McCullough Heating & Air
2620 Buell Ave., Austin, TX 78757
Phone: 512-280-0011
Website: www.CoolMeNow.com

Leading Central Texas provider of residential heating and air conditioning service, repair, replacement and energy conservation services.
Our names from Scotland but our home's in Austin.

McCullough Heating & Air - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3589 star rating
(727 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1290 star rating (262 Reviews)
Google
818 star rating (166 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
310 star rating (62 Reviews)
Angie's List
65 star rating (13 Reviews)
Facebook
240 star rating (48 Reviews)
Yelp
585 star rating (119 Reviews)
Judy's Book
201 star rating (41 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yahoo
60 star rating (12 Reviews)
Citysearch
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period McCullough Heating & Air has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Adam M. of McCullough Heating & Air arrived on time, was very professional. He explained thoroughly the problem he found with AC unit. Identified the work to fix the problem and provided information to follow up if problem accurred again. Great customer service!
Adam M.
09/14/16
 
Kyle was just great. The man who did my install years ago is a good guy and I am loyal. But the last two times (incl this time) he never called me back. And the last time I ended up with another lone wolf and it was a goat f%@k. Stop messing around with lone wolf HVAC repair techs working out of their homes (not that there's anything wrong with that) and go with a real company that answers the phone, returns your calls and gets some one out FAST for repairs. No $250 flat service fee charged up front just to come out either, it's an $89 diagnostic fee. Parts prices include labor to install and they are very fair. I googled the parts to be installed and there wasn't that much difference from their installed price and the price to buy it online. I bought the 1 year service contract which brings them out twice a year to check/service heat in the fall and AC in the spring, PLUS it gets you a discount on EVERYTHING, fees, parts, labor ...Kyle had mentioned this service as a matter of course and it pleased him when I added it at the end. Savings were applied on the spot to this total job. Kyle thoughtfully pointed out a couple things I should consider doing but at no time was there any hard sell. I chose one (regulator on outside unit) to do now and will have the other (float sensors) done when he come back in the spring. I'm not planning on using any other company again.
Kyle S.
09/13/16
 
Fast, friendly service. Kyle was great!
Kyle S.
09/12/16
 
The compressor in the 16 year old unit that serves our bedrooms went out at the end of August. We obtained estimates from three AC service firms, but Heidi with McCullough stood out from the rest as she collected the most details during her visit. She inspected the unit, the wiring, the duct work and each one of the returns and vents. She took precise measurements and asked specific questions about our experience with the system. Heidi presented us with numerous replacement options and answered many questions, even responding to them throughout one evening past midnight. Heidi was fair and flexible on pricing. We ultimately selected a two stage Carrier Performance unit. Heidi and the installation team, consisting of Zack, Mark and Mike, arrived on time. Valuable, additional expertise came in the mid afternoon when Jensen arrived. The job was long and demanding with final completion at 9PM. The team never slowed and always took time to explain their progress and answer our questions. Cleanup was excellent. We just had one of our most restful night's sleep in weeks and are very pleased with the equipment and the installation. We understand a new HVAC system is only as good as its installation. We salute the professionalism and the high quality work delivered to us by this McCullough team. Great job.
Mike d., Heidi C., Mark L., Zack P., Jensen S.
09/10/16
 
This is the second time I've used McCullough to service my a/c, and both time I've had a great experience with them. Adam was the service tech that came out and was very professional and courteous. He was very knowledgeable and handled my problem quickly and accurately. He was very pleasant and answered all concerns and questions I had. He's definitely an asset to your company and just strengthened my trust in McCullough!
Adam M.
09/05/16
 
Saturday night at 7:15pm in August my tenants tell me the AC is out. I have tried in the past to find a 24/7 HVAC tech and it usually is a joke. McCullough on the other hand actually has an on call tech. Adam was there after he finished the job he was working on. He quickly assessed the situation and was able to isolate the mechanical issue. One part change and the system was cooling. I was very impressed with Adam and will use McCullough again.
Adam M.
09/05/16
 
Joshua was great! He was professional, timely and took his time to explain the problem to me. He took care of the repair and now the house is feeling cool again. Thanks, Joshua.
Josh G.
09/04/16
 
Kyle arrived on time Friday and quickly identified the source of the problem. He explained clearly to me so that I understood the problem. He said that he did not know if he would be able to locate the motor that needed to be replaced and return on Friday to replace the old motor but would do his best to make that happen. In any event, I would be notified on Friday as to next steps. Kyle was able to locate a motor and returned and replaced the old motor. He tested the other parts of the cooling system and left. Price was as Kyle explained it to me. Kyle was professional, positive, customer oriented and had a strong desire to be helpful.
Kyle S.
09/03/16
 
Adam from McCullough Heating & Air provided excellent service.
Adam M.
09/03/16
 
Adam was wonderful! He was thorough and very quick. He was knowledgeable and was so willing to answer all my questions. A friend used McCullough after hours a couple of weeks ago and was so pleased, we called them when we had an issue. It was sheer luck that Adam worked on both out units and provided such great service! We'd call again in a heartbeat!
Adam M.
09/02/16
 
Adam was courteous, pleasant, and efficient. He swept up a bit of insulation that came down from he attic while he was working up there and kept my floor clean by wearing shoe covers. Thank you Adam!
Adam M.
09/01/16
 
Nothing worse than getting home from work and your AC is out...I called McCullough and they originally said they could have someone out the next day....I asked it it was possible for someone to come out right then and they called Adam who was already at home for the day....I could not believe it when they said he would head back out. Adam showed up about 20 min later diagnosed and fixed it.....Thank you so much Adam for coming to our rescue and not staying on your couch.....I will def. be calling in the future with anything else AC related. Oh and it was only $160.....worth every last $$
Adam M.
08/30/16
 
Our AC was not able to keep up with the TX heat and running constantly during the day. Adam did a great job providing thorough and excellent service to us. I highly recommend McCullough Heating & AC.
Adam M.
08/29/16
 
Your Technician, Robert Morales, recently performed an annual inspection of my air conditioning equipment. Robert was very prompt, professional, personable, and efficient in his performance of his duties. Thank you for your continued excellent service! John L Adan Gomez reported to my home only 2 1/2 hours after I called for A/C service on 8-22-16. He was very knowledgeable about how to proceed with a drain pipe leak and excessive water in the air intake area. He completed the repair within one hour to include vacuuming of the intake area. I was pleased with his expertise. I was not pleased with the costs. John Lederer
Adan G.
08/26/16
 
Zach, Mike and Mark were very professional. Zach went into great detail in explaining our knew Carrier system. I would highly recommend McCullough for a/c and heating. Thank you Zach, Mike and Mark for doing a great job. Thumbs up guy's.
Mike d., Mark L., Zack P.
08/25/16
 
Adan is extremely thorough and did an outstanding job of servicing our units. Thank you Adan!!
Adan G.
08/23/16
 
Adam arrived promptly on Saturday morning, diagnosed the problem quickly, and kept me well informed. Fine service
Adam M.
08/20/16
 
Bull is amazing!!! He is very kind, funny and definitely knows what he is doing. He is very knowledgeable. My review is actually about Ever and Jaff, who come out to my home and did AMAZING work. They were both very nice and a pleasure to be around. They had a lot of hard work to do and did an AWESOME job. The were very detailed and cared about every little thing they were doing. I truly appreciate their hard work to make my house more energy efficient. The whole team at McCullough are so wonderful!!!
Bull.
08/17/16
 
Zach and Mark are professional, courteus and clean. They started the job by putting down drop cloths to protect the floors and keep the mess in my apartment contained. They had the daunting task of removing an ancient, in-ceiling central air unit from above the tub in my bathroom and replacing it with a new unit, which they handled efficiently and effectively. They made sure I was happy with the quality of their work and clean-up before they left. Highly recommend these gents.
Mark L., Zack P.
08/16/16
 
Kyle was very thorough and professional. Fixed our problem quickly and got us cool again.
Kyle S.
08/13/16
 
Our AC went out on Friday and the technician came the same day and diagnosed the problem and repaired the unit with efficiency. He gave a complete explanation of our repair and took the time to show us how the unit works and how to maintain it properly. He also showed us where the main condensation drain line joins the house plumbing. We asked several other technicians in the past and he was the only one who actually showed us where it was. We highly recommend Kyle for his great service and attitude.
Kyle S.
08/13/16
 
(no comment)
Adan G.
08/11/16
 
Showed up early, Adam was friendly, professional and explained in detail what was broken. He even found there was a warranty I didn't know I had and saved me some cash. The people at the office who scheduled the service were also very friendly and accommodating. Based on this experience I would use them again and recommend them.
Adam M.
08/11/16
 
Kyle S. with McCullough Heating and Air did a summer inspection for my two units today. He did an excellent job in figuring out a problem with one of the units. He stuck to it until it was working properly. Thank you so much, Kyle!
Kyle S.
08/10/16
 
Great Service from Adan! Upper AC unit was not working, Adan did a through exploration of the unit. Turns out the unit was meerly turned off accidentally in the attic while another workman (or me!) was up there. Checked coolant pressures while here to ensure everything was OK. We specifically ask for Adan since we like his thoroughness and friendly attitude.
Adan G.
08/09/16
 
A/C went out over the weekend. Made call Monday, service tech Adam there by noon on Tuesday. He was timely, polite and explained the issue and alternatives well.
Adam M.
08/09/16
 
(no comment)
Sade R., Zack P.
08/08/16
 
Adan was flexible with scheduling a quick appointment to check on my A/C, showed up promptly, and diagnosed the problem (as well as another problem that the previous system installers had missed). He seems to have fixed everything, and I appreciated his work!
Adan G.
08/07/16
 
When we arrived home at 8pm (with our two toddlers in tow, mind you) and realized our AC was out, panic ensued. I called McCullough and within the hour, Adan came to the house and diagnosed and fixed the problem with our AC unit. He is most definitely the hero of the day and we will use McCullough for any future heating & AC needs we may have.
Adan G.
08/06/16
 
Our air conditioner went out Friday night at 8pm. I phoned the office around 9pm, and was surprised to reach a person! It was the service tech and he scheduled us for the very next day. Our air conditioner was blowing cold air by 1pm the next day!! I've been using McCullough for about two years and their service has always been wonderful. Will continue to use them for all our air conditioning needs in the future, I highly recommend McCullough Heating & Air Conditioning. Thank you, McCullough!
Adan G.
08/06/16
 
I would like to recommend McCullough Heating and Air Conditioning and the fine gentlemen that came to our house to check our old air conditioner and then replace it with a new one. Zack, Mark, and Mike as well as Jensen (the inspector) worked endlessly for 2 days in the 100 degree Texas weather and in the attic which was even hotter. They were always kind, professional and respectful of our time schedule and could not have been nicer. We were very happy with their work.
Mike d., Zack P.
08/06/16
 
They have always provided prompt, excellent service. The representatives on the phone and on the job have all been responsive, nice, and efficient.
Kyle S.
08/05/16
 
Adam came out and serviced our AC and repaired a part we told him that was not working. He was friendly, explained everything he was doing and is a great representative for the McCullough company. We have used McCullough before and appreciate how friendly all their staff are.
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Have had a great experience with McCullough Heating & Air. My A/C needed to be replaced and both the service (Adam) and sales teams (Tony) were great! They came out quickly, gave honest opinions, and made the process as easy as possible. They even had Adam come back out to do a temporary fix on the old unit for the few days until the new one could be installed, and they did that for free! I will definitely use McCullough again!
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Adam was very professional and persistent in finding our problem. He listened to what we had to say but dug deeper to find the problem in a recent part replacement that was defective from the manufacturer. He told us everything that would be done and left our home cool again while we wait for the new part. And by the way, I appreciate how the techs with this company cover their shoes to protect the floors from dirt. My son initially recommended them as he is in an industry that knows which companies are honest & reliable.
Adam M.
08/05/16
 
Really nice guys. They were quick, clean and efficient with the install. Very impressed . The lady at the office was very sweet as well.
Vinny S., Zack P.
08/05/16
 
I was quite pleased with the responsiveness. In addition, when the tech, Kyle, arrived, he immediately observed the symptom, which was lucky, as once he restarted the system, everything was normal. Consequently, he spent rest of the time checking all parameters and waiting to see if the failure would repeat. He finally diagnosed the problem to the circuit breaker, which got quite hot, and I called the electrician to replace. That did fix the problem, and I'm back enjoying an air-conditioned evening.
Kyle S.
08/02/16
 
Zach , Mark And Mike just finished my install and I must say that I have never in my 30 years of service industry work have I met a more thorough and efficient crew !! They walked me through all the steps to the final check over and I have never felt so confident as I do now that the job was done to 110%!! Thanks goes to the owner for having such great employees!!
Zack P.
08/02/16
 
Kyle did complete inspection on our AC unit. With this inspection he found that a particular part needed to be replaced and he did this. He was very courteous and professional..
Kyle S.
07/30/16
 
I have an older a/c unit and came home from work to the a/c blower going full-blast, "cooling" my house to 89 degrees. Something wasn't right! I asked my neighbor for an a/c company reference and he gave me McCullough's contact info. Since it was 5 p.m., I was not sure I would be able to get somebody out, but the phone representative was friendly and said that there was somebody at another job site nearby. He said the technician could be at my house within the hour. Both the representative and the service technician, Kyle, called about 30 minutes later. The office called to let me know that the prior job was taking a little longer than anticipated but the service technician would be there as soon as he was finished with the prior job. Kyle called shortly thereafter to say he was on his way. Kyle checked out both units (one in the garage and one outside) and determined that the problem was ants. I had heard of this before, but had never had this happen to my a/c. He had the necessary part with him and quickly replaced the part, ran some diagnostic tests on my a/c unit, and said everything else checked out okay. We discussed replacement options since it is an older unit, and he said he could have the office setup a time to meet with me to discuss options to improve efficiency and/or replacement of the equipment. I am extremely pleased that the company was so accomodating, after 5 p.m., and found Kyle to be an extremely efficient, forthright and friendly technician (in spite of having to deal with my overgrown backyard!). I will consider McCullough to be my a/c company in the future.
Kyle S.
07/28/16
 
These guys are great! They did a better than excellent job installing my new high tech a/c unit. They came in, did the job, cleaned up, and showed me how to use it. They know what they are doing and helped me every step of the way, from financing and rebates to using the touch screen thermostat. Thank you all so much!
Zack P.
07/26/16
 
McCullough technicians Zack and Mark did an outstanding job in repairing/replacing the coil (as well as the associated electronic sensors and piping) of our upstairs unit; they were thorough and their workmanship was outstanding. In addition, they were courteous and 'neat'. We are very satisfied customers.
Zack P.
07/25/16
 
They came out and solved the problem very fast and with excellent cost. The service rep. was Kyle. He seeded to know what he was doing and very knowledgeable.
Kyle S.
07/20/16
 
Great service by the McCullough Team! Stephanie, Al, Zack and Vinny! Simply put, they did what they said they were going to do, on time, on budget. Zack arrived earlier than the time that was setup and stayed until the job was done completely and satisfactorily! Would recommend these folks to anyone.
Zack P.
07/15/16
 
Outstanding service. Very experienced staff. Very responsive and thorough inspection.
Adan G.
07/12/16
 
Zach was here at 9:00 am and left at 7:15 pm. He installed a new Carrier air/heating system to replace our old one that has quit earlier in the week. He worked through the day and did not even stop for a lunch break. Zach explained the new thermostat and the rest of the changes. The house was cool and comfortable before he left. He cleaned up every bit and debris and even loaded a little window unit that our daughter had loaned us. We have used McCullough for years and are glad we called them to put in our new unit.
Zack P.
07/09/16
 
Josh was great. He arrived quickly after we called and had our air conditioner working in approx. 10 minutes. He even checked for warranty on a replaced part. He was efficient, knowledgeable and very professional. I would recommend McCullogh and Josh to my neighbors.
Josh G.
07/07/16
 
Jensen, Sadé, and Derrick put our new A/C in just in the nick of time! They did a great job, were super professional, and clean!! We highly recommend these guys!! --not sweating anymore in Lago Vista
Sade R., Derrick L., Jensen S.
07/07/16
 
Josh was absolutely superb. Thorough, knowledgeable, and friendly. I highly recommend McCullough and wish we would have switched to them earlier. AAAA
Josh G.
07/02/16
 
They were punctual, professional, hardworking, no lunch break in order to complete job in a timely fashion. Very polite and accommodating.
Sade R.
07/01/16
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.