ARS / Rescue Rooter Charleston
2548 Oscar Johnson Drive, Charleston, SC 29405
Phone: 843-747-2714
Website: www.arscharleston.com



ARS / Rescue Rooter Charleston - Our Reviews

Overall Rating

4926 star rating
(1013 Reviews)
ReviewBuzz
1990 star rating (409 Reviews)
Google
630 star rating (132 Reviews)
Facebook
507 star rating (104 Reviews)
Better Business Bureau
148 star rating (32 Reviews)
Judy's Book
260 star rating (53 Reviews)
Angie's List
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Yelp
141 star rating (30 Reviews)
Happy Call
10 star rating (2 Reviews)
Superpages
871 star rating (177 Reviews)
Other
20 star rating (4 Reviews)
Citysearch
25 star rating (5 Reviews)
Yahoo
214 star rating (43 Reviews)
Angies List
90 star rating (18 Reviews)
Yellowpages.com
10 star rating (2 Reviews)

* Total number of reviews and star-ratings are based on data collected during the time period ARS / Rescue Rooter Charleston has been using the ReviewBuzz system and may not directly match the data found on each public review site.


Our Reviews


Ben was a polite and very knowledgeable sales rep. Although we did not use ARS I highly recommend getting a proposal from them through Ben!
Ben B.
11/02/19
 
I don't normally do reviews but I had to voice my dissatisfaction. I'm sitting outside doing this because it's too hot in my house to. If anyone is thinking about going with ARS to install & maintain your next AC unit you may want to think twice. Here's my story: My previous AC unit was about 10 years old when it stopped cooling. I called ARS who came & replaced a capacitor for around $375.00 & the guy talked me into getting a new unit because of the age of the existing one. Up until that point the Kenmore I had had worked without flaw for 10 years. Anyway ARS installed a new 3.5 ton gas pack (this was in July) for over $12,000; the most I had ever payed for a AC unit. From the beginning it's been a pain. The second or third day after installation it wasn't cooling very well; they hadn't wired the thermostat right for 2 stage cooling. They had to come out twice for that, I believe. It worked OK for a while until winter when we had a freak snowstorm which dumped a foot of snow on everything. The heater stopped coming on at all, so because they couldn't come out right away because of the ice/snow (understandable) we spent 3 miserable nights freezing cold. When they were able to come out the unit inexplicably started working again. And now since the climate here has been cooling off I turned the unit off for a while. It got warmer again so I went to cut the AC back on & it wouldn't come on. I checked the breakers inside & outside. I tried a couple of other things but couldn't get it to come on. Called them on Monday & a guy did come out that day at 8:30 pm & worked until 11:30 pm to say it was the Nest thermostat that was bad. He didn't have one that he could make work since he had to order another Nest. So, they're supposed to replace that Friday; another week of discomfort. (It's been unseasonably warm here). Anyway, I'm saying all this to say I've been very disappointed in my new AC unit & feel that I shouldn't be having to put money into something I spent over $12,000 on & is just over 2 years old. Oh and ARS never came when they said they would & no one ever called me before the tech would show up.
Jermaine E.
10/31/19
 
Nice and respectable got everything done
Preston G.
10/12/19
 
Please do not use this company, they do not follow up once they have your money. We spent $23,000 on two HVAC units and they still have not delivered on a faulty part to the thermostat after 3 months. They disappointed us by not showing up after they had set up an appointment time and then came without the new part the second time. They also led us to believe that there was a rebate on our units and then after many months of requesting the form they said that the units did not qualify for the rebate.
East Zone Z.
09/17/19
 
I have had this new AC unit for 21 days on day 2 they had to do some duct work to quite the noise down in the house I questioned the installer about the moisture on the unit he said it was normal. On day 7 my credit card was charge for the unit .BY HOME DEPOT not ARS not good. One day 14 called about to much moisture on unit . Doug and another service Tech came out and said I needed a bigger return in my house. ARS called and said someone would be out Wed 8/6/19 between 12-5 NO SHOW- NO CALL. I called Thursday 8-7.. talked to Herb Ward he would get to the bottom of it and call me back. No call back that bday I called 8-9 at 5:25 pm. Was told by Victoria that no one was there to help me. I called on Saturday 8-10 Told by Jada the same thing no one there to help me and she could not set up an appointment..I asked about the 24 HOUR SERVICE GUARANTEE She said sorry she could not help me..
Doug C.
08/12/19
 
I needed some work done in my main bathroom shower. Called to set up an appointment to get an estimate. They were supposed to be there between 9-11 am. They did not show up until 3 pm with no call that they would be late. When they did show up it was the supervisor and he did apologize and gave an estimate that was within reason for the work we needed done. We decided to go ahead and set up for that same week Friday. Was told by him we were going to be first call of the day and he would be there between 9 and 10 am. Well Friday comes around and still no one at 11. We call and they say another technician by the name of Matt will be there in 20 minutes. He finally arrives at 12:30. He did not have the correct work order or even the parts when he arrived. He was rude the entire time he was here. The work he did seems to be up to standard. The attitude of this guy was not professional at all. He stated numerous times about how this job should have been charged as twice the amount it was. That was not my problem. He was here until almost 7 pm in which time he was outside for 30-45 minutes talking with another associate in my yard. Not to mention the times he went out to talk on the phone. The work was good but the personality and punctuality of this company has a long way to go. I give the only 1 star and that is only hoping my faucet last.
John O.
08/09/19
 
This technician came on Friday after 7 PM and I showed him my thermostat he was already abrasive shoeing me away telling me he knows what he’s doing when I was trying to explain or show him that it wasn’t cooling. I explained to him that I was able to get the fan motor restarted with a long tool so I felt it was the capacitor because then the fan motor would come on and stay on when I manually started it. he went out and inspected the unit came back in and told me it would be almost $1300 to get the unit started needing a new capacitor a new contactOr and a new fan motor which I explained to him was replaced last year I got a second opinion from Berkeley heating and air and it was just a capacitor he had my unit up and running in 30 minutes. I have called twice to speak with a manager and no one will return my phone call. Please be aware of this company and do your research and get a second opinion if needed we as a consumer need to protect our self and I am posting this to help protect others who may be out of thousands of dollars just because we are told certain things need to be fixed To be fixed or replaced when it really isn’t warranted I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau
Slyvester M.
05/22/19
 
Two AC technicians from ARS did a follow up and repair call at my residence today. Tim and Kevin did an excellent job, and were very polite and professional. Kenyatta was the AC technician that responded to the EMERGENCY call placed by me about my AC problems at my residence, and he also was very professional, polite and informed us about the situation with our AC. Well done to these AC Technicians.
Kenyatta G.
05/14/19
 
ARS installed a new unit and air handler in 2016. Has worked great until this past Saturday. I called to ask about my warranty. Was told I would get a call back on Monday from the local office. Nope. Called Monday to set up service. Around 12:45pm I call them. Spent 20 minutes on the phone answering all the usual questions. Was told the soonest appointment would be Thursday afternoon. Said ok set it up. They would call before coming. Thursday comes, husband takes the day off of work. At 2:30 he calls to get an estimated time of arrival. Was told there was no appointment set up. I call and get the same information. I want to talk to a supervisor for an explanation. They are all gone, but one would contact me on Friday. I left my cell number. It is now 8:45pm on Friday and I have heard nothing from anyone. All this company wants is your money they have zero interest in anything else. Do not use them for any service.
Admin A.
04/19/19
 
HOME DEPOT doesn't accept critical reviews for their service, only the product so no reason to continue. How convenient.
Thomas M.
12/29/18
 
Roberto, Is very helpful, friendly, respectful, polite and answered all my questions. He recommended changing my uv light and came back the next day to install it. Roberto is definitely a GREAT tech.
Roberto O.
08/10/18
 
When our new AC we had purchased a month prior went out after a storm, we called ARS late at night. I was hopeful though not expecting it would be fixed that same night. I have a newborn baby in the house and was prepared to go to a hotel. Roberto the technician called and as soon as I mentioned we had a newborn in the house he said he would be there ASAP. He arrived shortly after and was a breath of fresh air during a stressful time. He worked quickly and efficiently, while explaining everything clearly. He had us up and running in no time. I was beyond pleased with his service and kindness. I am also very pleased with our purchase from ARS and the way they took care of us as costumers.
Roberto O.
07/27/18
 
I was pleased with service technician today. He took his time and explained pricing for parts that were being replaced and why they needed to be replaced.
Roberto O.
07/26/18
 
Very unprofessional!! I will never call on them again! they totally ripped me off! I've been without heat for over a week. They make appointments (4) and don't show or call! Came out once, didn't fix it and never came back. Took $90.00 cash
Simone R.
01/07/18
 
I'VE BEEN WAITING OVER 1 WEEK. THEY MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND DON'T SHOW UP. NO CALL........NOTHING I AM PISSED!! NO HEAT FOR A WEEK!! THEY CAME OUT ONCE AND DIDNT FIX IT, TRYED TO GET THEM TO COME BACK AND THEY ACT LIKE THEY DONT KNOW WHO I AM, CANT FIND MY FILE. BUT THEY TOOK MY MONEY
Simone R.
01/07/18
 
I had ARS come out to check my unit that had been running inefficiently. Prior to their service, my auxiliary heat was running which is quite expensive and the home was 47° when I woke up the morning before they arrived. I was very eager to have the issue remedied prior to the cold and snow moving through which is why I schedule two days prior to snow and ice moving in. The technician was nice and pulled parts off the unit and charged $400 for the service. Prior to leaving he reminded me his work is guaranteed for 1 year. He assured me my home should be 15 to 20° warmer when I returned home from work in a couple of hours. When I did return home, the home was at the same temperature and auxiliary heat was still running. I then phoned the company back at 5:45pm that same afternoon to have someone come back out and was told that a company that prides itself on being available 24/7 did not have anyone available to send out. The soonest appointment they had was the following day in the afternoon which I took. I called the company the day of the appointment to confirm we were still on and was told I was rescheduled to the next day. No proactive phone call on their behalf. The following morning I called to confirm my appointment and was told at 10 AM that yes, I was still on their schedule to arrive in the afternoon. I then received a call about 130 that they were unable to make it due to weather. I then was rescheduled to today. Less than confident I called to confirm at 9 AM. I stayed on hold for 40 minutes before I simply hung up. I gathered my patience up and called back an hour later and was then told “the company was not open today”... again, had I not called I would have had no update from ARS. I have yet to hear back from them when my supposed next reschedule will be all while my house has been anywhere between 44 and 47° running on expensive auxiliary heat after being serviced by a company who, again, prides themselves on being available 24/7 for customers and who warranty their service. Avoid using this company at all cost because that is exactly what will happen: they will take your money, leave you with your same problems and not prioritize or care enough about providing their customers with quality service or an ounce of professionalism. I don’t wish this experience on anyone. This company is totally crooked and unethical. Save your money and go anywhere but here.
Amy C.
01/05/18
 
I called ARS to wire a Nest Thermostat. All that was needed was a single wire. I was quoted around $160 to set up this Common Wire. This was more than it should have been, but fine, whatever. The guy spends 15 minutes hooking it up. He then starts talking about how old the hvac system is. He hooks his gauges to the heat pump outside and says I'm low on refrigerant. None of this is a surprise, I knew how old the system was. He writes up the visit detailing the wiring work and what the system needs. Shows me the tablet for payment, zoomed in on the wording of the work done. Like an idiot, I provide the card info without seeing the bill, because I trusted what he said earlier. No emailed receipt is received. I notice a $269 charge later that day. I have to call them and request a copy of the receipt. While on the phone I was told that I was charged for the wiring and 2-4 pounds of refrigerant. Absolutely no work was done there. My system is still low on the refrigerant. I requested a call from the manager. I waited a day for that call that never came. I called them back, explained the issue and was told someone would call me soon. No one called. Part of this is on me for not verifying what I was told, but I'm a trusting person. Too bad that ARS takes advantage of people.
Doug C.
12/22/17
 
Roberto always gives excellent service above and beyond. Appreciated he explained the NEST PRO products which I will purchase in short time. Kay W***
Roberto O.
12/19/17
 
Roberto was the best, we have a new home and had yet to try the heat, had family in town for holidays and everyone was freezing. I figured out the heat was not functioning so had to call for assistance which led me to ARS/Roberto. We were told they were very, very busy as it had recently become cold out and people were having issues all over, they called back 2 times throughout our wait and promised the tech was coming, 3rd call was Roberto and he was at the house and ready to go. We talked, he worked, we talked some more and magically my heater started heating! Cudos to Roberto and ARS for a job well done and a new friend made.
Roberto O.
11/28/17
 
real good service and on time. friendly tec.

10/20/17
 
best tec the company has .always on time and fast
Roberto O.
10/19/17
 
Roberto was very professional. repair went very smooth. Would recommend
Roberto O.
10/16/17
 
Fixed Air Condition drip pipe. Roberto was able to find the problem in a short time period. He cleaned the drip pipe using air pressure through the pipe. He also attached another pipe on the clean out valve (close to the air handler) to make sure the unit shutoff next time there is a water problem with the drip pipe. Roberto is very knowledgable and professional.
Roberto O.
09/16/17
 
After careful thought and recollection of our installation issues, we have deduced that the cause of our problem was due to a faulty original installation done by ARS. However, this was corrected to our satisfaction later but some insulation that was in the drip pan caused the excess water to overflow and soak the carpet in the adjacent closet. The insulation was the cause of the float switch to fail. The ARS tech, Roberto, that was sent out today quickly diagnosed the problem and corrected it to our satisfaction. We appreciated your quick response and attention to our situation. Sincere thanks, Toni & Louis Ramon

09/13/17
 
The ARS tech, Roberto, arrived in the promised timeframe, was professionally dressed even down to the shoe covers to protect our carpet. He listened patiently as we described the problem and was able to quickly diagnose the cause of the problem and effect a repair.
Roberto O.
09/13/17
 
Fabulous and knowledgeable.
Roberto O.
09/05/17
 
Our technician was Roberto Ortiz. He was very knowledgeable and professional. Well done!

08/30/17
 
Roberto Ortiz is the best technician we've had yet. Very knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. We were having some issues with the humidity in our home being higher than normal on a brand new HVAC unit. He new all the possible problems and all the possible solutions. Great guy, great job! Highly recommend!
Roberto O.
08/28/17
 
Todd Gordon did my bi-annual maintenance today...most thorough maintenance appt I have had in years. Very professional and hard working! He took the extra time and energy to make sure all was in order...thank you
Todd G.
08/18/17
 
It was hot in my attic on possibly one of the hottest days in Charleston, SC. But that did not prevent Chuck from keeping his cool throughout the 4 hours it had taken to get the job done. Thanks Chuck for going beyond the call of duty to keep this customer cool!
Chuck N.
07/20/17
 
I am 75. Met many service people. Roberto was one of the best I have ever met. ARS is fortunate to have such a quality staff member.

06/30/17
 
Roberto was so wonderful. Polite, Professional and just a wonderful person.
Kimberly H., Hope Y., Roberto O.
06/30/17
 
Knowledgeable and courteous
Toni J., Hope Y., Freddie S.
06/29/17
 
Freddie did an outstanding job as always. He was courteous, professional and friendly. He took the time to explain everything he did in servicing my Heat Pump and Air Handler. Took the time to photograph a problem area with the coil in the air handler and said he would order the part tomorrow morning. He is a top notch technician and knows the Carrier Infinity system well. I ask for him by name when I have a problem with the system and for my semi-annual maintenance. The other members of the ARS Team were helpful and courteous.
Kimberly H., Hope Y., Freddie S.
06/28/17
 
Joshua B. Was knowledgeable and very personable. He let us us know all the do's and dont's. He also let us know that he would return in 6mth for another expectation. Thank you for all your help. This guy is great!
Simone R., Romeigus B.
06/28/17
 
My "checkup" was originally rescheduled because you had many emergencies. I understand this but it took 6 weeks to get the service call. I am waiting for the scheduling of a follow up for work that needs to be done. Hopefully it will not be as l ong. Your serviceman, Chuck, is very professional. I give him 5 stars.
Kimberly H., Hope Y., Chuck N.
06/25/17
 
Josh was great! He inspected our system and gave all info and showed pics to us. Very thorough and honest about everything. Professional, polite, informative! Josh spent a good deal of time with us explaining options for the present and in the future. Thank you, Josh!
Joshua B.
06/23/17
 
Technician Josh very courteous and knowledgeable of his job.He ensures that I understand how my ac unit is functioning and what it takes to keep my unit operating in a proficient manner.

06/15/17
 
echnician Josh arrived on time,greeted me in a professional manner. He was very familiar with my unit and immediately went to work inspecting my ac unit.Upon inspecting my unit he assured me that everything was operating as they should be.He explained every thing that he did during the inspection. He answered all of my questions to my satisfaction.Im am glad I'm an ARS customer and to have. Josh take care of my ac unitFour stars for josh.
Hope Y., Joshua B.
06/14/17
 
ARS sent out David J. to help with my AC. David showed up several hours early (ARS called to see if that was ok first) and was one of the most professional people I've ever encountered. Great guy, really knows his stuff. Really went the extra mile to explain different temporary and long term solutions to fit my budget, and didn't try to sell me on anything. Whatever they pay this guy it's not enough!
David J.
06/07/17
 
The entire team was wonderful, especially our technician Fred. He solved our no cooling problem with great knowledge and caring.
Hope Y., Simone R., Freddie S.
05/23/17
 
Dave Jackson was Excellent, very professional and helpful
David J.
05/11/17
 
Very pleased with service; representative was knowledgeable and polite.
Joshua B.
05/10/17
 
High sales pressure - bought a new unit....never saw the salesman again after making many calls and leaving messages. Unit is 2 years old and still does not operate properly. Do not use ARS!!!!
Jim C.
05/05/17
 
(no comment)
Hope Y., Simone R., Joshua B.
05/03/17
 
David Carandante was professional and knew what he was doing. He was polite and explained what needed to be done to fix my problem and fixed it. A very good experience.
David C.
04/27/17
 
contacted ARS on Saturday after trying for 2 days for find a plumber who could turn on and connect my gas stove, to my surprise Amy told me someone would be there in 2 hours. I also needed to connect my sink and dishwasher and disconnect my garbage disposal, Amy told me William will be there in 2 hours he will connect it. William showed up on time and was courteous, professional and friendly. I will definitely ask for him when I need a plumber again. He was a pleasure to work with.
William M.
04/24/17
 
Jonathan was polite and knowledgeable, took the time to explain what he thought the problem was caused by. He was quick to clear the drain problem and clean up.
Joshua B., Jonathan B.
04/21/17
 
Complete and thorough work during every annual inspection visit. Honest answers and options presented with no pressure into anything.
Joshua B.
04/21/17
 
Gary was hard working, personable and did a great job. I would definately recommend him and if I have any further problems; I will ask for him.
Gary B.
04/20/17
 

No affiliation exists between ReviewBuzz and any of the review site organizations or systems listed on this page.