the a.c. over the last few years McCullough and there service team has been very prompt , professional and friendly. Thanks for your services.
Kyle S.
10/05/16
 
McCullough has come to my air conditioning and heating rescue numerous times over the past decade, including one Fourth of July weekend a couple of years ago when my AC broke. They have always been able to show up within a day of my call. Their service people are always courteous and efficient and able to patch things up. I'm not sure if it's because of my location, but usually it's been a wonderful specialist named Adan to whom I'm continually grateful. A few years back, I started on their twice-annual service plan, which has been great. There are discounts attached to that, and they are able to find any issues before it's roastingly hot out or pretty darned cold. McCullough did not install the units, but I am sure I will turn to them when it's time for replacements.
Adan G.
10/04/16
 
Bought a brand new system 3 weeks ago, and worked great for a couple of weeks. Has been down for 2 days now. The tech who came in the middle of the night told me that the coolant had leaked out and that he would charge it up so it would cool through the night until they could come back in the morning. Never got cooler than 78 degrees in the house, about 10 degrees hotter than it is outside. This morning the shop called and said the tech told them he disabled the unit last night, did not add coolant. Tech who came this afternoon told me there was a recalled part that was defective, and that he would charge up the unit to get through the night. It has not gotten cooler than 78 degrees again, much cooler outside. They are supposed to call me back again in the morning. They are mostly pleasant to talk to and interact with, but I sat in an 80 degree house all day and almost that same temperature for two nights now, on a 3 week old unit.
Derrick L.
10/04/16
 
Great prompt service, personable trustworthy techs, good prices. Signed up for the annual plan and feel confident that I won't have any surprises this winter after the annual heating inspection.
Kyle S.
10/03/16
 
(no comment)
Adam M.
10/01/16
 
I renew a twice yearly contract every year with McCullough - once for the a/c and once for the heating system. It's worth every penny to have their professionals come out to check my entire system. Adam M. came out this time and was thorough and efficient. McCullough in general gets high marks for hiring top-notch professionals AND providing after hours service (especially when my a/c blower died a few months ago in the middle of summer!).
Adam M.
10/01/16
 
Excellent work and customer service. Consistently! It's a pleasure to have Adon working at my home.
Adan G.
09/27/16
 
Excellent service. Adam was friendly, helpful and patient enough to answer all my questions about my AC issues. I was able to get an appointment on the same day. Will definitely recommend it and avail their services again.
Adam M.
09/21/16
 
This was my first experience with McCullough and I will definitely be a return customer. Kyle was prompt, thorough, and professional. I appreciated the attentive, mindful advice he gave.
Kyle S.
09/20/16
 
A/C was short cycling and struggling to keep the house cool. Called at midnight and Adam came out first thing in the morning as I requested. He had us back up and running in no time. He also gave us some tips on how to prevent the problem from occurring again in the future. Adam was very friendly, completely transparent on pricing, and even cleaned up after himself. Very impressed with his knowledge and professionalism. Will call on McCullough again should the need arise.
Adam M.
09/18/16
 
Had an hvac emergency - thermostat just went blank. After resetting the circuit breaker and seeing it start up just to go blank again we knew it was time to call someone. After getting the run around by other Austin hvac companies that said they were 24 hour - but not able to come out till the next day - we called McCullough and immediately got patched through to Adam. Unlike the others he said he could get to us right away. An hour later Adam arrived and instantly began checking out the system and diagnosed a clogged evap line. 20 minutes later - he'd cleared the nasty clog and our AC was back at 100%. So grateful to find these guys who came out late at night.
Adam M.
09/16/16
 
Adam M. of McCullough Heating & Air arrived on time, was very professional. He explained thoroughly the problem he found with AC unit. Identified the work to fix the problem and provided information to follow up if problem accurred again. Great customer service!
Adam M.
09/14/16
 
Kyle was just great. The man who did my install years ago is a good guy and I am loyal. But the last two times (incl this time) he never called me back. And the last time I ended up with another lone wolf and it was a goat f%@k. Stop messing around with lone wolf HVAC repair techs working out of their homes (not that there's anything wrong with that) and go with a real company that answers the phone, returns your calls and gets some one out FAST for repairs. No $250 flat service fee charged up front just to come out either, it's an $89 diagnostic fee. Parts prices include labor to install and they are very fair. I googled the parts to be installed and there wasn't that much difference from their installed price and the price to buy it online. I bought the 1 year service contract which brings them out twice a year to check/service heat in the fall and AC in the spring, PLUS it gets you a discount on EVERYTHING, fees, parts, labor ...Kyle had mentioned this service as a matter of course and it pleased him when I added it at the end. Savings were applied on the spot to this total job. Kyle thoughtfully pointed out a couple things I should consider doing but at no time was there any hard sell. I chose one (regulator on outside unit) to do now and will have the other (float sensors) done when he come back in the spring. I'm not planning on using any other company again.
Kyle S.
09/13/16
 
Fast, friendly service. Kyle was great!
Kyle S.
09/12/16
 
The compressor in the 16 year old unit that serves our bedrooms went out at the end of August. We obtained estimates from three AC service firms, but Heidi with McCullough stood out from the rest as she collected the most details during her visit. She inspected the unit, the wiring, the duct work and each one of the returns and vents. She took precise measurements and asked specific questions about our experience with the system. Heidi presented us with numerous replacement options and answered many questions, even responding to them throughout one evening past midnight. Heidi was fair and flexible on pricing. We ultimately selected a two stage Carrier Performance unit. Heidi and the installation team, consisting of Zack, Mark and Mike, arrived on time. Valuable, additional expertise came in the mid afternoon when Jensen arrived. The job was long and demanding with final completion at 9PM. The team never slowed and always took time to explain their progress and answer our questions. Cleanup was excellent. We just had one of our most restful night's sleep in weeks and are very pleased with the equipment and the installation. We understand a new HVAC system is only as good as its installation. We salute the professionalism and the high quality work delivered to us by this McCullough team. Great job.
Mike d., Heidi C., Mark L., Zack P., Jensen S.
09/10/16
 
This is the second time I've used McCullough to service my a/c, and both time I've had a great experience with them. Adam was the service tech that came out and was very professional and courteous. He was very knowledgeable and handled my problem quickly and accurately. He was very pleasant and answered all concerns and questions I had. He's definitely an asset to your company and just strengthened my trust in McCullough!
Adam M.
09/05/16
 
Saturday night at 7:15pm in August my tenants tell me the AC is out. I have tried in the past to find a 24/7 HVAC tech and it usually is a joke. McCullough on the other hand actually has an on call tech. Adam was there after he finished the job he was working on. He quickly assessed the situation and was able to isolate the mechanical issue. One part change and the system was cooling. I was very impressed with Adam and will use McCullough again.
Adam M.
09/05/16
 
Joshua was great! He was professional, timely and took his time to explain the problem to me. He took care of the repair and now the house is feeling cool again. Thanks, Joshua.
Josh G.
09/04/16
 
Kyle arrived on time Friday and quickly identified the source of the problem. He explained clearly to me so that I understood the problem. He said that he did not know if he would be able to locate the motor that needed to be replaced and return on Friday to replace the old motor but would do his best to make that happen. In any event, I would be notified on Friday as to next steps. Kyle was able to locate a motor and returned and replaced the old motor. He tested the other parts of the cooling system and left. Price was as Kyle explained it to me. Kyle was professional, positive, customer oriented and had a strong desire to be helpful.
Kyle S.
09/03/16
 
Adam from McCullough Heating & Air provided excellent service.
Adam M.
09/03/16
 
Adam was wonderful! He was thorough and very quick. He was knowledgeable and was so willing to answer all my questions. A friend used McCullough after hours a couple of weeks ago and was so pleased, we called them when we had an issue. It was sheer luck that Adam worked on both out units and provided such great service! We'd call again in a heartbeat!
Adam M.
09/02/16
 
Adam was courteous, pleasant, and efficient. He swept up a bit of insulation that came down from he attic while he was working up there and kept my floor clean by wearing shoe covers. Thank you Adam!
Adam M.
09/01/16
 
Nothing worse than getting home from work and your AC is out...I called McCullough and they originally said they could have someone out the next day....I asked it it was possible for someone to come out right then and they called Adam who was already at home for the day....I could not believe it when they said he would head back out. Adam showed up about 20 min later diagnosed and fixed it.....Thank you so much Adam for coming to our rescue and not staying on your couch.....I will def. be calling in the future with anything else AC related. Oh and it was only $160.....worth every last $$
Adam M.
08/30/16
 
Our AC was not able to keep up with the TX heat and running constantly during the day. Adam did a great job providing thorough and excellent service to us. I highly recommend McCullough Heating & AC.
Adam M.
08/29/16
 
Your Technician, Robert Morales, recently performed an annual inspection of my air conditioning equipment. Robert was very prompt, professional, personable, and efficient in his performance of his duties. Thank you for your continued excellent service! John L Adan Gomez reported to my home only 2 1/2 hours after I called for A/C service on 8-22-16. He was very knowledgeable about how to proceed with a drain pipe leak and excessive water in the air intake area. He completed the repair within one hour to include vacuuming of the intake area. I was pleased with his expertise. I was not pleased with the costs. John Lederer
Adan G.
08/26/16
 
Zach, Mike and Mark were very professional. Zach went into great detail in explaining our knew Carrier system. I would highly recommend McCullough for a/c and heating. Thank you Zach, Mike and Mark for doing a great job. Thumbs up guy's.
Mike d., Mark L., Zack P.
08/25/16
 
Adan is extremely thorough and did an outstanding job of servicing our units. Thank you Adan!!
Adan G.
08/23/16
 
Adam arrived promptly on Saturday morning, diagnosed the problem quickly, and kept me well informed. Fine service
Adam M.
08/20/16
 
Bull is amazing!!! He is very kind, funny and definitely knows what he is doing. He is very knowledgeable. My review is actually about Ever and Jaff, who come out to my home and did AMAZING work. They were both very nice and a pleasure to be around. They had a lot of hard work to do and did an AWESOME job. The were very detailed and cared about every little thing they were doing. I truly appreciate their hard work to make my house more energy efficient. The whole team at McCullough are so wonderful!!!
Bull.
08/17/16
 
Zach and Mark are professional, courteus and clean. They started the job by putting down drop cloths to protect the floors and keep the mess in my apartment contained. They had the daunting task of removing an ancient, in-ceiling central air unit from above the tub in my bathroom and replacing it with a new unit, which they handled efficiently and effectively. They made sure I was happy with the quality of their work and clean-up before they left. Highly recommend these gents.
Mark L., Zack P.
08/16/16
 
Kyle was very thorough and professional. Fixed our problem quickly and got us cool again.
Kyle S.
08/13/16
 
Our AC went out on Friday and the technician came the same day and diagnosed the problem and repaired the unit with efficiency. He gave a complete explanation of our repair and took the time to show us how the unit works and how to maintain it properly. He also showed us where the main condensation drain line joins the house plumbing. We asked several other technicians in the past and he was the only one who actually showed us where it was. We highly recommend Kyle for his great service and attitude.
Kyle S.
08/13/16
 
(no comment)
Adan G.
08/11/16
 
Showed up early, Adam was friendly, professional and explained in detail what was broken. He even found there was a warranty I didn't know I had and saved me some cash. The people at the office who scheduled the service were also very friendly and accommodating. Based on this experience I would use them again and recommend them.
Adam M.
08/11/16
 
Kyle S. with McCullough Heating and Air did a summer inspection for my two units today. He did an excellent job in figuring out a problem with one of the units. He stuck to it until it was working properly. Thank you so much, Kyle!
Kyle S.
08/10/16
 
Great Service from Adan! Upper AC unit was not working, Adan did a through exploration of the unit. Turns out the unit was meerly turned off accidentally in the attic while another workman (or me!) was up there. Checked coolant pressures while here to ensure everything was OK. We specifically ask for Adan since we like his thoroughness and friendly attitude.
Adan G.
08/09/16
 
A/C went out over the weekend. Made call Monday, service tech Adam there by noon on Tuesday. He was timely, polite and explained the issue and alternatives well.
Adam M.
08/09/16
 
(no comment)
Sade R., Zack P.
08/08/16
 
Adan was flexible with scheduling a quick appointment to check on my A/C, showed up promptly, and diagnosed the problem (as well as another problem that the previous system installers had missed). He seems to have fixed everything, and I appreciated his work!
Adan G.
08/07/16
 
When we arrived home at 8pm (with our two toddlers in tow, mind you) and realized our AC was out, panic ensued. I called McCullough and within the hour, Adan came to the house and diagnosed and fixed the problem with our AC unit. He is most definitely the hero of the day and we will use McCullough for any future heating & AC needs we may have.
Adan G.
08/06/16
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.