McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3203 star rating
(646 Reviews)
Google
661 star rating (133 Reviews)
Angie's List
40 star rating (8 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1171 star rating (236 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Facebook
225 star rating (45 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Adan did a great job fixing my AC blocked drain. He explained the possible cost of job and when completed, told me what he had found, what he had done and a few other things about my AC that he felt I needed to know. He also explained to me the benefit of the yearly service contract with his company. Would definitely recommend him and McCullough AC.
Adan G.
10/02/13
 
Jimmy did a fantastic job installing my H/VAC system. He went 'above and beyond the call of duty,' adding an extra slab for ease of yard maintenance, pulling out temporary window units and re-installing a storm window. He was very professional and courteous and with his assistant, Adon, finished the job in 6 hours. The next week, Vinny, Sade and Jesse came and completely 'weatherized' my house. Again, an exceptional job done by all. They were very pleasant and professional, answered my questions and kindly did a few extra things for me. Highly recommended!
Vinny S.
09/29/13
 
Enter your comments here.

09/26/13
 
Jimmy did a fantastic job installing my H/VAC system. He went 'above and beyond the call of duty,' adding an extra slab for ease of yard maintenance, pulling out temporary window units and re-installing a storm window. He was very professional and courteous and with his assistant, Adon, finished the job in 6 hours. Highly recommended!
Vinny S.
09/25/13
 
Jimmy did a fantastic job installing my H/VAC system. He went 'above and beyond the call of duty,' adding an extra slab for ease of yard maintenance, pulling out temporary window units and re-installing a storm window. He was very professional and courteous and with his assistant, Adon, finished the job in 6 hours. Highly recommended!
Jimmy S.
09/25/13
 
Service was fast and efficient. They found the problem and fixed it and explained what had happened so I could understand. I have had them out twice in the last two years and will call them again if I have a problem. If you have a problem, give them a call.
Adan G.
09/17/13
 
The blower motor was going out on our old system, for the second time, so we decided it was time to replace it. We contacted McCullough, and because we were having issues with our existing system, they arranged to have someone come by the same day ... MUCH appreciated. After looking at the options presented by Tony we selected the system we wanted to buy, and to take advantage of the rebates etc from Austin Energy, Texas Gas. Tony took care of getting everything started, including a prompt inspection by Austin Energy. And again, because we were having issues with the old system they were able to work us into the installation schedule quickly. It's great being taken care of in a timely manner when the situation warrants it. And throughout the process we received phone calls confirming visits, which were all precisely on time. Special thanks to Jensen and his associate for doing an excellent job of installing the new system. We appreciate the courtesy and professionalism, as well as taking the time to answer questions and explain things as they went along. Also special thanks to Bobby (and Vinny). These guys came out to make the house "air tight". They went through all the duct work making sure that everything was sealed as it should be, added new insulation, sealed around all plumbing fixtures, replaced door seals and more. They even took time to replace a broken attic drop panel. They definitely know how to take care of their customers. I would not hesitate to recommend McCullough to friends and family.
Jensen S.
09/17/13
 
Adan Gomez is top notch. He's quick, informed, intelligent, extremely competent and makes things happen. I also very much like that the same person/people return to do continuing service and maintenance which means that the service person knows the previous history, saving much time and aggravation. As always, an excellent experience.
Adan G.
09/15/13
 
I needed to have my home HVAC replaced and chose McCullough to do the work, Jenson and his coworker came out to install and were quick, clean, and polite. They preformed the install in a fast but professional manner and I was very happy with their work. Jenson explained everything they were doing and answered any questions I had regarding their visit. Great employees and I feel they should get credit, really represented their company well. The second part and the installation was the weatherization (sealing house, ducts, and adding insulation) Bobby and Vinny came out the following day and were as equally professional and polite. They worked quickly but also professionally. I was really impressed with two seperate groups of employess that were both a credit to their company. On a side note, I had mistakenly left a bag with some extension cords and a few other items on my porch next to their work equipment, when the crew lest this bag was collected along with their other gear and taen away (honest mistake), a McCullough rep retruned the first thing next morning and brought the bag back and explained what had happened (I didn't even realize it was gone). So far my experience with this company has been great. If their service is always like this then I don't see why I would call anyone else.
Bobby M.
09/13/13
 
I needed to have my home HVAC replaced and chose McCullough to do the work, Jenson and his coworker came out to install and were quick, clean, and polite. They preformed the install in a fast but professional manner and I was very happy with their work. Jenson explained everything they were doing and answered any questions I had regarding their visit. Great employees and I feel they should get credit, really represented their company well. The second part and the installation was the weatherization (sealing house, ducts, and adding insulation) Bobby and Vinny came out the following day and were as equally professional and polite. They worked quickly but also professionally. I was really impressed with two seperate groups of employess that were both a credit to their company. On a side note, I had mistakenly left a bag with some extension cords and a few other items on my porch next to their work equipment, when the crew lest this bag was collected along with their other gear and taen away (honest mistake), a McCullough rep retruned the first thing next morning and brought the bag back and explained what had happened (I didn't even realize it was gone). So far my experience with this company has been great. If their service is always like this then I don't see why I would call anyone else.
Jensen S.
09/13/13
 
McCullough replaced an air conditioner in my house and did extensive insulation work. They were great! They helped me pick the right system for my needs. They were 100% reliable on the entire project. They communicated everything I needed to know. David Renault is one of the best people I have ever had the pleasure of doing business with. I will go back to them for any service I need in the future.
David R.
09/11/13
 
Prompt service when AC quit recently. Their supplier gave wrong part, but Adan stayed on the job until finished. Greatly appreciate it.
Adan G.
09/06/13
 
Our "Comfort Consultant" David Renault was excellent. He inspected the entire house and presented us with options for repair and replacement. He recommended replacing the system, but wasn't aggressive about it. I got the sense he was legitimately concerned with our need for A/C, but also that we were on a budget. He helped us file for rebates with the City of Austin and Texas Gas. The installation was completed within the week. My only critique is the timeline involved in the quality control inspections to wrap everything up. The system was installed the first week of July, but we didn't finish the entire process until today (August 22). Most of this waiting is the bureaucracy involved in scheduling a city inspector. But I'm receiving a substantial rebate, so I guess that's a critique against the dimension of Time, and not McCullough Heating & Air. I highly recommend them.
David R.
08/22/13
 
Our "Comfort Consultant" David Renault was excellent. He inspected the entire house and presented us with options for repair and replacement. He recommended replacing the system, but wasn't aggressive about it. I got the sense he was legitimately concerned with our need for A/C, but also that we were on a budget. He helped us file for rebates with the City of Austin and Texas Gas. The installation was completed within the week. My only critique is the timeline involved in the quality control inspections to wrap everything up. The system was installed the first week of July, but we didn't finish the entire process until today (August 22). Most of this waiting is the bureaucracy involved in scheduling a city inspector. But I'm receiving a substantial rebate, so I guess that's a critique against the dimension of Time, and not McCullough Heating & Air. I highly recommend them.
David R.
08/22/13
 
A wonderful experience. I started out with 2 vendor quotes...one vendor gave me "a great deal" as he called it with the standard city rebate; and McCullough gave me the same pricing the whole list of city rebates available if I weatherized my home (making the home more efficient, which reduced the size of unit I needed & I still will have smaller electric bills)...that made the decision easy. All McCullough employees are very professional, courteous and informative.
David R.
08/02/13
 
adan as usual, was professional, knowledgable and took care of all the issues i had. he goes beyond to solve a problem and leaves everything in place and clean when he's done. a rarity in service these days.
Adan G.
07/30/13
 
The service technician Adan was prompt and knowledgeable. He diagnosed the problem to a simple mistake made during installation by McCulluough, and fixed it no charge.
Adan G.
07/26/13
 
I would like to thank the staff again especially Tony for having the knowledge and making things easy! As for myself as a customer to know exactly what unit & product that I needed to be installed Thank you Tony for being very professional And very caring for my family needs . I would recommend McCullough to anyone thank you again ................Rudolph Barba
Tony M.
07/25/13
 
So appreciated the professional service we received from our McCullough technician, Adan. He was knowledgeable, courteous and very helpful. McCullough continues to give us great service and we would highly recommend using Adan for any AC needs.
Adan G.
07/23/13
 
Great company.

07/22/13
 
Adan was very professional, very thorough, very knowledgeable, very informative and helpful, answered our questions. We have used McCullough for over 16 years for our air conditioner needs. Keep up the good work.
Adan G.
07/22/13
 
McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning did a great job!

07/21/13
 
Adan Gamez has always presented himself very courteous and helpful with our situation at hand.

07/20/13
 
Our AC broke down over the weekend. We called on a Sunday and McCullough sent a tech out, Mr. Adan G, to fix our AC. He was courteous, knowledgeable, and experienced. He kept us informed of his findings and let us know about our options.I really like that fact that they carry replacement parts in their trucks to avoid delays in service. Our AC was fixed and cooling within one hour of the tech's arrival. We recommend McCullough Heating & Air.
Adan G.
07/19/13
 
Our air conditioning system went out so we called Mc Cullough. The company s owner, Al D Andrea and his team did an excellent job assessing our problem. They determined our condenser outside was not very old, so all we needed to do was replace the coil inside to have the system fully operational. They also suggested we replace our 20 year old furnace since it is more cost effective to do this work while completing the replacement of the coil. Done. Jimmy from Mc Cullough did an excellent job on the installation; he is so knowledgeable and professional. At no cost, Jimmy even added some additional seals and insulation so the unit runs much quieter than before. I ve been using HVAC companies in Austin for over 19 years, Mc Cullough Heating & Air is by far the best.
Jimmy S.
07/17/13
 
The service department responded immediately and the tech(Robert) arrived right on time. He found the problem in three minutes (in the rain I might add) explained the issue,insured the problem was fixed and did NOT attempt to sell me a part which really wasn't needed to solve the issue. Great service and great response

07/17/13
 
McCullough just installed new AC for me. I love their units - quiet and energy efficient. The service is great at a good price. Plus, I got $3,400 rebate from City of Austin. Tim
David R.
07/16/13
 
Our tech Robert was very courteous and prompt. Calling several time to let us know when he'd completed his previous job and how soon we could expect him. Since it was late at night we really liked knowing when he'd arrive.
Robert B.
07/15/13
 
Comments ok Outstanding !!!!

07/09/13
 
I'm just would like for the Company to know that Jimmy & James are outstanding technicians and lets not forget Denise was very informative and kept me up to date about everything Like for instance time arrival and what to expect very professional very kind and very courteous!!!!!! McCullough Should be very proud of these employees Thank so much !!!! Mr Rudolph A Barba
Jimmy S.
07/08/13
 
I wounld like to compliment James & Jimmy for doing a Fantastic job very Professional and very courteous!!! And lets not forget what a wonderful Job that Denise did to keep me informed of all the Status!!!! she very professional and very sweet person just want to thank her very much for all the help Mcullough sould be very proud of the Personnel they have Again thank you !!!!!
Jimmy S.
07/05/13
 
McCullough is a thoroughly professional company. Sales, installation and service are all top-notch.
Tony M.
07/01/13
 
I recently had an issue with my AC and McCullough came thru once again. They have taken care of my equipment for 6 yrs now. The staff and service crew are awesome. Andrea always comes through, always kind and compassionate and stays on top of things no matter how busy it gets in the office. I have to give so much credit to both Dan and David. They worked tirelessly to fix the problem successfully. In 6 years of dealing with McCullough, I have never been disappointed. Everyone has such a good attitude and it really shows that their customers really matter!!! Great job you guys!!! :-))
Andrea J.
06/25/13
 
Every link in the chain was awesome. The woman on the phone, the estimator, the price, the product, the work crew, the follow up inspections, ... everything. The estimator was so thorough and knowledgeable, I wrote them off as most likely to be the most expensive. They came in under three other estimates, all of which were paltry, negligent, and/or rude in comparison.

06/18/13
 
I am very satisfied with the work perfomed by the top notch professionals at McCullough.

06/17/13
 
I moved into a two-story home that used one central a/c unit to cool both floors. Unfortunately, the upstairs was always about 10 degree s hotter in the summertime. I had several a/c contractors look at my home, but Mc Cullough stood our amongst the rest. Most of the contractors that visited my home didn t even enter my attic space to review my ductwork. Mc Cullough took measurements and performed a top to bottom review of my home cooling/heating system. After the work was complete, my upstairs and downstairs bedrooms stay with 1 degree of each other... amazing!!! Their estimate was fair, and the quality of work was exceptional.
David R.
06/08/13
 
I had some unique air flow issue with hot and cold rooms. Other companies didn't want to solve my problem, they only wanted to sell me a unit. McCullough Heating and Air sent out an expert team to track down the issue and do their best to solve it by moving some duct work in the attic and adding some vents / returns. When it did come time for a new AC unit they were the only people I called. Honest and trust worthy. I fell confident that I purchased the right system for my 2 story house, not too much and not too little. I added the maintenance, tune-up service and could not be happier. Anytime I have an issue, they are right there to help me figure it out. They even installed new temperature control units and carbon monoxide detectors.
Dan H.
06/06/13
 
All HVAC work seems to take longer than I think it will. That said, I'd recommend McCullough every time. Good folks, good work, and fewer surprises than most.

06/06/13
 
Bobby & Jairo did a great job. They double checked every spot that air could flow and worked hard to do so without overly disrupting me or my two cats. Bull was clear about what would happen & how long it would take. The fact the blower broke down wasn't something they could have anticipated. They allowed me to reschedule when I could, waiting over a week to complete the job on my schedule.
Bull.
06/04/13
 
Jairo Valadez and Derek Luna were great. They got here at nine and left at three forty with the job done and the site clean. I would and have recommended McCullough to my family and friends.
Bull.
05/31/13
 
McCullough insulated our attic, sealed our ducts and performed a Comprehensive Air infiltration and Sealing test. From the salesman to the office to the service we could not have been more pleased with the courtesies and dependability of the staff. We will definitely be contacting them when we need HVAC service.
David R.
05/31/13
 
I had several different companies come out to help with the City of Austin Energy Rebate program and David was the most prepared and professional amongst them all. He printed the quote along with all the eligable rebates and went over each line item in detail and explained the entire process including the loan program. The McCullough team did an excellent job on every aspect of the job and went above and beyond our expectations. If there was any question or follow up work that needed to get done they came right out and fixed it to our satisfaction. David has been there the entire step and we felt very lucky to have worked with him and the McCullough team. We highly recommend David and McCullough team for any of your HVAC work, especially new system installations.
David R.
05/13/13
 
Both Dan and Andrea are excellent!!! Andrea was very accommodating when I originally said we were not available in the morning, but still got us in that same morning when I called back 20 minutes later to see if it was still available. I know I probably created extra work, but she graciously made the change for us. Dan is the ultimate technician. He was courteous, knowledgeable, and very thorough. I would have him service our A/C or heating units every time. HE IS GOOD!!!!!
Dan H.
05/11/13
 
My AC stopped working properly on the first hot day this year. I called McCullough and couldn t be more pleased with how everything went. The office staff was pleasant and efficient and Adan, the technician they sent out, was incredible. Adan spent time asking me about my AC and heat then explained that he would evaluate the system and let me know what he found before going further. I m embarrassed to say that the problem turned out to be a battery in my thermostat having a low charge. Adan fixed it quickly at a very reasonable cost and everything has been working well since. While he was there, he looked over the rest of my system to make sure it was cooling properly. What a great experience! I will be calling McCullough for all my air conditioning needs in the future.
Adan G.
05/03/13
 
Over the years I've found McCullough to be the most efficient and hassle-free way to solve my AC problems. Thanks again!

04/18/13
 
The technician was courteous and cleaned up after the work was completed. I highly recommend this company.

04/18/13
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems on this page