McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3355 star rating
(677 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1213 star rating (245 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Google
716 star rating (144 Reviews)
Angie's List
55 star rating (11 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
265 star rating (53 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Friendly and efficient
Steven V.
04/19/18
 
the fees for less than an hour service? 400.00??? I have been a customer of yours for at least 4 years. You have installed a whole house system and a mini split. I feel like I was taken to the cleaners for the service call. Every business deserves to make a fair and reasonable profit. But 400+ for a cleaning - Very, very out of line.

04/18/18
 
It's true... "I want to buy a new air conditioner today" says nobody. Ever. But eventually, if you own a home and live long enough, you will need to. And these guys were very professional, courteous, and dependable. Derek (Bull) and Jensen were our team and did a great job explaining all our options and not pushing our decision. Our new Carrier Infinity is purring along making me a very happy homeowner.
Jensen S., Bull.
04/13/18
 
Great service and easy to work with. Very considerate of our time. Have used MCCullough for a few years and extremely happy with their service and professionalism.
Chris F.
04/12/18
 
Heidi Clifton knew her stuff, answered all questions and was extremely helpful throughout the entire process. The 2 crews that showed up for the installation, Richard U., Mark L., Sade R., and Derrick L. were entirely professional, competent, diligent and completed the installation in a remarkably timely manner. If you need help with your Heating/AC you don't need to look any farther!
Heidi C.
04/10/18
 
Very good experience... the technician, Chris, arrived exactly on time. He even called before arriving. Very knowledgeable and willing to spend time with me to answer my questions. He let me know every step of the way what he was doing. The resulting inspection report is the most detailed and complete of any I have ever seen. Have already received a follow-up call from the company and an online survey of my satisfaction. And I always ask technicians how they are treated by their parent company, and I like and prefer companies that treat their workers fairly, and it appears that McCullough does that and it is evident with the professionalism and personality of the people I have met and talked to so far. I like this company so far.
Chris F.
04/08/18
 
Very well... the technician, Chris, arrived exactly on time. He even called before arriving. Very knowledgeable and willing to spend time with me to answer my questions. He let me know every step of the way what he was doing. The resulting inspection report is the most detailed and complete of any I have ever seen. Have already received a follow-up call from the company and an online survey of my satisfaction. And I always ask technicians how they are treated by their parent company, and I like and prefer companies that treat their workers fairly, and it appears that McCullough does that and it is evident with the professionalism personality of the people I have met and talked to so far. I like this company so far.
Shelton S.
04/06/18
 
I found it very easy to request a yearly system check and the technician showed up within the parameters set and did the work in a timely manner.
Shelton S.
04/05/18
 
Very professional, Mr Shelton explained what he was going to do then he did it. Excellent service.
Shelton S.
04/04/18
 
On time, efficient, polite and friendly, professional - great to have a completely stress free and pleasant experience.
Shelton S.
04/03/18
 
The team that installed our new unit was very professional and courteous.The initial Sales visit was handled professionally as well.
Michael E., Zack P., Tony M.
04/03/18
 
Elvin was not familiar with Carrier Infinity Thermostat. He asked the homeowner if the homeowner knew the thermostat or owned the manual. He then proceeded to experiment with the Infinity thermostat, condenser, and the furnace. Although, the homeowner was paying for the service call, he told me that there will be an additional charge of $200 to determine if or where there may be a leak in the system. Who knows what other charges he may ask for if he cannot figure out what needs fixing? Another $200 to test the circuitry? Another $500 to test the duct system? Another $$ to test the compressor? Finally, he did not give me any estimates for any repair work. He told me that his boss would email me the estimate in 3-4 hours. No one emailed me any estimates.

03/30/18
 
Great Company!!
Elvin I., Chris F.
03/30/18
 
Shelton arrived on time and did the regular checks, and double checked the tubing for leaks.
Shelton S.
03/28/18
 
Shelton S. from McCullough heating and air is a professional in every way. He introduced himself when he arrived, explained what he was doing, did it and in 20 minutes was finished.
Shelton S.
03/23/18
 
Chris F. and Elvin I. did a wonderful job. I called on Friday to have someone look at my a/c unit. Chris F. showed up in a timely manner and was able to point out the problem quickly. He showed me that I had a leak in my a/c unit. Chris F. and Elvin I. were able to replace everything the next day (Saturday).
Chris F.
03/17/18
 
After years using a "competitor", we opted to try McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning since they support our school district. Ordering a Maintenance Program was easy stuff. Scheduling an appointment was easy and quick. Thanks to Ayumi Perez, we were scheduled within the week. I was impressed with Shelton S. who even took. time to clean and vacuum the overflow pan...who does things that aren't visible to others?!? We received great value for the Maintenance Program and will continue to partner with McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning in the future.
Richard U., Alex S., Mark L., Jensen S.
03/16/18
 
After years using a "competitor", we opted to try McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning since they support our school district. Ordering a Maintenance Program was easy stuff. Scheduling an appointment was easy and quick. Thanks to Ayumi Perez, we were scheduled within the week. I was impressed with Shelton S. who even took. time to clean and vacuum the overflow pan...who does things that aren't visible to others?!? We received great value for the Maintenance Program and will continue to partner with McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning in the future.
Shelton S.
03/16/18
 
After years using a "competitor", we opted to try McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning since they support our school district. Ordering a Maintenance Program was easy stuff. Scheduling an appointment was easy and quick. Thanks to Ayumi P****, we were scheduled within the week. I was impressed with Shelton S. who even took. time to clean and vacuum the overflow pan...who does things that aren't visible to others?!? We received great value for the Maintenance Program and will continue to partner with McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning in the future.
Shelton S.
03/16/18
 
On time, professional, considerate, willing to explain what they were doing and why, worked long hours to be sure we had a functioning system each evening, cleaned up when they finished each day. Heidi spent a lot of time analyzing our home to evaluate potential systems and justify her recommendations.
Striker H., Jesse A., Michael E., Heidi C., Sade R., Zack P.
03/15/18
 
Diligent, professional, willing to explain what they were doing and why, worked long hours so that we had a functioning HVAC system at the end of each day.
Striker H., Jesse A., Michael E., Heidi C., Sade R., Zack P.
03/15/18
 
Very knowledgeable and provided us with the best option
Tony M.
03/15/18
 
Chris came out to my house today to instal an Air Scrubber Plus. He was on time, SUPER professional and the instal was quick but not rushed. While he was here I mentioned my concerns regarding an excessive amount of dust accumulating in one of my AC ducts. He investigated the issues and fixed it right there at NO charge. He took an extra 20-30 min out of his day just to be sure I was totally satisfied with my visit. I can absolutely recommend this company and I feel confident that I can trust them to provide competitive prices, without a compromise on quality and expertise. I will be using this company from now on forward and I am a very satisfied customer. So thanks to Chris for taking such good care of me and my house today.
Chris F.
03/13/18
 
The team arrived for my HVAC replacement right on time and were courteous, professional, and positive. They worked hard all day to create a pristine looking installation. So far I like the new system very well, and I look forward to energy savings this summer. Highly recommended!
Michael E., Sade R., Derrick L., Zack P.
03/12/18
 
Chris and McCullough provide absolutely the best customer service ever.
Chris F.
03/09/18
 
Shelton was great.
Shelton S.
03/06/18
 
Very helpful. I will be calling them again should I need assistance.
Chris F.
03/03/18
 
Zack, Dahon, and their team members are all very friendly and professional, They came early on time as I requested, start to work quickly, keep our floor covered, move things efficiently in and out...they did an excellent job. Zack also helped me set up the thermostat remote control system on my Mac desk top and my iphone.
Dalton S., Armando T., Michael E., Zack P.
02/26/18
 
The Guys came out took a look at the problems that I have and gave me several affordable options to fix my problems.
Chris F., Bull.
02/25/18
 
Angel and Jesse were great!! They came on time and helped keeping me informed with all the repairs and helped with any questions I had. They were hard workers and finished on time.
Jesse A., Angel S.
02/23/18
 
(no comment)
Sade R., Derrick L.
02/20/18
 
We had a unit replaced, ductwork replacement, insulation enhancement and weatherization work performed. The entire team that worked with us was professional and thorough. They called ahead to confirm appointments, explained what they were going to do for each visit and completed the work in a timely manner. Everyone was friendly. Great service! Will recommend you. Thank you.
Michael E., Sade R., Vinny S., Derrick L.
02/11/18
 
First and most importantly, the technician was very friendly, fast and thorough. I was comfortable with his service. However, McCullough called to perform the fall heating check in February - many months late. And they want to do the spring check up within two months. I pushed that back till May. Still not happy with the huge increase in the price.
Shelton S.
02/10/18
 
We've used McCullough for several years for regular HVAC maintenance and repairs. When our furnace failed during the New Years cold snap, and we decided to replace our 16 year old unit, we were confident in using McCullough. Heidi, our comfort adviser was really helpful in laying out all of our options, and the whole installation and weatherization crew were great and professional, and worked late into the night to have our system up and running as the next deep freeze arrived. I would absolutely recommend them for any ac/furnace repair or
Chris F., David T., Michael E., Heidi C., Mark L., Jensen S.
02/05/18
 
The installation crew was professional and punctual. They cared for my home by laying down tarp so as not to scratch up my floors or walls. After completing the job, they cleaned up after themselves. The crew did a good job at explaining the installation process to me and made sure that I understood how to work the system before they left my home. The system failed to function the next day. However, the company was responsive and had a crew person on sight the same day. The problem was fixed and so far I am happy with the work that was done.
Bo R.
01/14/18
 
I called McCullough on the 10th because I wasn't getting any heat. The office told me I was eligible for an inspection anyway, so Elvin came out at 5 p.m. and checked out my heating unit. All it needed was two batteries which he supplied and the heat was back on at no charge. Elvin is very personable as well as efficient.
Elvin I.
01/12/18
 
(No Comment)
Michael E., Zack P.
12/31/17
 
Mark and Bo both did a phenomenal job replacing our heating and air system. They were flexible, easy going, hard working, and very respectful even during a job that could have been stressful. They came early in the morning and stayed until the job was done (even though that was well into the evening!). At the end they cleaned up and left everything better than before they had gotten there. I would absolutely recommend this company and these workers in particular for your heating and air issues.
Bo R., Mark L.
12/30/17
 
Mark and Bo both did a phenomenal job replacing our heating and air system. They were flexible, easy going, hard working, and very respectful even during a job that could have been stressful. They came early in the morning and stayed until the job was done (even though that was well into the evening!). At the end they cleaned up and left everything better than before they had gotten there. I would absolutely recommend this company and these workers in particular for your heating and air issues.
Mark L.
12/29/17
 
Mark and Bo both did a phenomenal job replacing our heating and air system. They were flexible, easy going, hard working, and very respectful even during a job that could have been stressful. They came early in the morning and stayed until the job was done (even though that was well into the evening!). At the end they cleaned up and left everything better than before they had gotten there. I would absolutely recommend this company and these workers in particular for your heating and air issues.
Chris F.
12/29/17
 
Our AC broke down at a horrible time - the evening before a long weekend and two weeks from us moving out of state! But after getting 3 estimates and talking to our neighbors, we are glad we chose McCollough to replace our AC and the ducts. Alex was exceptional and did an awesome job from the beginning to the end. He was very knowledgeable. We went with his recommendation to go through the Austin energy program and feel good we did. The team was very professional and worked well together. They got the job done well and in time. I highly recommend them!
Alex H.
12/28/17
 
Our AC broke down at a horrible time - the evening before a long weekend and two weeks from us moving out of state! But after getting 3 estimates and talking to our neighbors, we are glad we chose McCollough to replace our AC and the ducts. Alex was exceptional and did an awesome job from the beginning to the end. He was very knowledgeable. We went with his recommendation to go through the Austin energy program and feel good we did. The team was very professional and worked well together. They got the job done well and in time. I highly recommend them!
Alex H.
12/28/17
 
Very professional , had a lot of obsticials to over come. Air Intake was one and they did a great job. Laid all new decking
Bo R., Mark L., Derrick L.
12/24/17
 
My initial contact was with Heidi. The three servicemen were Richard, Vinny, and Gary (I couldn't find his name on the list). These are fine, courteous, professional people. This was a great experience exemplifying how all companies should be represented. The work was great. But I must admit I was blown away with the cleanup.
Gary S., Heidi C., Vinny S.
11/21/17
 
I replaced my a/c unit and furnace almost a decade ago and have always received excellent service from them with regards to regular yearly maintenance checks. This year, my a/c didn't seem to be keeping up with the Texas heat so I called them to come out and take a look. It turned out that there was a leak in my evaporator coil which was still under warranty so McCullough sent a team out the next day (Derrick L. & Sade R.) who spent over 4 hours replacing the coil and I wasn't charged for the part OR the labor because of the warranty. Both Derrick & Sade were hard-working and professional and my house feels wonderfully cool once again...thank you McCullough!
Derrick L.
10/22/17
 
German Aguila from McCullough Heating & Air was excellent when he did our AC & Heating inspection. He took his time & did not take any shortcuts. He was prompt, on time & polite. Earlier in the year we had a Micropore Air Purifier installed by Josh from McCullough's & it has made all the difference. I highly recommend one if anyone has odor or air quality issues. thank you McCullough's...
German A.
10/17/17
 
German did an excellent job doing our ac & heater checkup. He was here for a long time & did not skip over anything. I wanted to also say that we had a Micropore air purifier installed by McCullough's earlier this year & it has really helped with our air quality. I highly reccomend that people install one if you have pets or odor as it helps with indoor pollutants. we have noticed a big improvement! thank you McCullough's!
German A.
10/17/17
 
Bo and Mark went above and beyond what was expected or required. I was very impressed and appreciative.
Bo R., Mark L.
10/14/17
 
Want to let you know that Mark and his partner did a great job for us on 10-09-17 on Sterlinghill dr. We are very happy with the work he did , and very friendly. Very hard worker , and finished the job in one day. They both did a well done job. Thanks again
Mark L.
10/10/17
 
Want to say how Bo did a great job . Answered all are questions worked very hard, until job was done. Thanks again.
Bo R.
10/10/17
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.