McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3589 star rating
(727 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1290 star rating (262 Reviews)
Google
818 star rating (166 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
310 star rating (62 Reviews)
Angie's List
65 star rating (13 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


The service technician was named Kyle, and he arrived before the appointment time, was courteous, knowledgeable, and most importantly, friendly and polite. He was pleasant to interact with, made direct eye contact, and had a smile on his face at all times. Very nice young man, a great representative of the company. Thanks, Kyle.
Kyle S.
05/11/16
 
Kyle was the on-call tech when I called at almost 7pm. He was very friendly and outlined my options very clearly. The charge for an after hours emergency visit was low enough to make it worth it, so Kyle came out and repaired our unit. He arrived about 45 min after my call, took care of the problem in about 30 minutes, and the charge was exactly what he quoted. Very professional and efficient. I couldn't be happier with his service.
Kyle S.
05/11/16
 
I am the DIY type, so I was attempting our best thermostats myself and ran into a little trouble with power. After troubleshooting for an hour, I decided I needed some help to figure out the electrical issue I was having with my thermostat. I called McCullough to help me troubleshoot. The staff were friendly and Christian (tech) was very helpful with helping me diagnose the issue. He was able to get it fixed quickly (blown fuse) and the thermostats up and running. Even though it was late in the evening, he took his time to explain the issue and tips for the future.
Christien P.
05/08/16
 
Robert was fantastic, as was the representative (Rhonda) who helped me on the phone to set up the appointment. Robert did a great job diagnosing the issue on our new energy efficient AC unit (the float plug shorted out). He took the time to explain the issue to me and shared tips on how to prevent it in the future.
Robert M.
05/06/16
 
Adan was very proficient and worked diligently to get my heating and air units in working condition. I recommend him highly, and certainly believe he is a top performer for your company. Thank you for sending him.
Adan G., Tevin H.
05/06/16
 
Robert M. is the most friendly and personable, thorough but efficient, and professional service technician we've had to our house yet! :) He was just here a few minutes ago to provide maintenance on our air conditioner and associated goodness and to replace a couple of things that needed it. Great work!
Robert M.
05/05/16
 
Ethan and Armando were very Professional, friendly, on time and efficient with changing out the AC unit, along with his co-workers. I highly recommend McCullough Heating & AC
Ethan G.
05/05/16
 
Ethan and Armando were very Professional, friendly, on time and efficient with changing out the AC unit, along with his co-workers. I highly recommend McCullough Heating & AC.
Sade R.
05/05/16
 
Kyle S. was very good.
Kyle S., Tevin H.
05/04/16
 
We have done business with McCullogh heating and air for 20 years. Can't tell you how happy my husband and I are with this company. We needed to get a new air conditioner . We were told today 8:30-9:00am. Zack and Vinny were not only on time they were early. They were very nice and polite. Very patient , my dogs barked the whole time and neither Zack or Vinny seemed to mind. I was explained to on how to work my new unit. Zack did such a good job showing me I didn't have to ask any questions. Best of all can't tell anyone was here. Not a piece of tape , cardboard was left. This was a great experience. I would recommend them to anybody.
Zack P., Vinny S.
05/03/16
 
Derrick and Vinny were recently at our home to do an extensive Air Conditioning repair. We were very pleased with their friendliness, the quality of the repair and the cleanup as well. I would also like to mention that Adan who diagnosed the repair issue and Jensen(Justin) who visited to plan the repair in advance were also very pleasant and nice to deal with as well.
Derrick L.
05/03/16
 
Robert was prompt and very courteous on his appointment. He evaluated the performance and produced a complete analysis of the status and suggested installing a starter kit to help extend the life of the system and improve the electrical consumption, Always have had a good experience with McCullough.
Robert M.
05/03/16
 
Robert was cordial and knows what he is doing and talking about
Robert M.
05/02/16
 
Adan was very proficient and worked diligently to get my heating and air units in working condition. I recommend him highly, and certainly believe he is a top performer for your company. Thank you for sending him.
Adan G.
04/30/16
 
Robert is a great guy, very friendly and really knowledgeable. He came to our house on time and diagnosed our problem we thought was with the thermostat. It turned out to be a clogged drain line which is not covered under warranty, but Robert told me that Russell said to not charge us. That's great service!!! McCullough installed a new central AC for us last year and they did a professional job with very little disturbance to us. Dealing with them has really been easy for us. I would recommend them and especially Robert!!
Robert M.
04/29/16
 
Service technician Robert M. was both excellent in the annual maintenance steps but took time to explain a few valuable things, in particular the need to keep up with cleaning the drain hoses that for my property are very old. I now have a technique for monthly cleaning for the next year to insure longer use of the plumbing and no unnecessary service calls. He discussed a few other helpful understandings in regulating my system and managing it in the coming expected hot & humid summer here in Austin. Always have had good service and relations with McCullough, including timely calls and text messages for house calls. Thanks much, Robert!
Robert M.
04/28/16
 
Robert arrived on time and was very Professional and upbeat and efficient with changing out the condenser in one of our AC units. I highly recommend McCullough Heating & AC.
Robert M.
04/27/16
 
Ethan & Armondo did an excellent job. They were courteous, cleaned up after their work, answered my questions and made sure our cooling issue was solved. Thanks to their excellent work we now have air coming through the vents in the kitchen after many years of not having it and other companies not fixing the problem in the past.
Ethan G., Armando M.
04/26/16
 
It was a pleasure working with Robert. He arrived promptly, was knowledgable and up beat, and was able to quickly diagnose the issue with my set thermostat. Thanks!
Robert M.
04/24/16
 
Ethan, Zack, Vinnie, and Armando... these guys showed up at our house and worked their butts off for two days... great job, very professional, personable, clean, and efficient. Tony and Jensen were also helpful and knowledgeable. We're very happy with the job they did, and with our new A/C system. Glad we went with McCullough!
Zack P., Vinny S., Ethan G., Armando M., Tony M., Jensen S.
04/22/16
 
Ethan, Zack, Vinnie, and Armando... these guys showed up at our house and worked their butts off for two days... great job, very professional, personable, clean, and efficient. Tony and Jensen were also helpful and knowledgeable. We're very happy with the job they did, and with our new A/C system. Glad we went with McCullough!
Zack P.
04/22/16
 
Zack and Derrick of McCullough Heating & Air conditioning provided excellent service during their install of a mini-split unit at my home. Afterwards, they cleaned up. Thanks to Zack.
Zack P.
04/22/16
 
Adan Gomez has been servicing my system installed by McCullough for years. Arrives on time, friendly, great attention to detail, system always works flawlessly when he is done.
Adan G.
04/21/16
 
Robert with McCullough Heating and Air was professional, personable and did an excellent job of servicing my system and advising me of its condition and age. He did an excellent job.
Robert M.
04/21/16
 
Robert came to the house in a timely manner and checked out our system. He explained everything very clearly and did an excellent job. Would recommend
Robert M.
04/20/16
 
Robert was very efficient and friendly. He answered all questions and explained procedures he was performing for clarification.
Robert M.
04/15/16
 
On time and worked efficiently!
Ethan G., Armando M.
04/14/16
 
Had to get my Cooling system inspected and serviced to prepare my house for sale. Called McCullough on a recommendation. Honestly, I felt like I was being steadily upsold on a house I am trying to sell. The post-inspection recommendation was to charge the freon. Never had a problem with the unit and I feel like if I called someone tomorrow I would get the same "freon" diagnosis so that these companies can make their margin on freon sales. The technician was friendly, fast and competent. The price for 3.5 lbs of freon was astronomical, but the technician (Robert M) was solid, no concerns with him.
Robert M.
04/13/16
 
When our air conditioning went out, we inquired with another company first. The price for them to fix it was astronomical. Apparently I needed this, this and this. I then saw that McCullough would give a free second opinion. Adan came out and I quickly found out that I only needed about half of what the other company was telling me. McCullough came back yesterday and they were very thorough and fixed the issue. I highly recommend Adan as he was very professional and respectful of my home, always putting down carpets and mats in order to not scratch the floors. Call McCullough. You won't be disappointed.
Adan G.
04/13/16
 
Excellent, professional, dedicated. Evert hinges you would ever want or need in a service. McCullough should be very proud of this crew. I would recommend them to anyone.
Zack P., Derrick L., Vinny S., Sade R.
04/07/16
 
Adan G. came out from McCullough Heating & Air. First he came out on April 1, 2016 and diagnosed the problem. A part had to be ordered. When the part came in, the company called and rescheduled with me promptly. The technician, Adan, then cam back on April 6, 2016 and installed the HVAC fan motor, checked the system thoroughly, and replaced the thermostat because the one that was there would not connect to WiFi. Everything was replaced and all is working great. I must say that the tech. was extremely conscientious to make sure that everything was working properly. I would definitely recommend him and McCollough to others.
Adan G.
04/06/16
 
On time and great work. Left areas clean.
Robert M.
04/04/16
 
Kyle came by this morning (promptly on time) to do a spring A/C service. He had his hands full as we have three systems, two of which are quite old. From pulling on his "booties" every time he entered our home to answering all my questions on these aging systems Kyle was very professional. I learned a lot about how I can improve these systems' efficiency. Looking forward to seeing him in the fall.
Kyle S.
04/04/16
 
Kyle was prompt, thorough and totally professional. Excellent service!
Kyle S.
04/02/16
 
AC went out during storm. Technician was on-site within 2 hours. Reviewed/verified systems and installed a surge-suppressor just-in-case this happened again.
Kyle S.
04/01/16
 
I am very happy with the visit that Robert M. of McCullough paid to the residence of my former employer Hafez F. Farmayan. He was very thorough in his duties and pleasant in his demeanor. I would personally recommend the company to anyone. I know my former employer was extremely satisfied with the services that McCullough had provided for over 30 years.
Robert M.
03/31/16
 
Christian was on time for the Spring AC maintenance, and explained what he was doing to my satisfaction. He was professional in his approach, but personable. Performed the Spring servicing of the AC units quickly and made several recommendations. I strongly feel that the cost of one pound of refrigerant was EXTREMELY high, especially for someone on their maintenance program, but Christian does not set the prices, that is a corporate decision. Very pleased to have him back in the future.
Christien P.
03/31/16
 
Kyle's visit for spring inspection was exemplary in every respect. He was careful to give feedback several times as he went through the procedure. He also took care of extra details like making sure he'd locked the back door, etc. All in all, a perfect example of an inspection. Thank you, Kyle!
Kyle S.
03/30/16
 
Service that the two jentleman gave me today, it was outstanding, very good work, I appreciate them so much, very recept full and just nice two young men, I would recommend them in a heart beat. Their name is: Zack/Derrick.
Derrick L., Zack P.
03/29/16
 
My service professionals were Zack, Derrick, and Vinny (and Tony did the initial consultation). They were all prompt, knowledgeable, cheerful, and efficient. I had a lot of work done on my A/C system, insulation, etc to get city rebates, and the guys seemed to know their stuff. Looking forward to seeing how the final evaluation goes. Oh, and the people in the office were also very patient and easy to work with regarding financing, even though I had to get a lender they don't usually work with. Really good company.
Zack P., Derrick L., Vinny S.
03/27/16
 
Robert Morales was here on time and started his work immediately. He explained every aspect of what he was doing very thoroughly and completely. Both inside and out, he took the time to to show me exactly what he was doing as he showed me the the various readings on the compressor and explained their significance concerning the operation of the system. As a result of his inspection, Robert recommended replacing the start kit due to its age and current performance. There was never any arm twisting or any pressure to purchase the kit --- he said it was OK to wait if we wanted to. He also demonstrated how to clean the compressor coils to reduce strain on the unit and improve its performance. I would be very happy to have him as our regular service technician. This is the kind of person you should have in your company. Since we purchased our first McCullough unit ( the one we have now), we have had nothing but good service.
Robert M.
03/26/16
 
Always 5 stars to McCullough for their professional, courteous staff and for Adan being my service tech for the annual HVAC check. They installed a complete new unit, along with replacing all my duct work several years ago and have had them service the unit ever since. Adan is efficient and thorough and just a generally nice guy. I think McCullough is one of the most trustworthy companies out there.
Adan G.
03/25/16
 
Great service and answered any questions I had.
Robert M.
03/24/16
 
Kyle delivered a quality service. He knows his stuff. McCullough Heating and Air has been able to service all my needs each and every time. Thanks for a job well done.
Kyle S.
03/24/16
 
My Carrier Infinity heat pump's periodic inspection was performed by Adan Gomez. He arrived on time, knew what he was doing, and worked efficiently. He noticed that when he cranked the A/C to maximum cooling, the outdoor unit's vibration resonated noisily with the platform on which it's mounted. On his own initiative, and at no charge, he installed four isolation pads, solving the noise problem.
Adan G.
03/23/16
 
Kyle preformed a Spring check of our Ac/heating units (2). Excellent job !! I need to change the return filters. Done
Kyle S.
03/23/16
 
Robert did our regular HVAC checkup on the system that McCullough installed for us. Robert and the McCullough crew are thorough and have taken great care of our system for us. They also make us aware of things we can do to help keep our system in top working order.
Robert M.
03/22/16
 
Tech was very good on my annual checkup.
Robert M.
03/18/16
 
Davis was great about setting an appointment time good for my schedule - and he didn't keep me waiting. He outlined all the options and made suggestions without any pressure. He coordinated all permits and inspections - I literally did nothing but open the door. Fantastic customer service!
David R.
03/17/16
 
Ethan came both days of the project and like I mentioned in the other reviews - was amazing. He made certain everything was complete and even texted me to let me know when the project was complete so I could get home to meet them. Great job!
Ethan G.
03/17/16
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.