All City Electrical
220 N 14th St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Phone: 908-497-9977
Website: www.allcityelectricsecurity.com/



All City Electrical - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

3783 star rating
(768 Reviews)
Google
400 star rating (81 Reviews)
Judy's Book
139 star rating (28 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
392 star rating (79 Reviews)
Facebook
125 star rating (25 Reviews)
Yellowpages.com
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Angie's List
1503 star rating (302 Reviews)
Superpages
5 star rating (1 Reviews)
Happy Call
1209 star rating (250 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period All City Electrical has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


The service was great. I called for a quote and Mike came out right away. Pricing was extremely reasonable and the workers who came out to do the work were very professional and did an extremely clean job. I would highly recommend all city electric to anyone!
All City Electrical Team.
12/28/13
 
But Mike was the only one who decided to make time and send a crew member to check out the issue. A second electrician also came in as the first one couldnt figure out the issue. They made a couple of marking for Mike to check out later. Well, at the end of the day we shelled out $230 for 2 hrs of work - without a resolution to our problem. Mike called us back the next Monday to set up an appointment to review the problem. I would recommend him for his responsiveness. I would call him back because now I know I can count on him when I have a problem.
All City Electrical Team.
12/22/13
 
Workers arrived on time, installed agreed on work order and cleaned up the area. I would definitely use their services again in the future!
All City Electrical Team.
12/17/13
 
Went very well,his men that work for him are neat, polite and go out of the way to please.Waiting for inspections is what took the longest. After everything inspected and complete,Mike (the owner) came to start up my unit the very day he was going on vacation, did not make me wait two weeks for him to return.I would highly recommend Mike and his company to do any project, even the plumber that works with him is great. G.B.
All City Electrical Team.
12/08/13
 
As others have already commented, I found them to be extremely professional about their work. They were responsive via phone; they came and gave an efficient and professional estimate with no fuss and were very upfront about costs and provided an invoice estimate before the work began; when they arrived, they were courteous, respective, got the job done with no complaint; and made sure they had the manpower over the 9 hours they were here to complete the promised task (3 people in total, with at first 1 person; then Mike - the "boss" joining him; then ultimately a 3rd person taking over for Mike when he had to leave to attend to another job). I give them definitely an "A" overall and had only two minor criticisms: their cost for changing two to three prong's was something like $28/outlet, which struck me as possibly a bit high (but in the grand scheme of things in terms of total price for everything they did, I was definitely satisfied); and they were so busy that it took a while for them to actually come back and do the work (though they definitely did it on the day promised and showed up on time, etc., and this was I'm sure mostly a product of their enormous popularity). I'd definitely recommend them again - in fact, when they got here they pointed out that our house's previous owner had actually used them a few times in the past, including just before we moved in.
All City Electrical Team.
12/03/13
 
Came on the day promised, finished when promised. No surprises when I got the final bill. Super neat work and cleanup. Expert electrical work. They use high quality products. These guys are for real! No problem communicating what I needed done No trying to sell me what I didnt need. They dealt with all the permit pulling hassles and the job passed inspection perfectly. Thank You Mike and crew. PS Mike Volpe extremely easy to deal with. Ask for him.. sorry Mike!
All City Electrical Team.
11/27/13
 
The team arrived on time on the day scheduled with all necessary materials. The work took almost all day as it was extensive. I could not be happier with the outcome. The lights were placed correctly, and work great. The All City Electrical team made suggestions for recessed light placement and type of closet light that were excellent. They went to great lengths to move the cable line through the attic to save me the hassle of cutting holes in the wall. They were neat and clean and respectful and I couldn't be any happier with the work. I will recommend them to others, and use them again for sure.
All City Electrical Team.
11/21/13
 
Job done very efficiently...Called beforehand as promised so that i did not waste time just waiting for him to show up.
All City Electrical Team.
11/06/13
 
The work that All City did, I have no complaints, they did good work, but refused to come back when I really needed them to.
All City Electrical Team.
11/04/13
 
Prompt, efficient service, and most importantly, extremely honest. Accidentally overpaid and received prompt return of overpayment.
All City Electrical Team.
10/21/13
 
The job went so smoothly! On time, efficient and so professional! Clean up was as efficient as the job. Well done! Thank you Mike and Angies List!
All City Electrical Team.
10/20/13
 
Spoke to Mike, who was nice enough and helped answer some of the questions I had. I'm sure they do good work, but if you live in Jersey City don't bother contacting them. They are not interested in working with the permit/inspection process in JC so they are not interested in our job.
All City Electrical Team.
10/18/13
 
Perfectly. They were on time, did what they were supposed to do , left no mess and no additional charges. One of the best experiences I have ever had with a contractor.
All City Electrical Team.
10/10/13
 
The initial consultation and estimate were both timely and professional. Mike accommodated our evening schedule and took his time to explain the work required and the recommended course of action. A formal estimate was emailed the following day and All City took care of setting up the required permits and town inspections.
All City Electrical Team.
10/09/13
 
They were easy to work with and they did what they said. They weren’t the cheapest but worth the quality service. They were responsive and took credit card which I appreciated.
All City Electrical Team.
10/07/13
 
Guys came for the estimate, which matched the final bill. The work required three full days. The entire time, All City was professional, courteous and incredibly hard working. Nice guys too. I had issues with my cable provider, and they went out of their way to do what they could. They took the time to get the job done right, not just get it done, and clearly took pride in their work.
All City Electrical Team.
10/02/13
 
They did very good job ,it was very quick and price was very reasonable. i will use this company from now on.
All City Electrical Team.
10/02/13
 
So far very well.
All City Electrical Team.
09/08/13
 
The were the 2nd highest priced contractors I met with, but seemed to have well-thought-out and clever solutions to the problems I presented them with. They did a great job and were on time, neat & clean, and fast.
All City Electrical Team.
09/02/13
 
Mike the owner showed up promptly for estimate. He was very clear and understood exactly what was required. Our home had some pretty old equipment and a bit unique. Matt and Ralph showed up to home on day of install and just went straight to work following hellos. Very professional and worked extremely hard. Did an awesome job. Town Inspector said the job was top notch. I am happy to be reference, if needed, and look forward to working with this company again.
All City Electrical Team.
08/12/13
 
Well. Fast, punctual. I still had to program the switch.
All City Electrical Team.
08/06/13
 
Mike the owner came over to give me the estimate, he was in line with the other two I had called. He came on time and covered his feet when he entered my home. He sent two of his men to do the job, it took about one and half days to complete. These men were professional, courteous, and extremely thorough. They called me a work to check with me about a simple thing. The waiting for me to come home and do an walk through to make sure I was satisfied with the job. I would highly recommend them. This is the first time I used someone from Angie's List and I was very impressed.
All City Electrical Team.
07/31/13
 
Provider visited twice. Once to review work to be performed and provide an estimate, and a second time to do the actual work. Beefore entering my house both times, they but booties on feet. They were extremely detailed in their work, and checked all of the work to make sure it worked properly before finishing the job. They showed up when they said, and were extremely courteous and professional.
All City Electrical Team.
07/29/13
 
The experience with him was good and everything went pretty smoothly. Mike was very good, but I didn’t use him because I changed my mind of what I wanted to do. It wasn’t because of Mike that I didn’t go with the service. He quoted me $1100 for his service.
All City Electrical Team.
07/25/13
 
Very punctual and professional. The price was higher than others quoted, but I got a better overall feel from All City and so did not choose on price this time.
All City Electrical Team.
07/24/13
 
I would highly recommend All City Electric, they were quick to respond, extremely personable and professional, and they took the time to explain how our new equipment works, as well as the work that was done.
All City Electrical Team.
07/12/13
 
Everything went very well. The entire staff, including the receptionist at the office who were talked to frequently to schedule the jobs were polite and professional. For the estimates, Mike was thorough and explained what he could and couldnt do, as well as giving us some great ideas. The estimate was provided within a few days of the appointment, and was broken up by each individual piece of work, so that we knew how much it would cost if we wanted to do the jobs seperately. We were charged $80 for the visit/estimate, which we were informed of before because it was an estimate for work on a home that we didn't own. We were reimbursed the $80 on the actual work done. For the main job(sub panel replacement, recessed lighting), Mike's team was great. They were all very friendly and professional(wearing bags on their shoes, cleaning up after completion, making sure everything worked), and everything was done great. In 3 in the section above, Joe came out on a few days notice after I talked to Mike about outlets not working. Joe figured out the issue in a short time, and had everything working quickly and at reasonable cost($145). Unfortunately, Mike had to deal with the headache of getting permits/inspections in Jersey City for us. We greatly appreciate his patience with the local government, and when the inspector did finally come(months after the initial request/completion of the work), he(the inspector) missed something in the inspection and was ready to fail the permit/work. Fortunately, Mike was available by phone right away, and he talked to the inspector and requested that he take a second look. As expected, Mike was correct and the work was done to code with no issues. Overall, the experience working with All City Electrical has been a great one. We will continue to contract them for electrical work needed in our home. Thanks Mike and Joe!
All City Electrical Team.
07/12/13
 
Everything went very well. The entire staff, including the receptionist at the office who were talked to frequently to schedule the jobs were polite and professional. For the estimates, Mike was thorough and explained what he could and couldnt do, as well as giving us some great ideas. The estimate was provided within a few days of the appointment, and was broken up by each individual piece of work, so that we knew how much it would cost if we wanted to do the jobs seperately. We were charged $80 for the visit/estimate, which we were informed of before because it was an estimate for work on a home that we didn't own. We were reimbursed the $80 on the actual work done. For the main job(sub panel replacement, recessed lighting), Mike's team was great. They were all very friendly and professional(wearing bags on their shoes, cleaning up after completion, making sure everything worked), and everything was done great. In 3 in the section above, Joe came out on a few days notice after I talked to Mike about outlets not working. Joe figured out the issue in a short time, and had everything working quickly and at reasonable cost($145). Unfortunately, Mike had to deal with the headache of getting permits/inspections in Jersey City for us. We greatly appreciate his patience with the local government, and when the inspector did finally come(months after the initial request/completion of the work), he(the inspector) missed something in the inspection and was ready to fail the permit/work. Fortunately, Mike was available by phone right away, and he talked to the inspector and requested that he take a second look. As expected, Mike was correct and the work was done to code with no issues. Overall, the experience working with All City Electrical has been a great one. We will continue to contract them for electrical work needed in our home. Thanks Mike and Joe!
All City Electrical Team.
07/12/13
 
Note: Obviously the cost was not $1. I just feel strange entering it. However, it was competitive and below the cost I got from other contractors. In case you don't want to read the below, we are COMPLETELY pleased with the work that was completed by All City (and subcontractor TNT Plumbing & Heating). I came across All City on AL as a last minute decision to get one more quote on the job. Mike Volpe came out to the house and I was sold IMMEDIATELY on his straight forwardness and his eagerness to take his time and answer all of my questions. I had no feeling what-so-ever that I was holding him up from something else. Other contractors I had come over to quote did give the impression that they had spent too much time with me (and they spent far less time than Mike did). He also came off as more sincere and trustworthy (this is subjective but it is how I felt).. That being said the job took about two months to be completed. The main holdup was gas company who had to visit to see if the meter/gas line from street could meet capacity. However, Mike did let me know that they've hit major delays on these jobs due to the gas company so I was prepared. Once the gas company got back in touch with All City, Mike called me to let me know the details. Gas line to house was fine, gas meter needed to be upgraded at no charge to me. Mike had known my discomfort with the additional cost of having to upgrade the pipe from the street to house if needed (many thousand $$ more) so he held off ordering the generator. However, once ready it took only two weeks to get from Generac. All City is electrical only, however, in this installation he sub contracts the plumbing to another company (TNT Plumbing & Heating, Paul Floria). Mike provided a contract with pricing and payment expectations which included all of the plumbing expenses. This was nice since I didn't have to spend time to find a plumbing contractor myself. ELECTRICAL On the 20th of June first thing in the a.m. (as I was told) two of Mike's guys show up to start the install. (NOTE: Thankfully we hadn't hit the 90 degree weather yet since we had no electric the entire day). Within an hour a third shows up. Then around lunch time Mike himself shows up with the generator. Mike is hands on as well so we had four of them working on the job that day. They finished it around 4 p.m. I was (pleasantly) surprised at the attention to detail with the job itself. In fact, it was nice to see they all have pride in their work (they took the time to show me and explain their work. I got bored at times so I would walk around to see what they were working on). I had a chance to see inside the electric panel before it was closed and it was a beautiful job (not that I'm an expert just from comparing to the previous panels at our house). The entire crew were respectful and all eager to answer questions I had while they were working. Mike in particular is proud of the work he and his crew perform. You can tell by the amount of time they took to do the job right. Also, when it was obvious when I talked with him about certain aspects of the job. That they take pride in their work is especially good to know as a homeowner because you want contractors that will do an exceptional job on your house. This is what makes All City a keeper in my (address) book. I do need additional electrical work done and Mike will be who I contact for it. PLUMBING Surprisingly (or maybe not so) I have the same feeling about TNT Plumbing and Heating as I do about All CIty (and they will remain in my address book for future plumbing needs). As soon as I signed the contract, Paul reached out to me for a visit to determine gas usage of current gas appliances. He arrived on schedule and was polite and professional. I had some questions regarding the plumbing which he took time to answer and didn't rush off. Keep in mind that he scheduled the visit on a weekday after 6 p.m. So most people,I would think, would want to get out as soon as possible. Paul and his crew were scheduled to do the plumbing on the 22nd. However, Paul called me during the week to ask if we could schedule prior to the weekend. We arranged for him to come the same day as electrical but around 4/5 p.m. after the electricians were finishing up. Him and his crew showed up on time and began to run the piping through the basement (approx 25 feet of it). They did a great job. These guys (3 of them on our job) appear to have pride in the work as well and they took the time to do it properly. They didn't finished up until around 8/9 p.m. that night. This is after working a regular work day. Paul needed to come back on Sunday to finish securing the end of the segment. He also setup the pressure gauge and filled the pipe for the pressure test which was to be done that Monday morning by the town Plumbing Inspector. The pressure gauge was set on Paul's arrival and it showed proper pressure when he checked after he had completed what he needed to finish (approx 45 minutes). He asked me to keep an eye on it and let him know if anything should change that evening. Unfortunately, it did. It began dropping pressure. I sent a picture to Paul to show him. He called me back and after chatting told me that he would be up by the house first thing int he morning before Inspector showed up. He showed up early and did tests on all fittings. It ended up being the reducer he needed to use with the pressure gauge. While Paul was still at the house the Inspector showed up. Paul walked him through the basement and they discussed what he would do prior to final plumbing inspection. After pressure test, Paul showed up later in the week (after hours) to finish connecting the pipe to the gas meter and also to the generator. This required painting the pipe, patching the holes, (and answering some more questions from me). He left and scheduled the final plumbing inspection for that Thursday (the 27th). Plumbing Inspector showed up and passed it. Mike calls me after that and schedules a time for setup and initial startup of generator. We scheduled that Friday (28th) after hours. He goes through all the details of the generator and does the initial startup and the cutover of house power to generator. Once done, he asks me for days/times the following week so he can schedule electrical/fire inspections. I believe that was done Tuesday July 2nd. All inspections passed without incident. The final step was having the meter replaced which could only be arranged after all inspections were completed. That was done yesterday. Oddly, someone from the gas company needed to come out on Monday to inspect our inspections and look at the install itself. I have never been more eager to pay a company for the work they have provided. As far as I'm concerned, I >>WANT<< All City and TNT to be profitable because I think they are great companies (people). However, I also want that so I can utilize their services in the future (selfish reason). Compared to quotes from other contractors it's nice to know they can do this work at a reasonable price.
All City Electrical Team.
07/10/13
 
They are very nice. They were clean, they have to drill a hole, they spackled it and they cleaned everything behind them. They were nice, efficient and they were in and out in 2 hours, I don't have anything bad to say about them.
All City Electrical Team.
07/01/13
 
I contacted All City Electrical after seeing the good rating on Angie's List. I received a call back right away. Within a day the president of All City Electrical, Mike came to our home and reviewed what we wanted done. He came up with a good money saving idea for the outside electrical install. I received a quotation by e-mail the next day. Within a week they sent a mechanic to do the install. Joe the installation mechanic was professional and courteous. He complete all the work in a little over 2 hours. He even put on shoe covers when entering our home. After the work was completed he showed me how the service switch in the attic worked and had me inspect the outside install to make sure I was happy with the job. Overall, a neat and quick job.
All City Electrical Team.
06/29/13
 
great The crew was wonderful, on time, professional and -- fun to work with.
All City Electrical Team.
06/26/13
 
All City is true to form. They exhibited all the positive attributes that have been stated in the Angieslist's reviews. From consultation to implementation of service they were prompt, courteous and professional. Electricians, Joseph & Ralph, donned on blue booty-shoe covers before entering my apartment to addressed the areas that warranted their service. Ralph installed and hung my ceiling light feature, while Joseph addressed the non-working outlets. They worked in this fashioned until all projects were addressed. Joseph & Ralph were engaging; before going beyond what was discussed at consultation, Joseph would bring a matter to my attention, explain in layman terms what needed to be done and its results. For example, he patiently explained the wall needed to be open; once the wall was opened he showed and explained how the outage occurred. Upon my understanding and consent Allcity fix a 4yr old program in less than hour. No exaggeration, I was so impressed that I wished I had more work for them.
All City Electrical Team.
06/21/13
 
(no comment)
All City Electrical Team.
06/19/13
 
We used them for lots of different things, and it is a great feeling knowing that a team of true professionals fixed up much of the rigged up stuff in this old house. They are on the pricey side, so it adds up quickly, but if you want no drama, done right by guys that know what they are doing and take pride in doing good work, these are your guys. Mike Volpe, the owner, did all the estimating and scheduling and supervised the team fairly closely (by phone). I don't remember the foreman's name but he was terrific--very knowledgeable about the wiring in the walls of old houses. They were always right on time and worked very hard. Aside from cost, the only other possible downside is that they are hard to schedule because they are busy. One chunk of work they did for us was supposed to take 2 days, and when it needed a 3rd day, they couldn't come back to finish for like a week, so the job sat unfinished while they lived up to another commitment somewhere else. Not their fault, but a hassle. When we first agreed to use them and agreed to Mike's price estimate, that was another case where it was literally more than two weeks before they could begin the work. So use them with confidence but be sure you are not in a rush because the top, popular contractors like All City Electric are also going to be very busy.
All City Electrical Team.
06/18/13
 
This team was professional all the way around! They arrived on time ready to work the moment they stepped into my house. Mike along with Joe worked quickly and operated like surgeons. They did not take breaks and kept the workspace clean and tidy. This was a somewhat complicated install and they had no problems understanding what I wanted accomplished. Mike answered questions, made excellent suggestions and finished the project 1 day early. A follow-up phone called was returned immediately. The overall experience was very positive. I will definitely use them again in the future as Mike provided a good price and excellent workmanship! Even the other employee, Joe was a excellent electrician. He knew his stuff, worked quickly and installed the wiring such that you would have thought that the network cabling was always in the house. If you want the job done right the first time, these are the guys to call. When they left, everything worked as it should. The setup I had them install allows me to go into any room and plug in a pc or laptop or Xbox360 and stream or connect to the Internet with no issues or lag. Wired Cat6 is probably one of the best routes to take if you own your house and want to stream to every room. Excellent bang for the buck!
All City Electrical Team.
06/13/13
 
They did an excellent job and it was done neatly and in a timely manner.
All City Electrical Team.
06/09/13
 
They were great, I was very impressed with their work. I am using them again for an upcoming project.
All City Electrical Team.
06/03/13
 
First we received an estimate for all work we were considering having done. Mike the owner came to the house and was very informative and professional. We decided what we wanted to have done and scheduled the work. The technician was very professional, on time, and worked hard until the job was completed. The installation of a new T-bar and outlet box was a surprise. After the 1st 2 jobs were completed, I had asked if the tech would check our chandelier. (my husband and I hung it ourselves and had a lot of difficulty. I wanted it checked by a professional). When he checked, turns out the chandelier was not mounted to the ceiling and was literally hanging by the wires (thanks, previous homeowners). He stayed later to install the T-bar and missing outlet box so that the light fixture didn't rip out of the ceiling. It was a messy job because of the insulation falling down. He covered everything and cleaned up after. He was very helpful and a pleasure to work with.
All City Electrical Team.
05/25/13
 
I used Them on March. They changed some fixture and they ran a line for a new fixture. I thought that they were polite, prompt and priced well. I can say that they were slightly fluffy. They were definitely good and they work with me because I needed things done by a certain date. I would use them again.
All City Electrical Team.
05/24/13
 
Mike and his team have been professional, responsive, friendly and always punctual. No extra hidden costs, he's very upfront about the work he's going to need to do. Once we got the permits, the work was done in one afternoon.
All City Electrical Team.
05/23/13
 
Good job.
All City Electrical Team.
05/20/13
 
Great
All City Electrical Team.
05/16/13
 
We knew in purchasing our home that we would need a service upgrade/box replacement and received 3 estimates. Mike from All City was the last estimate we received and was easily the electrician I found most knowledgeable and pleasant. When All City's estimate came in the lowest we decided to have them perform the work and install a ceiling fan in our living room. Mike and his team showed up promptly and were all very courteous. They made every effort to keep the house clean and the work neat. They were also very conscientous of our dog and making sure he didn't escape while they were coming in and out of the house. The work took almost the entire day and when I asked about a non-functioning outlet at the end of the day they stayed an extr 45 minutes to do exploratory work and fix a wiring issue. They assembled the ceiling fan for us and even installed a dimmer function without my needing to ask. The office also arranged for the town inspection and when the town missed the appt the office handled correcting the issue. Our inspector also commented that the work was very clean. We would recommend Mike and All City to any of our friends and are very happy with our new (& safe) electrical box.
All City Electrical Team.
05/14/13
 
They were very good. They worked well. They were clean and considerate.
All City Electrical Team.
05/07/13
 
Got a personal visit for an estimate within 3 days of my phone. Same technician who provided the estimate came to do the job. Was very professional and the final price was very close to the estimate. I am highly satisfied with the work and would consider using the company in the future.
All City Electrical Team.
04/27/13
 
Everyone was on time. They were very friendly and knew how to do work in an old (90 yr. old) house. They explained what needed to be done and it was done in a very professional manner. they answered all my questions. they were very clean in everything they did. Put down tarps to catch the debris. Plastered the ceilings where they had to chip away to get the new box in. they did not try to sell me any more than what I wanted or needed. Which was greatly appreciated.
All City Electrical Team.
04/25/13
 
Michael and his company are very professional and very responsive. He came out for the estimate on 4/1 and emailed me his proposal the very next morning. He did not require any money up front; nothing was due until the job was completed and he assured me they would apply for all required permits. After agreeing to the price again I received an email the very next day stating the permits had been filed and we scheduled the work to be done two weeks later. The crew was on time and worked very efficiently. They ran into a problem with installing the outlets because of the backsplash being originally installed improperly. This ended up adding about an extra hour to their work time but Michael did not charge us extra for this. After work was completed, All City called the very next day to inform me they had scheduled our city inspection for next week. Before Michael left he pointed out to us some other problems with our electrical system that need to be addressed. I have no qualms about calling them back to fix these problems as well as any other work I need done.
All City Electrical Team.
04/22/13
 
They seemed fine to me. They came and did the job. They were fine and the staff was okay. I have no complaints against them.
All City Electrical Team.
04/22/13
 
awesome!!
All City Electrical Team.
04/20/13
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.