Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc
1 Wellington Road, Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: 4018675309
Website: www.gemplumbing.com



Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3635 star rating
(739 Reviews)
Google
708 star rating (144 Reviews)
Facebook
505 star rating (104 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
658 star rating (132 Reviews)
Judy's Book
144 star rating (29 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1347 star rating (275 Reviews)
Yelp
168 star rating (34 Reviews)
Happy Call
75 star rating (15 Reviews)
Yellowpages.com
5 star rating (1 Reviews)
Yahoo
25 star rating (5 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


NATHAN AND HIS PARTNER IMAD WERE EFFICENT,FRIENDLY,PROFESSIONAL;ALSO TOLD ME OF ALTERNATE FIXES TO MY PROBLEM THAT WOULD SAVE ME MONEY IF PROBLEM OCCURED AGAIN SO I COULD FIX IT MYSELF WITH LITTLE EFFORT. I HAVE USED OTHER PLUMBERS IF PAST BUT THIS WAS A BETTER EXPERIENCE.

02/11/19
 
Brian V. came by this morning and was able to get our furnace working again nearly instantly. He was very helpful and very professional. After fixing our heat, he also took a few minutes to give me trouble shooting tips for future reference. I'll gladly recommend Gem to anyone else in need of heating/plumbing work.
Brian V.
02/02/19
 
Tony walked us through the request and explained the steps to our electrical upgrade. He went over options, timing and what needs to be in place on our end. Work was completed same day. Thank you Tony.

02/01/19
 
Jacob and Mike came out to my house this morning because the furnace stopped working last night. They were very fast, and very professional. Jacob took the time to help me better understand my furnace (I grew up in FL and have never had to worry about one before!). I really appreciate their willingness to answer my questions and help get me back up and running as quickly as possible this morning.
Jacob R.
01/29/19
 
Had furnace issues that were intermittently shutting down my heat all weekend. At one point the house was down to 52 degrees. Brian V. came out on Sunday and assessed the situation. Turned out to be a faulty relay on a fairly new (5 years old) Lennox control board. He was able to get it back up and running temporarily until a new board could be installed. First thing Monday AM, Brian V. went to the supply house and was back to install it before 10:30AM. The heat is back and I couldn't be happier with the service.
Brian V.
01/28/19
 
We didn't have a big problem but I got big results. After addressing the reason for my call with reassurances that I had little to worry about Paul D****** and Dontae Z******** spent the rest of our hour together answering our questions. There is a charge for diagnostic work but the clinic that my wife and I got from these well spoken professionals was outstanding. Not only will we rely on them for future needs but recommend them highly to our neighbors.
Paul D.
01/25/19
 
When our heater failed on a Sat., no other company even answered our call. Gem answered and promised service on Sun. They showed up on time, got the system running, and returned on Tues with new parts, spending 6 hours til the job was done.
Tony G.
01/23/19
 
Lost heat due to pipe freeze. Jacob and George came in assessed it and solved it. Heat back on Great job
Jacob R.
01/23/19
 
Thank goodness for Gem Plumbing and Heating! Coldest day ever, and the heating packs in. My husband is at work, so I had to be the grown up and call for help. Luckily, all adult responsibilities were taken off my hands when the Gem Plumbing and Heating van pulled up after only a short wait under a heated throw. Brian V and his colleague sorted out the problem quickly and then explained the issue to me and also, on the phone, to my husband. Lovely, professional and friendly guys who saved me, the pipes and Fletcher the hamster from freezing!

01/21/19
 
Excellent customer service and job very well done.
Zac F.
01/19/19
 
Excellent service with both our furnace and ductless air installation.
Bill T.
01/19/19
 
Bob Buker was just at my house and did a fantastic job inspecting our plumbing fixtures and fixing our toilets. He was on time, professional, and knowledgeable. I will be requesting him for all future plumbing needs. I also found his apprentice David very helpful during the visit.
Bob B.
01/17/19
 
Hello All, I had a Leak, called GEM Plumbing & Heating Services first thing. Customer Service says we can Accommodate you today. Jim D came and Found where the Leak is, he fixed my Leak. ( along with other things he found ) Jim D is very Professional & Knowledgeable. I will also GO with GEM Plumbing & Heating Services. They are the BEST... Very Appreciative of you Mr. Jim D
Jim D.
01/11/19
 
Tony is awesome, really did a fantastic job, took the time to me what and why work needed to get done, options etc, then did an excellent job executing completing the work!!!!! So good!
Anthony R.
01/09/19
 
What a great experience. I appreciate the quick response time when I first called GEM. Everyone had a positive and professional attitude. They were at my home in a week and I had my estimate the same day. Alan C was polite and clearly explained the estimate and work that was needed. This was not an easy generator install but he never complained. I would highly recommend them.
Alan C.
01/09/19
 
I was very pleased with all the people from Gem that I dealt with, from the initial contact right through the end of the project. Bill and his crew did an amazing job. I would definitely recommend Gem to anyone who has heating issues. :)

01/04/19
 
Jing was friendly and very knowledgeable.
Jing Feng N.
01/03/19
 
Brian V. Nick K from Gem Plumbing were fantastic! Prompt & courteous, Brian & Nick diagnosed the problems, worked hours to complete the work & were kind throughout! Would call them again anytime when needed! Furnace & hot water working as needed on New Year’s Eve!!!, Thank you!
Brian V.
12/31/18
 
We had a water leak in our furnace (hot water baseboard) during vacation week. Brian V* arrived within a few hours of our call, replaced the valve quickly and everything was back to normal. I really appreciated the prompt & professional response.
Brian V.
12/27/18
 
Brian and Nick just bailed me out on Christmas Eve by getting my heat working again. Thanks Gem for always being available.
Brian V.
12/24/18
 
Several people had to come and go for my project and every one of them were very professional, very polite, and even friendly. From the time I first called them until the project was done they were really nice to do business with.
Bryan P.
12/19/18
 
Just had Gem Plumbing fix my heat. Best part it was under warranty from last March, no charge! Came right out and technician was very professional! Good experience!
Jing Feng N.
12/17/18
 
Gem responded promptly and the technician (Brian Vo) was able to diagnose the problem promptly and showed expert knowledge of the equipment. Luckily it was quickly remedied. Brian really saved the day! Thank you GEM
Brian V.
12/13/18
 
Both Jacob and Eric were courteous and professional. Explained everything they were doing.

12/05/18
 
Jacob and his friend, Erick (I think that was his name), did an amazing job on what turned out to be a very difficult repair job on our old gas furnace. These guys were super professional and knowledgeable. We can't thank them enough for all they did to get our heat back on. Much appreciated! We highly recommend Gem Plumbing and Heating and have already signed up for their maintenance program.
Jacob R.
12/04/18
 
annette vitiello 1 review 36 minutes ago-Edit Contacted Gem last Thursday via chat on their website. Roxanne was very helpful. She set up an appointment for me for Friday. I believe it was Ed who came to my house with an apprentice. I have a steam pipe in my basement that HAS a leak and steam coming out of it where the coupling is, so I turned off the heat to my tenant's home until the plumber could get here. When Ed arrived, the first thing he pointed out to me was the wrapping on the pipes and that they couldn't do anything until it was removed because he believed it to be asbestos. I wish he had looked at the problem and gone over my options at that time and told me his concerns about fixing the leak instead of telling me that I had to get rid of the wrapping on the pipe then they would come back. Well since I had to take my 95 step dad to the VA that day I left that project up to my husband to handle which he did. So I got back online and chatted with Roxanne again and she helped set up another appointment for me for the next day, Saturday. Two gentlemen showed up both looking very perplexed about my problem and how to solve it. Unfortunately I wasn't able to stay to talk to them about it because I was taking care of my stepdad, my husband was here to talk to them and they told him that they couldn't do the job that a master plumber needed to come back on Monday to do the job. So here it is Monday and Ed was sent back to my home. In my opinion not very professional. First he made a dumb joke about a plant in my front yard. Then while in the basement he made another dumb joke about locking my husband in the tool shop. This time he was hemming and hawing about the problem and how to fix it which was repeated a few times. So I asked him what about cutting the pipe and capping it off. He said he could do that if he couldn't fix the problem with the coupling. When my husband tried to talk to him about the problem and commented about how many times Ed was repeating himself, Ed did not like that. I feel that Ed was not really listening to me and what I wanted done. I feel that Ed was NOT professional and just because he didn't like what my husband was asking or commenting about Ed's behavior, that was no reason for Ed to walk off the job. I am very disappointed with Gem and will not ever call them again. Clearly they have no clue about working with steam pipes. I don't need to be chastised by plumbers or have to listen to their snotty comments about why people always wait until winter to have things fixed. I have no control over when a pipe is going to spring a leak. So I will find someone else to fix my problem.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
12/03/18
 
Contacted Gem last Thursday via chat on their website. Roxanne was very helpful. She set up an appointment for me for Friday. I believe it was Ed who came to my house with an apprentice. I have a steam pipe in my basement that HAS a leak and steam coming out of it where the coupling is, so I turned off the heat to my tenant's home until the plumber could get here. When Ed arrived, the first thing he pointed out to me was the wrapping on the pipes and that they couldn't do anything until it was removed because he believed it to be asbestos. I wish he had looked at the problem and gone over my options at that time and told me his concerns about fixing the leak instead of telling me that I had to get rid of the wrapping on the pipe then they would come back. Well since I had to take my 95 step dad to the VA that day I left that project up to my husband to handle which he did. So I got back online and chatted with Roxanne again and she helped set up another appointment for me for the next day, Saturday. Two gentlemen showed up both looking very perplexed about my problem and how to solve it. Unfortunately I wasn't able to stay to talk to them about it because I was taking care of my stepdad, my husband was here to talk to them and they told him that they couldn't do the job that a master plumber needed to come back on Monday to do the job. So here it is Monday and Ed was sent back to my home. In my opinion not very professional. First he made a dumb joke about a plant in my front yard. Then while in the basement he made another dumb joke about locking my husband in the tool shop. This time he was hemming and hawing about the problem and how to fix it which was repeated a few times. So I asked him what about cutting the pipe and capping it off. He said he could do that if he couldn't fix the problem with the coupling. When my husband tried to talk to him about the problem and commented about how many times Ed was repeating himself, Ed did not like that. I feel that Ed was not really listening to me and what I wanted done. I feel that Ed was NOT professional and just because he didn't like what my husband was asking or commenting about Ed's behavior, that was no reason for Ed to walk off the job. I am very disappointed with Gem and will not ever call them again. Clearly they have no clue about working with steam pipes. I don't need to be chastised by plumbers or have to listen to their snotty comments about why people always wait until winter to have things fixed. I have no control over when a pipe is going to spring a leak. So I will find someone else to fix my problem.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
12/03/18
 
The Serviceman was prompt, efficient, and 100% satisfactory in fixing my heating system...on a Weekend.
Brian V.
12/02/18
 
I called your company with a complaint and was told I was only charged for the replacement parts not labor. My burner was working fine until the “Tune-up was done. Mark had to leave for a family emergency and hi s replacement had to replace my thermostat.

11/29/18
 
Jacob was fantastic when cleaning my oil-fired boiler and my propane-fired pool heater. He was very polite, very thorough, and made sure to answer all of my questions. He's a great member of the GEM Plumbing team, and I recommend his service.
Jacob R.
11/16/18
 
Jacob and Erick were very respectful and efficient as have all previous Gem Technicians that I have encountered over the last 5 years.

11/16/18
 
Adam called to tell me exactly when he would arrive. He was on time. I found him to be very knowledgeable and is an exceptionally good electrician. He is very personable and communicates very well. I am very happy with the work he did and will recommend GEM and Adam. Thank you, Bernard Nesse
Adam V.
11/09/18
 
The super job done by the field officer is really appreciable. This officer is very helpful and polite. I strongly recommend him to anyone
Brian V.
11/09/18
 
Professional and efficient. Did the job quickly and was very discreet and mindful to leave very clean. Listen attentively to questions and provide custumized feedback.

11/06/18
 
The team from GEM were very professional. They arrived timely and got right to work. Rob D. a fantastic team was very informative on everything his team was installing and recommendations on how to maximize efficiency. My GEM team was Rob D. Ryan, Greg and Zach. Excellent group that worked very well together.
Rob D.
11/06/18
 
Bobby Z did maintenance on our boiler system. He is great at his job! He's polite, answered any and all questions we had and was very professional. Made adjustments to make the system perfect for us. This was his second visit to us...he was here last year when we had a problem, and he was fantastic in diagnosing a difficult problem and fixing it for us. He's a valuable asset to the GEM team! Very pleased with his work and would highly recommend GEM because of him.
Bobby Z.
11/01/18
 
Brian and Nick....professional, gentleman and thorough, knowledgeable ..a job well done ! Answered my questions. Showed me relevant parts and how they work. My "go to team"
Brian V.
10/31/18
 
Might cost a little more but at least the service is worth it! Defenitely calling back for more work. Thanks guys!
Jim D.
10/31/18
 
Jacob Rivera came today for my yearly maintenance. He was very kind, personable, knowledgeable and helpful. He showed me how to change the batteries in my thermostat, which was very helpful. Thank you for sending such a nice guy.
Jacob R.
10/30/18
 
Jacob Rivera came today for my yearly maintenance. He was very kind, personable, knowledgeable and helpful. He showed me how to change the batteries in my thermostat, which was very helpful. Thank you for sending such a nice guy.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/30/18
 
They were courteous, respectful and did an excellent job. I highly recommend their services.

10/30/18
 
It was a toss up between 4 and 5 starts. 4 because we had to have a tech come out again but Jing was simply amazing. He arrived early, was incredibly professional with his knowledge and skills and had our heat working in about an hour. Thank you Jing! You restored my faith in Gem Plumbing.
Jing Feng N.
10/29/18
 
Brian was very thorough, quick and helpful. He explained what was needed and was friendly.
Brian V.
10/25/18
 
I am not quite sure why this company would come to fix my whirlpool water heater if they don’t have parts for it. They did say that if I got the parts they would come back and I wouldn’t be charged the 59.00 fee again. I would not recommend this company
Jeff F.
10/24/18
 
Nicole T**** and Ed l******* performed a maintenance inspection on my plumbing systems yesterday. They were thorough and informative. They advised me that it was almost time to replace my hot water heater, and when I expressed interest in doing so, they gave me infomation and set a date for the next day. Nicole went out of her way to help me upgrade to a service plan that would save me money. When we determined that my shower head was showing its age, at my request, she agreed to find one that worked with my existing fixtures. She sent photo texts for my approval. I was spared a confusing trip to **** ****** and I knew it would be the right style for easy attachment. Ed and Nicole were an excellent team, and I felt well-served. It was delightful to encounter a female plumber!
Ed L.
10/23/18
 
Erick W is the field tech who came to my home to do a home heating tune up on my heating system. He was very friendly and positive. Thank you Erick!
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/19/18
 
Eric W arrived on time for a service tune-up. He was very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions thoroughly. Gem installed my system a few years ago and I am very satisfied with the staff and service.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/18/18
 
Have always gotten good and timely service from Gem and this fall heating tune-up was no exception. Service man (Erick W.) called and arrived within the window, covering his shoes before entering the house. He was friendly, told me what he had done before leaving and that I was good to go.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/18/18
 
(no comment)
Nathaniel N., Bill T.
10/18/18
 
Brian V. came today to fix our oil burning heater. Was very personable and knowledgeable and explained everything. Left the area clean.

10/13/18
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.