Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc
1 Wellington Road, Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: 4018675309
Website: www.gemplumbing.com



Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3520 star rating
(716 Reviews)
Google
663 star rating (135 Reviews)
Facebook
490 star rating (101 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
628 star rating (126 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1327 star rating (271 Reviews)
Judy's Book
139 star rating (28 Reviews)
Yelp
168 star rating (34 Reviews)
Happy Call
75 star rating (15 Reviews)
Yellowpages.com
5 star rating (1 Reviews)
Yahoo
25 star rating (5 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Gem responded promptly and the technician (Brian Vo) was able to diagnose the problem promptly and showed expert knowledge of the equipment. Luckily it was quickly remedied. Brian really saved the day! Thank you GEM
Brian V.
12/13/18
 
Both Jacob and Eric were courteous and professional. Explained everything they were doing.

12/05/18
 
Jacob and his friend, Erick (I think that was his name), did an amazing job on what turned out to be a very difficult repair job on our old gas furnace. These guys were super professional and knowledgeable. We can't thank them enough for all they did to get our heat back on. Much appreciated! We highly recommend Gem Plumbing and Heating and have already signed up for their maintenance program.
Jacob R.
12/04/18
 
annette vitiello 1 review 36 minutes ago-Edit Contacted Gem last Thursday via chat on their website. Roxanne was very helpful. She set up an appointment for me for Friday. I believe it was Ed who came to my house with an apprentice. I have a steam pipe in my basement that HAS a leak and steam coming out of it where the coupling is, so I turned off the heat to my tenant's home until the plumber could get here. When Ed arrived, the first thing he pointed out to me was the wrapping on the pipes and that they couldn't do anything until it was removed because he believed it to be asbestos. I wish he had looked at the problem and gone over my options at that time and told me his concerns about fixing the leak instead of telling me that I had to get rid of the wrapping on the pipe then they would come back. Well since I had to take my 95 step dad to the VA that day I left that project up to my husband to handle which he did. So I got back online and chatted with Roxanne again and she helped set up another appointment for me for the next day, Saturday. Two gentlemen showed up both looking very perplexed about my problem and how to solve it. Unfortunately I wasn't able to stay to talk to them about it because I was taking care of my stepdad, my husband was here to talk to them and they told him that they couldn't do the job that a master plumber needed to come back on Monday to do the job. So here it is Monday and Ed was sent back to my home. In my opinion not very professional. First he made a dumb joke about a plant in my front yard. Then while in the basement he made another dumb joke about locking my husband in the tool shop. This time he was hemming and hawing about the problem and how to fix it which was repeated a few times. So I asked him what about cutting the pipe and capping it off. He said he could do that if he couldn't fix the problem with the coupling. When my husband tried to talk to him about the problem and commented about how many times Ed was repeating himself, Ed did not like that. I feel that Ed was not really listening to me and what I wanted done. I feel that Ed was NOT professional and just because he didn't like what my husband was asking or commenting about Ed's behavior, that was no reason for Ed to walk off the job. I am very disappointed with Gem and will not ever call them again. Clearly they have no clue about working with steam pipes. I don't need to be chastised by plumbers or have to listen to their snotty comments about why people always wait until winter to have things fixed. I have no control over when a pipe is going to spring a leak. So I will find someone else to fix my problem.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
12/03/18
 
Contacted Gem last Thursday via chat on their website. Roxanne was very helpful. She set up an appointment for me for Friday. I believe it was Ed who came to my house with an apprentice. I have a steam pipe in my basement that HAS a leak and steam coming out of it where the coupling is, so I turned off the heat to my tenant's home until the plumber could get here. When Ed arrived, the first thing he pointed out to me was the wrapping on the pipes and that they couldn't do anything until it was removed because he believed it to be asbestos. I wish he had looked at the problem and gone over my options at that time and told me his concerns about fixing the leak instead of telling me that I had to get rid of the wrapping on the pipe then they would come back. Well since I had to take my 95 step dad to the VA that day I left that project up to my husband to handle which he did. So I got back online and chatted with Roxanne again and she helped set up another appointment for me for the next day, Saturday. Two gentlemen showed up both looking very perplexed about my problem and how to solve it. Unfortunately I wasn't able to stay to talk to them about it because I was taking care of my stepdad, my husband was here to talk to them and they told him that they couldn't do the job that a master plumber needed to come back on Monday to do the job. So here it is Monday and Ed was sent back to my home. In my opinion not very professional. First he made a dumb joke about a plant in my front yard. Then while in the basement he made another dumb joke about locking my husband in the tool shop. This time he was hemming and hawing about the problem and how to fix it which was repeated a few times. So I asked him what about cutting the pipe and capping it off. He said he could do that if he couldn't fix the problem with the coupling. When my husband tried to talk to him about the problem and commented about how many times Ed was repeating himself, Ed did not like that. I feel that Ed was not really listening to me and what I wanted done. I feel that Ed was NOT professional and just because he didn't like what my husband was asking or commenting about Ed's behavior, that was no reason for Ed to walk off the job. I am very disappointed with Gem and will not ever call them again. Clearly they have no clue about working with steam pipes. I don't need to be chastised by plumbers or have to listen to their snotty comments about why people always wait until winter to have things fixed. I have no control over when a pipe is going to spring a leak. So I will find someone else to fix my problem.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
12/03/18
 
I called your company with a complaint and was told I was only charged for the replacement parts not labor. My burner was working fine until the “Tune-up was done. Mark had to leave for a family emergency and hi s replacement had to replace my thermostat.

11/29/18
 
Jacob was fantastic when cleaning my oil-fired boiler and my propane-fired pool heater. He was very polite, very thorough, and made sure to answer all of my questions. He's a great member of the GEM Plumbing team, and I recommend his service.
Jacob R.
11/16/18
 
Jacob and Erick were very respectful and efficient as have all previous Gem Technicians that I have encountered over the last 5 years.

11/16/18
 
Adam called to tell me exactly when he would arrive. He was on time. I found him to be very knowledgeable and is an exceptionally good electrician. He is very personable and communicates very well. I am very happy with the work he did and will recommend GEM and Adam. Thank you, Bernard Nesse
Adam V.
11/09/18
 
The super job done by the field officer is really appreciable. This officer is very helpful and polite. I strongly recommend him to anyone
Brian V.
11/09/18
 
Professional and efficient. Did the job quickly and was very discreet and mindful to leave very clean. Listen attentively to questions and provide custumized feedback.

11/06/18
 
The team from GEM were very professional. They arrived timely and got right to work. Rob D. a fantastic team was very informative on everything his team was installing and recommendations on how to maximize efficiency. My GEM team was Rob D. Ryan, Greg and Zach. Excellent group that worked very well together.
Rob D.
11/06/18
 
Bobby Z did maintenance on our boiler system. He is great at his job! He's polite, answered any and all questions we had and was very professional. Made adjustments to make the system perfect for us. This was his second visit to us...he was here last year when we had a problem, and he was fantastic in diagnosing a difficult problem and fixing it for us. He's a valuable asset to the GEM team! Very pleased with his work and would highly recommend GEM because of him.
Bobby Z.
11/01/18
 
Brian and Nick....professional, gentleman and thorough, knowledgeable ..a job well done ! Answered my questions. Showed me relevant parts and how they work. My "go to team"
Brian V.
10/31/18
 
Might cost a little more but at least the service is worth it! Defenitely calling back for more work. Thanks guys!
Jim D.
10/31/18
 
Jacob Rivera came today for my yearly maintenance. He was very kind, personable, knowledgeable and helpful. He showed me how to change the batteries in my thermostat, which was very helpful. Thank you for sending such a nice guy.
Jacob R.
10/30/18
 
Jacob Rivera came today for my yearly maintenance. He was very kind, personable, knowledgeable and helpful. He showed me how to change the batteries in my thermostat, which was very helpful. Thank you for sending such a nice guy.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/30/18
 
They were courteous, respectful and did an excellent job. I highly recommend their services.

10/30/18
 
It was a toss up between 4 and 5 starts. 4 because we had to have a tech come out again but Jing was simply amazing. He arrived early, was incredibly professional with his knowledge and skills and had our heat working in about an hour. Thank you Jing! You restored my faith in Gem Plumbing.
Jing Feng N.
10/29/18
 
Brian was very thorough, quick and helpful. He explained what was needed and was friendly.
Brian V.
10/25/18
 
I am not quite sure why this company would come to fix my whirlpool water heater if they don’t have parts for it. They did say that if I got the parts they would come back and I wouldn’t be charged the 59.00 fee again. I would not recommend this company
Jeff F.
10/24/18
 
Nicole T**** and Ed l******* performed a maintenance inspection on my plumbing systems yesterday. They were thorough and informative. They advised me that it was almost time to replace my hot water heater, and when I expressed interest in doing so, they gave me infomation and set a date for the next day. Nicole went out of her way to help me upgrade to a service plan that would save me money. When we determined that my shower head was showing its age, at my request, she agreed to find one that worked with my existing fixtures. She sent photo texts for my approval. I was spared a confusing trip to **** ****** and I knew it would be the right style for easy attachment. Ed and Nicole were an excellent team, and I felt well-served. It was delightful to encounter a female plumber!
Ed L.
10/23/18
 
Erick W is the field tech who came to my home to do a home heating tune up on my heating system. He was very friendly and positive. Thank you Erick!
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/19/18
 
Eric W arrived on time for a service tune-up. He was very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions thoroughly. Gem installed my system a few years ago and I am very satisfied with the staff and service.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/18/18
 
Have always gotten good and timely service from Gem and this fall heating tune-up was no exception. Service man (Erick W.) called and arrived within the window, covering his shoes before entering the house. He was friendly, told me what he had done before leaving and that I was good to go.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team.
10/18/18
 
(no comment)
Nathaniel N., Bill T.
10/18/18
 
Brian V. came today to fix our oil burning heater. Was very personable and knowledgeable and explained everything. Left the area clean.

10/13/18
 
Personable, professional and knowledgeable. They come at ALL hours! Their Home Advocate plans are great! Brian V. fixed our oil heater today and explained everything. He was very nice. Since I have a Home Advocate Plan, the costs was zero!
Brian V.
10/13/18
 
Bob B. was here today to fix my washing machine cold water valve. He and David the apprentice were very helpful, and kind.They talked me through the whole thing, and didn't do anything without my approval. Very professional. Thank you.
Gem Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc Team., Bob B.
10/04/18
 
Fantastic service! Brian V. was very courteous and professional. He also worked with a gentleman named Nick who was also very helpful. I was very impressed with the pride they took in their work and the skill they showed fixing my issues heating issues. I will definitely use their company again!
Brian V.
10/03/18
 
Hi, Brian V and Nick K came to my condo for my heater annual maintenance. Great guys, courteous and thorough. I have others in the past that are there for 10 minutes. They took the time to look at everything considering my heater is old. I also asked them to look at my AC unit since it was rattling. They were great! Thanks.

09/26/18
 
both brian v and nick k were fast fun and friendly did an excellent job very happy with the service

09/24/18
 
Dan and Anthony were fantastic. Truly know what they are doing. Electrician Zack Fletcher was very knowledgeable and we look forward to him updating our electrical in the near future.

09/20/18
 
I like the fact that the old water heater was taken away so I don't have to make arrangement to do so.

09/18/18
 
(no comment)
Rob D.
09/14/18
 
When getting a quotes definitely give Gem a call , Ron did a great job updating the plumbing in my whole house and air vents though the house .Thank you Ron A , and J
Ron A.
09/13/18
 
We were on wait list for Thursday for AC problem. Received call about 8 am - will be there in about 45 minutes. Were there in 45 minutes! Brian V & Nick K checked unit, found problem, & repaired problem. Back to normal. ****
Brian V.
09/06/18
 
Jacob and his partner did a fantastic job, they were courteous and respectful and fixed our problem!

09/06/18
 
Ron did a great job and because of him Gem plumbing has a life long customer.

08/30/18
 
I found that my experience with Gem Plumbing was a good one from the initial phone call to the end result. I would not hesitate to call them again. The plumber,Ed L. Went above and beyond to get my dishwasher installed and running well. Thank you Gem Plumbing!

08/24/18
 
My capacitor on my central air conditioner decided to crash on a Friday at 5pm! I tried calling my own services that installed the system when the house was built and they “DO NOT” repair AC systems on the weekend and I would have to wait until Monday morning! They didn’t acknowledge temperatures in the 90’s and high humidity as an emergency! I work very hard and long hours and sweating in my own home was not an option! After calling several services, I got to “G” and saw that I could book an appointment online! I filled out the very easy form and hit submit! My phone rang in about 10 mins and booked the appointment for the next morning. Jing, the fantastic servicemen, called 10 minutes before he arrived. Professionally worked on my system and I easily paid for the services without any delays! I am cooling off as I type this review. Thanks to the female customer service rep! (Sorry for forgetting your name- Friday, August 17th, ~6pm), Jing, and Gem Plumbing & Heating Services for helping me in my “emergency” air conditioning crisis! Dr. Raymond Gazaille Woonsocket, RI 02895
Jing Feng N.
08/18/18
 
Brian V. did a great job fixing my air conditioning unit. He is very personable and efficient, and explained what had to be done each step of the way. Because of his professionalism and helpfulness, I am considering signing up for one of the new GEM Home Advocate plans. Brian V is great representatives of the company..
Brian V.
08/17/18
 
I have dealt with many companies over the course of nine years, but Gem Plumbing was the only company that was able to figure out what was wrong with my HVAC system. The whole team did such a great job! Rob D. worked really hard installing a new system. He was patient with us and explained everything he was doing and how the new system worked. I also want to thank Zach, the electrician, for making ugly pipes disappear!
Rob D.
08/16/18
 
Bryan was great. He was polite and knowledgeable. It was a pleasure dealing with him.

08/16/18
 
Brian V arrived on time. He showed patience & thoroughness in analyzing the central air system. He even went in the attic for about 15 minutes to work on the evaporator, on one of the hottest days of the year! I can’t say enough good things about his work. System is working fine now.

08/11/18
 
Great experience with Gem!

08/08/18
 
Highly recommend.

08/06/18
 
Mark was very thorough. He did an excellent job. He was very friendly and personable. Even our cats loved him! Would love to have him back again.
Mark S.
08/02/18
 
Rob was an exceptional tech. Always professional and extremely knowledgeable. He explained everything in detail and offered choices when we discussed where certain equipment would be placed. I cannot say enough about the service he provided. Because of him we will be looking to Gem to service our boiler this winter as well.

08/02/18
 
We have used Gem in the past and have been satisfied with who came out. However this past week Ed L came out. He was not professional... nor was he positive in mood. It gave me an uneasy sense...after surveying the issue. He and his partner left to go “find” a pump. He had a tablet and a phone??? I wasn’t impressed. They did return with a pump and fixed the issue but left a mess behind... water on the floor and such. I think it all depends on who comes out to service.
Ed L.
07/28/18
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.