McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3460 star rating
(698 Reviews)
Google
746 star rating (150 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1263 star rating (255 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
285 star rating (57 Reviews)
Angie's List
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Our air conditioner went out Friday night at 8pm. I phoned the office around 9pm, and was surprised to reach a person! It was the service tech and he scheduled us for the very next day. Our air conditioner was blowing cold air by 1pm the next day!! I've been using McCullough for about two years and their service has always been wonderful. Will continue to use them for all our air conditioning needs in the future, I highly recommend McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning. Thank you, McCullough!
Adan G.
08/06/16
 
I would like to recommend McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning and the fine gentlemen that came to our house to check our old air conditioner and then replace it with a new one. Zack, Mark, and Mike as well as Jensen (the inspector) worked endlessly for 2 days in the 100 degree Texas weather and in the attic which was even hotter. They were always kind, professional and respectful of our time schedule and could not have been nicer. We were very happy with their work.
Mike d., Zack P.
08/06/16
 
They have always provided prompt, excellent service. The representatives on the phone and on the job have all been responsive, nice, and efficient.
Kyle S.
08/05/16
 
Adam came out and serviced our AC and repaired a part we told him that was not working. He was friendly, explained everything he was doing and is a great representative for the McCullough company. We have used McCullough before and appreciate how friendly all their staff are.
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Have had a great experience with McCullough Heating & Air. My A/C needed to be replaced and both the service (Adam) and sales teams (Tony) were great! They came out quickly, gave honest opinions, and made the process as easy as possible. They even had Adam come back out to do a temporary fix on the old unit for the few days until the new one could be installed, and they did that for free! I will definitely use McCullough again!
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Adam was very professional and persistent in finding our problem. He listened to what we had to say but dug deeper to find the problem in a recent part replacement that was defective from the manufacturer. He told us everything that would be done and left our home cool again while we wait for the new part. And by the way, I appreciate how the techs with this company cover their shoes to protect the floors from dirt. My son initially recommended them as he is in an industry that knows which companies are honest & reliable.
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Really nice guys. They were quick, clean and efficient with the install. Very impressed . The lady at the office was very sweet as well.
Vinny S., Zack P.
08/05/16
 
I was quite pleased with the responsiveness. In addition, when the tech, Kyle, arrived, he immediately observed the symptom, which was lucky, as once he restarted the system, everything was normal. Consequently, he spent rest of the time checking all parameters and waiting to see if the failure would repeat. He finally diagnosed the problem to the circuit breaker, which got quite hot, and I called the electrician to replace. That did fix the problem, and I'm back enjoying an air-conditioned evening.
Kyle S.
08/02/16
 
Zach , Mark And Mike just finished my install and I must say that I have never in my 30 years of service industry work have I met a more thorough and efficient crew !! They walked me through all the steps to the final check over and I have never felt so confident as I do now that the job was done to 110%!! Thanks goes to the owner for having such great employees!!
Zack P.
08/02/16
 
Kyle did complete inspection on our AC unit. With this inspection he found that a particular part needed to be replaced and he did this. He was very courteous and professional..
Kyle S.
07/30/16
 
I have an older a/c unit and came home from work to the a/c blower going full-blast, "cooling" my house to 89 degrees. Something wasn't right! I asked my neighbor for an a/c company reference and he gave me McCullough's contact info. Since it was 5 p.m., I was not sure I would be able to get somebody out, but the phone representative was friendly and said that there was somebody at another job site nearby. He said the technician could be at my house within the hour. Both the representative and the service technician, Kyle, called about 30 minutes later. The office called to let me know that the prior job was taking a little longer than anticipated but the service technician would be there as soon as he was finished with the prior job. Kyle called shortly thereafter to say he was on his way. Kyle checked out both units (one in the garage and one outside) and determined that the problem was ants. I had heard of this before, but had never had this happen to my a/c. He had the necessary part with him and quickly replaced the part, ran some diagnostic tests on my a/c unit, and said everything else checked out okay. We discussed replacement options since it is an older unit, and he said he could have the office setup a time to meet with me to discuss options to improve efficiency and/or replacement of the equipment. I am extremely pleased that the company was so accomodating, after 5 p.m., and found Kyle to be an extremely efficient, forthright and friendly technician (in spite of having to deal with my overgrown backyard!). I will consider McCullough to be my a/c company in the future.
Kyle S.
07/28/16
 
These guys are great! They did a better than excellent job installing my new high tech a/c unit. They came in, did the job, cleaned up, and showed me how to use it. They know what they are doing and helped me every step of the way, from financing and rebates to using the touch screen thermostat. Thank you all so much!
Zack P.
07/26/16
 
McCullough technicians Zack and Mark did an outstanding job in repairing/replacing the coil (as well as the associated electronic sensors and piping) of our upstairs unit; they were thorough and their workmanship was outstanding. In addition, they were courteous and 'neat'. We are very satisfied customers.
Zack P.
07/25/16
 
They came out and solved the problem very fast and with excellent cost. The service rep. was Kyle. He seeded to know what he was doing and very knowledgeable.
Kyle S.
07/20/16
 
Great service by the McCullough Team! Stephanie, Al, Zack and Vinny! Simply put, they did what they said they were going to do, on time, on budget. Zack arrived earlier than the time that was setup and stayed until the job was done completely and satisfactorily! Would recommend these folks to anyone.
Zack P.
07/15/16
 
Outstanding service. Very experienced staff. Very responsive and thorough inspection.
Adan G.
07/12/16
 
Zach was here at 9:00 am and left at 7:15 pm. He installed a new Carrier air/heating system to replace our old one that has quit earlier in the week. He worked through the day and did not even stop for a lunch break. Zach explained the new thermostat and the rest of the changes. The house was cool and comfortable before he left. He cleaned up every bit and debris and even loaded a little window unit that our daughter had loaned us. We have used McCullough for years and are glad we called them to put in our new unit.
Zack P.
07/09/16
 
Josh was great. He arrived quickly after we called and had our air conditioner working in approx. 10 minutes. He even checked for warranty on a replaced part. He was efficient, knowledgeable and very professional. I would recommend McCullogh and Josh to my neighbors.
Josh G.
07/07/16
 
Jensen, Sadé, and Derrick put our new A/C in just in the nick of time! They did a great job, were super professional, and clean!! We highly recommend these guys!! --not sweating anymore in Lago Vista
Sade R., Derrick L., Jensen S.
07/07/16
 
Josh was absolutely superb. Thorough, knowledgeable, and friendly. I highly recommend McCullough and wish we would have switched to them earlier. AAAA
Josh G.
07/02/16
 
They were punctual, professional, hardworking, no lunch break in order to complete job in a timely fashion. Very polite and accommodating.
Sade R.
07/01/16
 
Great service technician. Very knowledgeable, courteous and helpful in setting up my wifi access.
Kyle S.
06/30/16
 
We have had McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning service our central air for the past five years. All of their service personnel do a great job. We just had McCullough replace our central air and everyone from Tony at sales, Rhonda in the office, and Zack, Mark, and Vinny who installed the system did a great job. I was amazed at how hard the crew worked, how clean they were, and Zack as the team lead would not leave the job until my wife and I were completely satisfied. They answered all our questions and went above and beyond to make sure the job was done right. If you want a new central air system get a quote from them and then ask for Zack as the lead installer. You will not regret your decision to use McCullough!
Vinny S., Zack P., Tony M.
06/30/16
 
Kyle showed up right at 8am (on time). He was efficient and thorough. Thanks.
Kyle S.
06/29/16
 
It has now been three weeks since Jensen, Sade, and Armondo installed our new Carrier AC system and we are VERY HAPPY with the results of their efforts. We had both the outside unit, the furnace unit and all the plenum duct above the furnace replaced. Some old damaged duct work was also replaced and a new larger duct line was run to the room used as our home office. These three individuals arrived on time first thing in the morning and EFFECIENTLY went about the task at hand. I observed them all day and never saw them take a break for more than a few minutes for a drink or light snack. Each was PROFESSIONAL and SKILLED in their task, very COURTIOUS and patiently answered all my questions. The end results of all their efforts could not be any more EFFECIENT, NEAT and TIDY. They THOROUGHLY CLEANED and picked up at the end of the day, loaded up and hauled off the old equipment and the removed ductwork and other remnants. After his full day of work Jensen PATIENTLY went through the operating procedures for the new thermostat and made sure we had no more questions before leaving. I am very IMPRESSED and SATISFIED with these three professionals and their work. I am EQUALLY IMPRESSED and SATISFIED with David who came out and inspected our old system and gave us three estimates to consider depending on what level of system we chose. He explained all the variables to the choices and it was his suggestion to run the larger duct to our office room which has made it argueably the coolest room in our house.
Armando M., Sade R., Jensen S.
06/29/16
 
Vinny S and Zack P were determined to solve a long term problem with our air. They kept at it for four hours and it has worked perfectly every since. Much Thanks to a supper team. Jack
Vinny S., Zack P.
06/29/16
 
Zack did en outstanding job , clean, efficient, very informative 10 out of 10 , would recommend to any body!
Zack P.
06/28/16
 
on time, very efficient...great communication...already feels cooler... really very pleased.
Armando M., Ethan G.
06/27/16
 
Adan came to our rescue from the first bought of 95 degree days when he found a leak in our a/c coil and refilled the compressor with coolant to keep us cool until the new cil arrived. Zack and Vinny were professional and personable when they came to replace our a/c coil. And they all were attentive and engaging with our 4 year old and his many questions/comments.
Adan G.
06/23/16
 
Adan came to our rescue from the first bought of 95 degree days when he found a leak in our a/c coil and refilled the compressor with coolant to keep us cool until the new cil arrived. Zack and Vinny were professional and personable when they came to replace our a/c coil. And they all were attentive and engaging with our 4 year old and his many questions/comments.
Zack P.
06/23/16
 
We first used McCullough Heating and Air to install our new HVAC system in 2011. I was impressed with their service and the intelligent, informative, respectful way they worked with their customers. We continued on with their yearly service contract and have been very pleased with that as well. Today a young man named Kyle took care of our AC tune up and as expected, provided stellar customer service. I'm very glad we found McCullough through the Austin Energy program and we will continue to look to them for any HVAC needs.
Kyle S.
06/21/16
 
Kyle did a great job of diagnosing the problem and going over options and cost with us. Very professional and he called the manufacturer for us to see if the part we needed was still under warranty since our home is a little over 4 years old. It was and we appreciated his doing that for us. This company was recommended by my son who previously knew of them having worked for Champion Construction Co. He said they have a good reputation. Kyle was professional, courteous and very informative. Also received a call from the company to let me know that they were ordering the part and when to expect a next visit for the install. Great customer service, no complaints here.
Kyle S.
06/20/16
 
Could not have been happier with the friendly professional service provided by the entire McCullough team of Vinny, Mark, Ethan, Tony, Bull, and Mark. Thorough, thoughtful, knowledgeable, and provided a high level of service throughout the entire process. It was noticed and appreciated. Thank you
Armando M., Ethan G., Vinny S., Tony M., Bull.
06/17/16
 
We use McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning to service our home A/C system. They stop by in the Fall/Spring and make sure things run well. They offer a two year warranty on parts and labor. They are honest and stand by their work. When it is time to replace our A/C system we will have them do the work. Ask for service by Zack P. He does a great job!
Zack P.
06/16/16
 
AC Installers did a nice job installing a new system in my home.
Sade R., Derrick L.
06/16/16
 
McCullough always delivers superior service and their technician Adan has been servicing our home for over 11 years and we are very pleased with his diagnostic capability and cheerful attitude.
Adan G., Tevin H.
06/16/16
 
First time to use McCullough A/C services. Problem was diagnosed Saturday but technician did not have the part for the repair -- had to get from A/C manufacturer. Kyle just completed the repair (arrived on time within the window given) and some maintenance work. Awesome job; the house is cooling once again. Much needed on these hot summer days! Thank you, Kyle!
Kyle S.
06/15/16
 
Russell doing a great job.
Russell S.
06/14/16
 
We have used McCullough HVAC for a few years and Adan is prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. Thank you for your hard work!!
Adan G.
06/14/16
 
Adan just left my home after diagnosing and resolving my ac unit issue. He was very professional and informative. Thank you Adan
Adan G.
06/14/16
 
ON time, clean, efficient - great service call
Kyle S.
06/14/16
 
Rapid response when a/c compressor fan started failing. Pleasant service pro. Problem fixed with new motor on time. Answered questions.
Kyle S.
06/13/16
 
A.C. went out on us Friday night. Call in for help on Saturday. Robert M. arrived at 4 and did his best to get us going, unfortunately he didn't have the part we needed with him. Kudos to Robert for his efforts. Ended up using my home warranty company for the repair. McCullough never called me back to follow up on the repair. Not very happy with that.
Robert M., Tevin H.
06/13/16
 
The HVAC employee was right on time, very courteous, very thorough, and I was very pleased with him.
Robert M.
06/13/16
 
Very courteous and professional receptionist (Ronda) took my call as I reported my 3 yr old A/C system simply had quit cooling the previous evening (a Thursday). She advised would have a service tech. out to check on things by end of day (Fri.) and the tech. arrived same day by 3:30pm uniformed and in a marked truck following an alert call from Ronda that he was on his way from his previous service call. Service tech was polite, professional and asked a few pertinent questions, quickly did his checks and diagnosed the problem (failed capacitor) and replaced it from parts stock on his truck and had our unit cooling again almost immediately. Tech then tested both inside and outside units for proper operation before departing to his next call. What more could one ask? We went from a miserably hot humid night & day to comfortable, cool air and in very fast response on a very busy hot summer day. Five star experience for me. Recommended.
Adan G.
06/13/16
 
Robert M. came after hours, diagnosed my problem and got us running again. He was diligent, thorough, professional, courteous, and.quick. He did a great job outlining the problem in terms I could understand. Highly recommended.
Robert M.
06/12/16
 
McCullough Heating & Air installed our air condoning system 6 years ago and we've had them to the seasonal checks ever since. We have always been impressed with the professionalism of their service techs. Our most recent service was performed on Thursday, June 9th. Robert was excellent. He explained everything he was going to do and gave us a thorough written and oral explanation of the work that he did.
Robert M.
06/10/16
 
Robert M. did a great job tuning up my A/C system. He was very helpful in resetting my WiFi for the Carrier system. He was polite and thorough. When I need service again, I will request that Robert be the tech. Very happy with my new Carrier system and McCullough Heating and Air. The new Carrier is cooling the house great and my electric bills are lower!
Robert M.
06/10/16
 
Kyle s. was great polite and understanding of his job thumbs UP!!! for Kyle and the McCullough team Thanks a bunch. Dennis and family.
Kyle S., Tevin H.
06/09/16
 
We have had our service contract with more color for three years. They came out to replace our AC unit. It was on and the holiday weekend in the summer. Memorial day weekend. And it was a very hot year. We went down on a Friday. They came out with temporary units to get us through the weekend. Then installed a new air-conditioning and heating unit. They have been very prompt and their servers and very professional. Everything you would want from my heating and AC company.
Kyle S.
06/07/16
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.