Bolt Electric
443 Interstate Court., Sarasota, FL 34240
Phone: (941) 888-8111
Website: http:www.sarasotaflelectricalcontractor.com



Bolt Electric - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

935 star rating
(211 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
409 star rating (100 Reviews)
Google
260 star rating (55 Reviews)
Judy's Book
30 star rating (6 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
149 star rating (31 Reviews)
Yelp
82 star rating (18 Reviews)
Happy Call
5 star rating (1 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period Bolt Electric has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Two or three years ago, Bolt Electric had two deals on Angie's list that I bought. They came to fix a wiring problem but when they saw it, they said it was not something they could fix: it involved low voltage wiring and they said another company should be called. They were very nice about it. I asked the office if I could have a credit for the deals I had bought since I was unable to use the deals when I bought them and I knew they had a 6 month expiration date. They said yes. This year, I had lots of things they could fix to use up my credit. I called and asked if I could use my $298 worth of credit now and they said yes, as I expected. One deal was for 199 (cost $99) and one was for 99 (cost $59). So I had spent $158 for the deals. The tech came out and gave me an estimate on all of it. I chose $298 worth to be done when he came back. He came back saying they would not honor the credit after all. While he was here, he did $98 worth of work. Then he stopped. The next thing I wanted him to do was worth $98. I had almost $200 credit remaining. I called about the contradiction with their first and second promises. The underling said the manager would call back the next day. She didn't. I called the next day. The manager said the underling would call back the next day. She didn't. I called back the next week, having let go of getting what they had promised. At least I could get the other $60 worth of work done that I had paid hard money for. The underling could not put all this together. She hung up. I called back. She still could not understand, so she said I should speak with her manager, would I wait. Yes. She hung up again. How does a company defend this type of behavior? I cannot recommend this company. The technician was great: Dean.
Kate H.
05/02/18
 
Two or three years ago, Bolt Electric had two deals on Angie's list that I bought. They came to fix a wiring problem but when they saw it, they said it was not something they could fix: it involved low voltage wiring and they said another company should be called. They were very nice about it. I asked the office if I could have a credit for the deals I had bought since I was unable to use the deals when I bought them and I knew they had a 6 month expiration date. They said yes. This year, I had lots of things they could fix to use up my credit. I called and asked if I could use my $298 worth of credit now and they said yes, as I expected. One deal was for 199 (cost $99) and one was for 99 (cost $59). So I had spent $158 for the deals. The tech came out and gave me an estimate on all of it. I chose $298 worth to be done when he came back. He came back saying they would not honor the credit after all. While he was here, he did $98 worth of work. Then he stopped. The next thing I wanted him to do was worth $98. I had almost $200 credit remaining. I called about the contradiction with their first and second promises. The underling said the manager would call back the next day. She didn't. I called the next day. The manager said the underling would call back the next day. She didn't. I called back the next week, having let go of getting what they had promised. At least I could get the other $60 worth of work done that I had paid hard money for. The underling could not put all this together. She hung up. I called back. She still could not understand, so she said I should speak with her manager, would I wait. Yes. She hung up again. How does a company defend this type of behavior? I cannot recommend this company. The technician was great: Dean.
Kate H.
05/02/18
 
As advertised, clean and reasonably priced.
Dean B.
04/30/18
 
We have had very positive experiences with Bolt. We find their staff ( in particular Dean) to be very professional and knowledgeable . They are pretty good about arriving within the window of time they provided. The work was completed within the time frame specified . When there was an issue it was quickly addressed and resolved. We trust their ability to access the problem and provide a good quote.
Dean B., Kate H.
04/27/18
 
Dean, the electrician is great. 5 stars for Dean. Kate, office person is at the effect of her boss. She could find no notes of a previous deal I had with Angie's List that couldn't be used when bought --for a good reason--so I was given permission to use it later. She said the $300 credit I had would only be worth $158. This is simply not right. If they don't honor the $300, I wouldn't use Bolt again or recommend them.
Dean B., Kate H.
04/25/18
 
I called at 11:00am and Dean showed up within 30 minutes. Small job. One GFI outlet. A little expensive but worth it. Very professional. Cleaned up after. Very polite. Highly recommend this service.
Dean B.
04/16/18
 
Jeremy is a great e look electrition he explains what and why he does his work. He put in a electrical box that us great.
Jeremy E.
04/13/18
 
Jeremy is very knowledgeable and friendly. Very professional and did and an awesome job!
Jeremy E.
04/12/18
 
Great service ,always on time,reasonably priced

04/12/18
 
Dean always does an excellent job. Bolt is always on time and very reasonable prices.
Dean B., Kate H.
04/12/18
 
Jeremy is excellent did really good work explained the work he did and why he did it
Jeremy E., Kate H.
03/30/18
 
Your rates are very high compaired to other electrical contractors

03/16/18
 
Bolt Electric was the 2nd highest quote. (I had 3 quotes) Therefore, I went with another company.

03/15/18
 
Did not want to accept the assignment to retrofit the light fixture. He gave an estimate to hang the fixture which was extremely high. He just did not want to do the job because it was not routine.

03/13/18
 
The team at Bolt Electric is very professional and helpful. Any issues in service timelines are communicated and always with good reason. I have used Bolt for several large jobs and all the jobs have been completed proffesionally. Patrick even came to a job to help get it finished in a timely manner and had his crew redo work that was not up to his specifications free of charge because "it just doesnt look good". They take pride in their work. Top notch company. Top notch people. I highly recommend Bolt Electric to anyone needing electrical services.
Kate H., Raymond M., Alian M.
03/09/18
 
(no comment)
Jeremy E.
03/08/18
 
Dean was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We discussed the work to be done, and he gave me a formal quote. He's very likable and arrived when scheduled. I am not sure of his estimate pricing as he was the first company to come out and give me a quote, but I assume he is in the range of fair pricing.
Dean B.
02/25/18
 
I had two issues , an exhaust fan in the bathroom and a braker in my electrical box need to be replaced. Jeremy arrive per schedule and was professional and efficient. He will return tomorrow to replace the fan which need to be updated.This company does a top nothch job I am sure you will be pleased
Jeremy E., Kate H.
02/14/18
 
He told me everything I needed to know
Dean B.
01/31/18
 
Fast and friendly service. Found the problem and corrected it. I will be using them again for electrical work.
Jeremy E., Kate H.
01/26/18
 
Jeremy was great

01/25/18
 
Jeremy came out to give me an estimate and he was polite and helpful. I look forward to working with him in the future.
Jeremy E.
01/24/18
 

Dean B., Kate H.
01/24/18
 
Dean with Bolt Electric was very nice, knowledgeable and made a repair quickly and less expensive than a quote I had from another company. I highly recommend Bolt Electric.
Dean B.
01/19/18
 
Had to run 2 wires to same place in kitchen, and wanted to charge $698.00 for 2 runs, when in reality it was 2 wires to same place. Not 2 runs.

01/19/18
 
EVERYONE I HAD THE PLEASURE OF SPEAKING WITH AND DEALINGS WITH, MADE ME VERY GLAD THAT I CHOSE THIS COMPANY TO DO THE WORK I NEEDED!!! WILL BE USING YOU FOR ALL MY ELECTRICAL NEEDS!!! VERY SATISFIED!!!

01/13/18
 
FANTASTIC FROM THE GET GO!!! FRIENDLY, FAST, KNOWLEDGEABLE,AND REASONABLE!!! EVERYONE WAS GREAT!!!! THIS IS THE "GO TO" ELECTRICAL COMPANY TO GO TO!!!
Jeremy E.
01/13/18
 
I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH BOLT ELECTRIC, KATIE, AND JEREMY!!! FROM THE FIRST PHONE CALL, TO JEREMY LEAVING AFTER REPLACING ALL THE PLUGS THAT WERE OLD. FRIENDLY,KNOWLEDGEABLE, AND FANTASTIC!!!! THESE WILL BE MY "GO TO" ELECTRICIANS!!! THUMBS UP!!!
Jeremy E.
01/12/18
 
Dean was knowledgeable, polite and helpful. Would call again.
Dean B.
01/11/18
 
Truck was on time, handled the electrical work knowledgeable.
Jeremy E., Kate H.
12/15/17
 
500 for two replacement lights in the bathroom is outrageous!

11/08/17
 
We have always had rhe same technician, always arrives on time, shows concern for any problem we may have, alwsys honest and knowledgeable and in a good mood, he always offers suggestions before a decision is made

11/08/17
 
(no comment)
Dean B.
11/02/17
 
Great job, timely service, excellent results!!
Matt G., Kate H., DEAN I.
11/01/17
 
Very polite and knowledgeable. When we need services again, we will call Bolt (Jeremy)
Jeremy E., Kate H.
10/24/17
 
Very responsive, explains situation well
DEAN I.
10/11/17
 
Very responsive, explains situation well
Dean B., Kate H.
09/15/17
 
Dean presented himself as a knowledgeable and experienced Field Service electrician with the patience to deal with all of our varied questions. If we should decide to go forward with his recommendations, we would be most comfortable with his involvement.
Dean B., Kate H.
09/05/17
 

Jeremy E.
09/01/17
 
Dean was pleasant, professional, ad knowledgeable. He answered questions concerning the various codes in Fl which differ from our home state of Kentucky. He could not answer all of our questions and we were somewhat saddened when he talked about products his company sells. I really hadn't thought about it being a part of services they provide and certainly not on the Angie's List deal I purchased. I was/am concerned about the electrical wiring in my house and have no total and complete piece of mind after their visit. Thank you.
Dean B.
08/29/17
 
Very professional and complete understanding of our needs. Great job!
Jeremy E., Kate H.
08/28/17
 
I called to make an appointment expecting it to be at least 3-4 days wait. They had an appointment the same day I called. My electrician was Dean and he was on time friendly and professional. He explained the issues we had to me and my wife and answered all of our questions. We would recommend Dan and Bolt Electric.
Dean B., Kate H.
08/28/17
 

Dean B., Kate H.
08/23/17
 
Arrived exactly as scheduled with a phone call an hour before hand. Dean was knowledgable and professional. Overall a very good experience, wouldn't hesitate to call them again.
Dean B.
08/19/17
 
Bolt Electric has taken care of all of my emergencies, maintenance, and proactive electrical work. My Bolt representative electrician, Jeremy, is highly intelligent and well trained for all electrical jobs. Thank you Bolt Electric!!!
Jeremy E.
08/17/17
 
WhenI was presented with the estimate, I was extremely surprised at the total. I think the estimate is probably $800 over what I expected considering the limited amount of parts needed. Just figuring the parts at 400.00, that left approx. 1200.00 in labor. I'm pretty sure there isn't 12 hours of labor time involved, figuring 100.00 an hour for a wage.

08/08/17
 
Awesome
Jeremy E.
07/31/17
 
Miscommunication around price by almost $1000

07/24/17
 
You have zero goodwill or you would have replaced my backdoor fixture which is not working properly got a dis punted price not a other 150

07/13/17
 
Very disappointed that I am left with a outdoor fixture that doesn't come on upon opening back door which was my whole purpose. Old fixture replaced because it came on in day so needed new sensor so got new fixture. Took about 15 min to install and tested to come on but not range of light which I discovered that night. want $150 to reinstall, which for a 82 year old widow was impossible with what I already paid. Thought it would be half of that amt. since that was more than original. Customer goodwill was not taken into acct. and I now have to step out into the grass to take my 13-yr old dog out several times at night, and it I have a defective light for which I bought a replacement but now cannot afford to have installed. Angie's list definitely did not live up to what I thought would be a reliable and fair price. Maybe in Belleair Beach, but not for a widow on social security. Also elect. panel installation was quoted at $1800 and going on "Nextdoor" which is a neighborhood app. found licensed contractor who installed one for $1350. Your prices are strictly for the rich, and I will be sure to never refer anyone to Bolt. Nothing against your electrician but your re-install policy. Apologize to him to getting upset, but couldn't believe the price he quoted and that he said he tested the range of the light fixture. He was hurrying because of impending storm and he told me I could see that night how it was working. TO my dismay I had to go out under the light to make it come on and the next day got out the manual and increased the range as far as it would go. Still not sensing my opening the backdoor and stepping out on the stoop. Now have to go into the grass to check on possible coyote and buffo toads before letting my dog out several times each night. That's why I invested in the new LED fixture which your electrician said were good and he had them at his house. That's why I trusted it would work properly. THE front installation is fine and has the appropriate range coming on when it should. The important one to me the backdoor is just a hazard to me and the replacement is just sitting in my garage. Again, very disappointed you could not have given me a break in the re-install price. No one else would have charged more than the original price. Unbelievable and very unbusinesslike. Margie Butts

07/13/17
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.