McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3589 star rating
(727 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1290 star rating (262 Reviews)
Google
818 star rating (166 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
310 star rating (62 Reviews)
Angie's List
65 star rating (13 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


I can't recommend McCullough highly enough - they were extremely helpful through the entire process from helping select a system that met my needs and fit my budget through a smooth and easy installation. I will definitely use them again.
David R.
12/19/15
 
We needed a new 2-zone heating and AC system for our home. Our old central system was 12 years old, and it did not make sense to sink more money into repairing it. The representative who came out to explain the options on new systems was David R. Fast forwarding a bit, the installation is all done, both the new units, and extra blown in attic insulation. The Carrier system is really quiet, and came with 10 year parts and labor warranty. You know they're confident since they provide a warranty like that. Looking back on the whole process, it's really difficult to imagine a more competent and kind person than David to help us make this decision. On top of that, he's as diligent as can be with the details and questions about installation. You can tell he really wants everything to be done the right way. We can't say enough good things about David, and everyone else from McCullough who came out. I highly recommend them all.
David R.
12/18/15
 
Leslie was very helpful and courteous in setting up my appointment. Adan was very efficient in diagnosing the issue.

12/17/15
 
The furnace problem was intermittent, but Adan Gomez used his knowledge from another customer's issue to determine what was going on. He researched what part he needed to order and what my warranty covered. He will return, no charge, when the part is available.
Adan G.
12/15/15
 
Very professional job.
Zack P., Vinny S., David R.
12/13/15
 
Good
Zack P., Derrick L.
12/12/15
 
Adan came out on a Saturday to check out the a/c & heating units after both thermostats lost power. Professional, friendly and extremely thorough in his work. He even provided system troubleshooting tips after pinpointing the problem. Highly recommend McCullough for their service and excellent staff.
Adan G.
12/12/15
 
I received excellent service and I highly recommend this company.
Jensen S., Vinny S., Ethan G.
12/10/15
 
The furnaces in our 12-year old heating and A/C system (2 zones) needed lots of work. Thinking it did not make sense to spend more on those two systems (and their obsolete R-22 refrigerant), we decided instead to put those funds toward a new system. Everyone we worked with from McCullough has been first rate. David came out to explain the options and prices. Today, Zach and Vinny came out and installed the first system. All were professional and thorough. The next unit goes in tomorrow. Now, for the next 10 years, we don't have to worry about parts or labor -- those are warenteed with the new systems. And, we'll save each month with lower utility bills. We're very happy customers, and highly recommend McCullough.
Zack P., Vinny S.
12/09/15
 
McCullough installed a great heating and cooling system in our house at a very competitive price. Erik B was very thorough in his analysis of our home and in developing several options for replacement. Erik B was very responsive to emails and phone calls and carefully described our options as they applied to the unique features of our house. Derek was very helpful in explaining the installation process and maintenance of the system. Jensen and Vinny did a great job installing the system in a relatively tight space. All of the people I communicated with at McCullough were very polite and considerate - very pleasant people to deal with all around.
Jensen S., Vinny S., Erik B., Bull.
12/09/15
 
Heating and Air technicians Zack and Vinny did an outstanding job in my home removing the old units and installing a new furnace and a new air conditioning unit. I was treated with respect and they were very helpful in answering my questions and giving instructions about how to operate the new digital thermostat functions. They were also very clean and efficient with their time.
Zack P., Vinny S.
12/06/15
 
It took us a long time to make our decision as we probably did too much research, but David R was very patient with us and our questions. When we decided to wait till next season to get everything installed he made sure to stay in contact with us like we asked because we knew when we were ready that McCullough was who to go with. Once we finally made the decision on equipment we had both Jensen and Vinny as the installers. They were both very informative and answered all the questions I had about them doing the install; which was mainly just curiosity on my part. I am very happy with the attention to detail and the checking in with me to make sure all is up to my standards as the customer throughout the entire install. I can definitely recommend them as a whole. Will come back to them when we're ready for our downstairs system!
Jensen S., Vinny S., David R.
12/05/15
 
The whole process starting with the estimate until the final installation went smoothly and everything was done professionally. Your entire staff was great, knowledgeable, friendly and with great work ethics. Thank you

12/05/15
 
We needed to have our Heating/AC units replaced. Had McCullough come out, along with others, to give us an estimate. Tony with McCullough was extremely knowledgeable and professional. He explained everything fully and gave us some recommendations that made total sense. He gave us the estimate and told us about all the rebates we could receive from Austin Energy and Texas Gas Service. He is even going to help with all the paperwork. None of the others even many of the rebates. And one company said we had to check what was available and do it ourselves. Today the system was fully installed, the new duct work done and everything cleaned up. This company has wonderful crews, professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Zach and Derrick did the installation of the system. Great guys who explained the new system to us in words we could understand and they did not condescend to us. Ethan and Armando did all the duct work and were super. We also had more insulation added and Ethan and Armando are doing this. They installed everything and cleaned up after themselves. Great guys also. Armando has only been with the company for a short time so he is not on the website yet. He will be a great asset to McCullough. I would definitely recommend McCullough to everyone without reservation. Wonderful company
Zack P., Derrick L.
12/04/15
 
The crew we're clean quiet and professional,they were aware of any needs or questions that I might have had,no problems with them in my home,I would recommend them to anyone who has air conditioning problems or needs
Jensen S., Vinny S., Ethan G.
12/03/15
 
Great service, responsible, trustworthy, and prompt.
Adan G.
11/29/15
 
Couldn't be more delighted.

11/23/15
 
During my routine pre-winter inspection, Christien found that my heater was fried. He examined in-depth to determine the cause and arranged for estimates for repair vs replacement. It was clear that replacement was needed and the next day, David R. arrived to walk me through the different options and guided me to the unit that would best fit my needs. One week later, Jenson and Vinny did an expert installation and restored heat just in time to beat the cold front that arrived that day. All in all, their service was professional, knowledgable, and their expertise unbeatable. Thank you so much, McCullough and Christien, David R., Jenson, and Vinny!
Jensen S., Christien P., Vinny S., David R.
11/22/15
 
Adan gave my heating system a thorough fall/winter check-up. He is always a very knowledgeable and pleasant man. McCullough should be proud of the way he represents their company.

11/20/15
 
Friendly courteous young men who seemed to know what they were doing. Got the job done ahead of schedule and were careful to clean up afterwards. Very pleased!
Jensen S., Vinny S.
11/20/15
 
adan replaced the return air vent in the ceiling & did an excellent job. he was very careful not to harm the ceiling tiles and as always, he did a wonderful job of cleaning up the area when he completed his work.
Adan G.
11/19/15
 
We feel we received a great value and excellent service. Thank you!

11/13/15
 
McCullough performed a much more thorough inspection than a competitor before providing me with detailed options and rebate information. We hired them to do the work because they seemed more thorough and because we were able to get a lot more done for the same price as the other company quoted us. McCullough replaced ductwork, the compressor and the furnace for around $7500 (including rebates) which is what another company quoted on the compressor only. I appreciate that David came to check on each stage of the project, making sure that each technician was fully informed of the our specific needs (i.e.: which rooms did we have air flow problems with, etc.). McCullough was professional, friendly and efficient, I would definitely recommend them to anyone.
Zack P., Ethan G., David R.
11/12/15
 
Adan Gomez did an excellent job. Not only was he on time and provided a solid inspection of our units, he was also very patient and friendly with my 2.5 year old daughter. She is already looking forward to the next inspection
Adan G.
11/11/15
 
These guys did an awesome job, Jenson and Vinny did the removal of old unit and install of the new one and they did a great job, professional, courteous and very friendly. I think the area they worked was cleaner when they left than when they started
Jensen S., Vinny S.
11/11/15
 
Execellent work as usual by Adan!
Adan G.
10/28/15
 
Terrible company. I needed a new thermostat installed and said that on the phone when I ordered the service. I was told it would cost 75$ which seemed reasonable then when the guy shows up he says that is the price to "look at it." and it would cost an additional 150$ to change the termostat. After working on it without a single bit of communication he reinstalls my old thermostat and says he'll cut me a break and only charge me 163$ total because he tried but couldn't get the new one installed and working. So now I have the exact same set up that i already had and I'm out 163. Terrible communication up front and during install. Highly unprofessional
David M.
10/27/15
 
Zach P. - came out to install my new Carrier system. He was very professional, and thoughtful... Very knowledgable. He worked very professionally with his co-worker (Jensen)... I could immediately tell that I was in great hands. Once I saw how competent and committed to quality these guys were, this further inspired me to go on and get the extended warranty coverage that had been introduced to me by David R. what a quality bunch of folks -- I kept looking for something to be disappointed in regarding my experience with McCullough H&A and it NEVER happened... Thank you for having such quality team members - this makes it so easy for me as a customer... It has taken me a little while to put forth the effort to provide feedback, due to being ill for a while and other life events getting in the way... However, I was committed to complete these reviews because it is IMPORTANT for your company to know, in my words how grateful I am for the experience I had with this company... I feel exactly the same about Jensen (Zach's collegue) and will be copying this review into an independent review for him as well... Thank you both so much for your professional service. Sincerely - In Gratitude, Cassandra Cooper
Zack P.
10/27/15
 
Jenson - came out to install my new Carrier system. He was very professional, and thoughtful... Very knowledgable. He worked very professionally with his co-worker (Zach)... I could immediately tell that I was in great hands. Once I saw how competent and committed to quality these guys were, this further inspired me to go on and get the extended warranty coverage that had been introduced to me by David R. what a quality bunch of folks -- I kept looking for something to be disappointed in regarding my experience with McCullough H&A and it NEVER happened... Thank you for having such quality team members - this makes it so easy for me as a customer... It has taken me a little while to put forth the effort to provide feedback, due to being ill for a while and other life events getting in the way... However, I was committed to complete these reviews because it is IMPORTANT for your company to know, in my words how grateful I am for the experience I had with this company... I feel exactly the same about Zach (Jensen's collegue) and will be copying this review into an independent review for him as well... Thank you both so much for your professional service. Sincerely - In Gratitude, Cassandra Cooper
Jensen S.
10/27/15
 
David R. - Was my Comfort Consultant - Expert that came out to talk to me about my needs for a new central air system... I was put off a bit (in a possitive way) by his professionalism, knowledge, kindness and patience in comparrison with many other folks in the industry representing several different companies. David stood out from the crowd... I never felt pressure, I only felt comfortable, trusting, and his unique interest in making sure that my needs were met. Yes, I even had lower bids and I had limited funds to work with...However, I realize that customer service is key for these types of investments. I felt very comfortable moving forward to do business with David R., who represents McCullough Heating & Air in an exceptional way. David - Thank you for caring about people and respecting customers. Your kindness, reliability and professionalism shines through and I really appreciate that. It will take you and your company far. Sincerely - In Gratitude, Cassandra Cooper
David R.
10/27/15
 
The phone support as well as the field-service and consultant is an all around 5-STAR operation! Thank you so much... Cassandra Cooper

10/27/15
 
This service technician (Adan Gomez) has worked in our home on several occasions. He does a great job, is pleasant, on time, and explains the work he has done before he leaves.
Adan G.
10/21/15
 
Very satisfied with the company and Adan - the technician that performed the required work. Timely arrival, fair prices, impeccable quality and thoroughness. Every single stage was explained, performed and verified. I strongly recommend them.
Adan G.
10/13/15
 
Adan Took the time to do a comprehensive review of our two furnaces. He identified several issues that needed immediate repair, and several issues to watch for in the future. He was polite, through, and I will ask for him if any further work is required in the Spring. Highly pleased with his work.
Adan G.
10/08/15
 
Very pleased with the service from David R. and Adan G. Both were on time and explained relevant issues in detail. Adan, the repair technician, was able to resolve the one known furnace problem quickly, and discovered other issues with our two furnaces, several of which were critical. He explained the repairs completely, and there were no surprises for time or costs. I would highly recommend McCullough in general, and Adan specifically as a repair tech.

10/08/15
 
Leslie D. did an outstanding job with her customer relations work. She had Adan G. in my area, and wanted him to look at the A/C unit; excellent resource management. Adan G. went above and beyond in finding a pinhole leak in one copper U-tube. Both are outstanding employees, and McCullough has been an excellent company regarding this warranty work. I would certainly recommend this company.
Adan G., Leslie D.
10/08/15
 
McCullough is an outstanding company. I have a 7-year old A/C unit under full warranty, and they made me feel like my unit was as important as someone who just purchased a new air conditioner. Scheduling, customer relations, and the service technicians were super!!!!

10/08/15
 
Great team and great service. They were able to quickly identify an unforeseen problem in an AC install and fixed it. Very happy!!
Zack P.
10/04/15
 
Vinny did a great job installing our new heat pump. Friendly, tidy, and great attitude.
Vinny S.
10/03/15
 
Fantastic!!

10/03/15
 
Great Team! Professional, courteous, on time and very very reliable!!!
Jensen S., Sade R., David R.
10/02/15
 
Your employees, David and Jensen made certain to put our needs and concerns first. Best Customer Service.

09/30/15
 
My wife and I were very pleased with the professional service we received from consultation to installation of our unit. David and Jensen were very thorough and personable throughout the entire process. We would recommend McCullough Heating and Air to our family and friends. Thank you, David and Jensen for putting the customer first.
David R., Jensen S.
09/27/15
 
After 30 years in our home, it was time to replace our AC/Heating unit... in mid JUNE!!. I did my homework, research and asked for three different quotes. First quote took a quick look (15 minutes max), quoted an unbelievably low price and said we didn't need new duct work (which is original to the house)! But he could recommend a sub-contractor for that if we really wanted it! :- ( The second quote, came, took a quicker look and I never heard back from him. (AC unit must have scared him off..it was 20 years older than him) THEN.... David (from McCullough, of course) showed up. He was a man on a mission.... to get us taken care of. He must have been here over an hour and a half. Explained everything he found, why he was recommending certain things, what we could expect regarding possibility of some needed improvements to meet COA codes (remember, our house is early 70's) and then what type of rebates we could expect. We asked questions, he answered them all. We chose to go with the 'whole house' option because we had decided in advance we would be insulating - so with this option McCullough did it for us! Overall the entire experience was AWESOME!! David took care of all the paperwork and scheduling of inspections, etc needed for the rebates. He was available all the time and was even here to do some of the actual "work" when needed. We started with David and he was here for us through the very last day...and I know he had other customers! But we were treated like the most important one...how often does that happen? In addition, McCullough does not use sub-contractors for their AC/Heater install and work. Jensen and Sade were the "leads" on the over all installation of our unit. Their first day here, they showed up early, and stayed until the job was done...after 10:00 because this old house gave them some trouble. But they stuck with it and we slept in a cool house for the first time in YEARS!!!! (My solar screens were done by a non-McCullough person, but I was informed of this in advance - I was totally okay with that!) The duct work and insulation crew was amazing as well....very courteous and mindful of my dogs and that fact that I work from home. Russell, one of the "company" inspectors, checked everything to ensure the COA inspection would go through without problems. And sure enough, it went great! We have received all our rebates, and saw savings of over 55-60% on electricity alone on the last two months bills (compared to same months in 2014). Over all, everyone at McCullough excels in providing great customer service..from the receptionist, to sales and installation staff. you will not find better customer service or satisfaction anywhere!
David R., Jensen S., Sade R., Russell S.
09/25/15
 
Zack, Jensen and Derrek in stalled a new A/C in my house and I was very happy with the work and their dedication to do a good job with the customer in mind, would highly recommend them
Zack P.
09/25/15
 
great job would highly recommend McCullough A/C

09/25/15
 
I used McCullough three years ago, Al came during the hottest time recused us with excellent service and a brand new AC. My AC in my new home broke down last week, so I called McCullough again. Tony came out for a quote with very competitive price( the best among all 3 companies I quoted), he also pointed out one flaw in my old system, and took a note to fix it during the new installation.Today, Zack and Derrick came for the installation. They did everything in very professional way, detailed and solid work! After the installation, they cleaned the site very well, and took extra step to fine tune the fan and pressure, now my home is cool and comfortable again. I will recommend them to my neighbors for any AC work.
Zack P., Tony M., Derrick L.
09/23/15
 
I used McCullough three years ago, Al came during the hottest time recused us with excellent service and a brand new AC. My AC in my new home broke down last week, so I called McCullough again. Tony came out for a quote with very competitive price( the best among all 3 companies I quoted), he also pointed out one flaw in my old system, and took a note to fix it during the new installation.Today, Zack and Derrick came for the installation. They did everything in very professional way, detailed and solid work! After the installation, they cleaned the site very well, and took extra step to fine tune the fan and pressure, now my home is cool and comfortable again. I will recommend them to my neighbors for any AC work.
Zack P., Tony M., Derrick L.
09/23/15
 
Hi! Just want to tell you that the guy that came out to install the new a/c was the most awesome technician/worker that I have ever dealt with in my life!!! He was wonderful.
Jensen S.
09/16/15
 
McCullough did a wonderful job installing my new Carrier systems. They were very professional and friendly. I recommend McCullough for any of your AC/Heating needs!
Jensen S., Vinny S., Sade R., Russell S.
08/31/15
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.